We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enviro-friendly & Very Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Masqhotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auchengray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enviro-friendly & Very Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

From the moment that you step through the doors of this chic hotel, the very friendly staff are there to greet you. In fact those friendly staff are always around to help and support you throughout your stay.
The rooms are spacious, modern and exceptionally clean. The hotel places a great emphasis on their attempts to be as environmentally friendly as possible, which went down well with my socially conscious children. Energy saving is politely encouraged through all matters regarding your stay from use of lights, through to re-use of towels.
A bonus for the old fart that is me was the access to BBC news on the tv and an assortment of other english speaking channels to round off your day.
Breakfast was a buffet arrangement, and there was sufficient varied choice of all sorts...with a limitless supply for the enthusiastic eaters amongst us.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to all types...families, couples or singles. A tad pricey, but well worth the expense.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizzlepuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    300
    57
    8
    2
See reviews for
88
402
19
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, offering advice on where to eat in the town and even printing something out for us that we needed from an email.
The room was very comfortable, modern and clean, as was the bathroom.
A very good buffet style breakfast, with a good choice, and served until a very reasonable time!
Also great to have free wifi available anywhere in the hotel.
This was our third stay there and we would definitely stay there again if we go back to La Rochelle, and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
215 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a great time in La Rochelle staying in this cool clean hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful - taking time to help us have a day trip to Il de Re. Bright large bedrooms with new bathrooms. Good strong free wifi. TV with BBC1 2 ITV and many international stations. Round the corner from the SNCF Gare - it is just a 5 minute walk to the harbour and old town and maybe 10 - 15 minutes to the best area for restaurants. Good value, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen-London-N16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Lovely comfy modern room and Hotel. Staff could not do enough for us, happy to let me plod along in my reasonable (conversational) French but happy to break into English if I got stuck. The only thing it's missing is a pool really. Well placed, a 5 minute walk and a myriad of restaurants awaited us. Not the cheapest hotel but quality costs money.
La Rochelle is lovely, take a 3 Euro ride to the bigger beach or just stroll around and take in the atmosphere. It's not cheap to eat/drink anywhere but as long as you budget for that you can have a lovely time in La Rochelle.
As with the majority who have commented on the Masqhotel, no qualms about staying there again.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room at the back, although traffic noise is not really a major issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcfcrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This is a nice, new, clean hotel in a very pleasant and quiet neighbourhood only about 8 minutes walk from the town centre. The staff were friendly and the room was bright, clean and comfortable. The parking is secure and worth the extra cost. We were hesitant about staying at a Best Western but we had left booking late. We were very happy with our choice. La Rochelle is absolutely lovely. The beaches at L'Oberon and Isle de Ray are absolutely amazing but are a good 45 mins drive so hence we needed a nice hotel with secure parking and they helped to make it a really lovely trip. Also we stayed in Bordeaux for a few nights prior to La Rochelle and it was a really lovely holiday. - Irish couple in their 40s.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We booked this hotel as it was within walking distants of La Rochelle train station for our onward journey. We were thrilled with the location, also close to the Old Port of La Rochelle, where there was many bars and restaurants. We cant recommend this hotel enough, in a very quiet street no traffic noise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannieG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We'd definately stay here again. It's a short walk from all the action. The great thing is that it's in a quiet street so you don't get disturbed at night which you would if you were directly in the centre. The bed was very comfy. The room was really clean. There were tea and coffee making facilities. We didn't have the breakfast as it was a little pricey. There are plenty of places out and about anyway. The is a little bar in the foyer which seemed ok looking at the drinks menu. We went to bars outside so can't comment more fully.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wright2idea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Champlain France Angleterre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
683 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#8 of 49 in La Rochelle
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#9 of 49 in La Rochelle
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
#7 of 49 in La Rochelle
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Masqhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Masqhotel

Property: Best Western Masqhotel
Address: 17 Rue De L'Ouvrage A Cornes, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Rochelle
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#3 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
#7 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Masqhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Masqhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Masqhotel
Best Western La Rochelle
La Rochelle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing