We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, great staff and very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Masqhotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location, great staff and very clean”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We'd definately stay here again. It's a short walk from all the action. The great thing is that it's in a quiet street so you don't get disturbed at night which you would if you were directly in the centre. The bed was very comfy. The room was really clean. There were tea and coffee making facilities. We didn't have the breakfast as it was a little pricey. There are plenty of places out and about anyway. The is a little bar in the foyer which seemed ok looking at the drinks menu. We went to bars outside so can't comment more fully.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wright2idea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    314
    61
    8
    2
See reviews for
96
413
20
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a perfect hotel for groups, families and business. 20 cyclists stayed for 4 days and the team were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. It has a car park and the bikes were secure and safe. couldnt have done anymore - well done to the team.

The breakfast is also excellent

Room Tip: our group were on every floor and all rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeF61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband had to go on a business trip and this hotel was booked by his company. I was very impressed with the size of the room after staying in a very small hotel in Paris. It was very clean and the breakfast was great. We were with in walking distance to all the shops, beach and the harbor. The manager was original from the United States so she was very helpful because we don't speak a word of French.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend this for location a cleanliness it is a five minute walk from the train sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoFlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel (2 years in a row) and we love it. Its quite, clean, comfortable and close to the harbour. Breakfast is very good also with a good selection on offer. We had two adjoining rooms as we are a family of 6 and they also provided a small fridge on request. if we do go back to La Rochelle we will be staying here again. Also, the hotel provide frees car parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VBCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I can only confirm what the earlier reviewers found, both good and not-so-good: on the plus side, it is an ideal location on a quiet street within luggage-toting distance of the train station and only 5 minutes walk to the bustling harbor center (so many cafes and shops to explore--love the pedestrianized areas!); rooms with modern, clean decor and super-comfy beds ; amenities like AC and windows that open, as well as free coffee, tea and bottled water (but beware super-expensive bottled water for sale in the lobby bar!!); an attentive and English-fluent staff; and a high quality breakfast buffet (wonderful local breads, jams and honeys were a real treat!). On the not-so-good side is the cost, from above-average room prices, to parking, to breakfast and the over-priced bar; super-tight parking spaces underground--even with an economy-sized car, negotiating the tight quarters could be harrowing for Americans used to more room; and there is precious little shelf or counter space in the bathroom so you can't afford to leave things out; and the climb down from a slippery wet tub to the bathroom floor is scary, even using the nearby grab bar. I can't imagine that would pass any US safety code, so beware! But overall, a really pleasant and relaxed place to stay (and we stayed over a week, so the tight space wasn't that big a deal). Well worth it if you can get a decent deal!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriscillaKerrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, room was clean and comfy. Bathroom was spacious with powerful shower. Short walk to the pier and restaurants, however close enough away for some peace and quiet. Had a lovely room on the 4th floor with small balcony. Would definitely stay here again if I was visiting La Rochelle.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 349HolidayLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angers, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Close to the town centre.
Rooms are clean and looking good.

I recommend that hotel if you wanna visit la rochelle.

The hotel is 5 mina walk away from the station so it's really convenient.

Prices are quite high I think compare to some other hotels in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steewy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
707 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
0.4 mi away
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
#6 of 49 in La Rochelle
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
579 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Park Hotel & Spa
Central Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 49 in La Rochelle
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Masqhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Masqhotel

Property: Best Western Masqhotel
Address: 17 Rue De L'Ouvrage A Cornes, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Rochelle
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#3 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
#7 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Masqhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Masqhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Masqhotel
Best Western La Rochelle
La Rochelle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing