We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming central hotel”
Review of Les Gens de Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Gens de Mer
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Reviewed 7 August 2014

While waiting for the Tourist Office to open we found this small hotel by a park between the railway station and the port. Reception could not be more helpful and the room was to a good standard overlooking the park and with secure parking on site. Although near a main route it was quiet in our room. Breakfast was the usual self service continental style - just what we needed. Would be happy to visit again, La Rochelle is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Overlooking the park is probably quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dermott q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had a great stay here. The rooms are small and a bit musty but very quaint and clean. Breakfast was good and included, as was internet access. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beds were not super comfortable, but the location is very good and it's a great value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationplannerMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is ideally situated for both the railway station and the town itself, the hotel is excellent value, quiet and clean and the staff were absolutely lovely. Very friendly, helpful and always smiley. its is a basic hotel so not for your honeymoon (!) but fantastic for a short break, the bedroom was clean, and quiet, and the hotel is just a 5 minute walk to town. I would recommend this for a short stop over when visiting La Rochelle if you want good value and good location.

Room Tip: We were in room 222, 2 small twin beds, at the back of the Hotel so nice and quiet, and also seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have stayed here twice now, and enjoyed it both times. Nice and clean, it's got some character (it's not a homogenous chain style place). Rooms are clean and the car park is quite secure .... But very tight spaces!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenghisandOtherOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel is ok, basic, a bit dated but clean and with internet access that worked and in a good location. it does seem to be run on a skeleton staff, who appart from the unfriendly welcome we recieved from the receptionist, seemed to be nice. However our main problem was parking. My mum is a disabled blue badge holder and we were also travelling with my nearly two year old daughter (and all the gubbins that involves) so really needed a hotel with parking - which is why when finding rooms available at this hotel we booked, having been advertised as having a car park. The booking stated that no reservation was needed for parking, but due to our specific needs we thought it best to contact the hotel in advance to enquire if it was possible to reserve a space. They emailed back to say it wasn't possible as parking was on a first come, first served basis. So we thought, fair enough we just won't get there late. We arrived and pulled up to the car park, which was half empty with disabled spaces available but when we asked the receptionist to raise the barrier to allow us in to park she refused and said that all spaces were taken. I pointed out there was plenty of space and that my mother was disabled, but she refused and only allowed us inside the car park to drop off our cases. She also said that the spaces I could see where in fact reserved and that is why we couldn't park there. So not in fact first come first served then. It made the whole stay very difficult for us and we would not return or recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellmbSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We spent the last 2 nights of a 4 week French holiday in the delightful town of La Rochelle. Our timing was not great being the first day of both the sales and the international film festival. After failing to find a room we across Les Gens de Mer and grabbed the last room available, which happened to be a triple. More expensive but at least a bit more room.

The Hotel was clean and comfortable, the staff efficient and friendly enough. Their English was better than my poor French so communication was not an issue. The Hotel is well situated about 5 minutes walk from the Tourist Information office and in a small park, which certainly helped with the aspect of the property. Little to add really, it certainly served a purpose and it had parking at the almost reasonable €7.50 per day.

A couple of smallish negatives. The TV reception was poor, only 2 channels (1 and 2) watchable, the rest kept breaking up. A cup of filter coffee was €3.10, but one downside of La Rochelle as a whole is the desire to over-charge. We paid top dollar for the room but that was probably down to our timing.

La Rochelle is well worth a visit and after several trips to France I was pleased to finally make it to the town. Even by French standards it is not cheap, so it probably is wise to take care where you eat and drink. There are hundreds of options though.

I would probably rate the Hotel as good rather than very good, but better than average. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Noise is not an issue, would probably ensure I had a balcony next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank middleageoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Pleasant clean rooms. Serviced daily. Shower a bit tired, but room adequate. Located within walking distance from main station, but fairly quiet. Buffet breakfast, no main meals but drinks available. Good value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webhound P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.2 mi away
B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre
B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre
#12 of 49 in La Rochelle
429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bord'O
Hotel Le Bord'O
#32 of 49 in La Rochelle
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
#15 of 49 in La Rochelle
689 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
#7 of 49 in La Rochelle
601 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#11 of 49 in La Rochelle
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Gens de Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Gens de Mer

Address: 20 Avenue du General de Gaulle | 100 mètres de la Gare SNCF, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Price Range: £44 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Les Gens de Mer 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located 100 metersfrom the railway station, the congress-center and the aquarium, 300 meters from the old port,the 2**hotel offer 48 confortable rooms, with individual terrace in frontage,duplex, or famlily romms for fair prices. The hôtel has 2conference rooms accommodating 19 and 49 people, a private car park offering18 places, a lift servicing all floors and a situation facing a pretty nearby park, the city or the port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Les Gens de Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing