We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Room, beautiful view, fabulous Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Marine
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely Room, beautiful view, fabulous Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I am sitting in my Hotel Room writing this Review gazing over the beautiful bustling busy Harbour at La Rochelle. A lovely Bedroom of a very reasonable size with one of the most enchanting views you can imagine.......and yet if I close the two double glazed Bay Windows I can hear absolutely nothing....superbly done.
The Car is parked 60 metres away in one of the many Public Car Parks. An easy flat walk away. Below me on the Street there are 50 Restaurants + all within a few hundred metres. We have had a lovely stay and will return here.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room overlooking the Port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    93
    19
    1
    4
See reviews for
59
109
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had room 3 for two nights - rear of the building with "courtyard" view. The room, although small , was clean and fresh, very much as in the pictures we had seen on the website, and air conditioned - which was very much needed. The receptionists were helpful and if you want a location on the quayside, this is probably right up there. although you are right in the heart of the town, we were undisturbed by noise at any time. The secure parking really does not seem to be so - it is just a public car park. We parked easily in the Verdun car park (the others are all short stay only) and this is a brisk 10 minute walk away from the hotel entrance. The two flights of stairs from street level to hotel level then have to be negotiated - we had seen this from other Tripadvisor comments and prepared accordingly, by travelling light for this part of our journey - suggest anyone else does the same. Your car park ticket can be swapped for one offered by the hotel at 9 Euro per day - but 12 - 24 hours in the car park is only 8.80 Euro anyway when we were there, so I didn't bother with the hotel offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanandSueNewbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We had room 0 - double bed. This is port facing overlooking the lovely quayside, towers, boats and sea. Easy to find on the port front.
Room was lovely, clean, tidy and looked newly re-decorated. It was a basic and adequate for the two of us. We loved the nautical touch to it which made it feel different and you were abroad/holiday. The room is also twice double glazed so we heard very little noise from outside. And thou we were close to reception it was quiet. When residents were arriving or leaving noise was minimal and no one lingered in the small reception. Thank you to them for being considerate. If there were young kids or rowdy groups/couples staying there, we never saw or heard them.
Great location in the heart of the resort.Shops and sites within walking distance. The beaches are probably about 20min walk away. About 15/20mins walk from the bus station depending on space and direction. And less than 15mins to the train station which was very easy to find...step outside the hotel, turn left and keep walking, follow the road round and head towards the large grey building in front!. Staff pleasant and helpful. We didn't have breakfast preferred to have an outside breakfast for about the same price and in most places a bit less. No complaints about the hotel or La Rochelle. Only the weather!!! Would definitely recommend this hotel for location, cleanliness, service and value!!! Thanks Hotel La Marine

Room Tip: choose a port facing view if u like to watch the world go by!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

This hotel was very clean, had a great room overlooking the boats in the harbor it wasn't massive but plenty of space. Very efficient, helpful staff. We didn't bother with breakfast ( you have it brought to your room ) because we wanted to sample the local delights. Below us were several great restaurants and although we looked out over them we heard not a sound as the room was twice double glazed. La Rochelle is a stunning place and at this hotel you are seconds away from the picturesque old town with its cobbled streets. We parked in a great, secure underground car park so no worries about the car, then the walk to the hotel was about 5 minutes. Had a brilliant stay here and would definitely recommend. Very good value.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room overlooking the harbour - beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonniwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, U.K.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We took the train to La Rochelle, then a 15 minute walk to Hotel La Marine with small luggage only in our case. Nothing but positive comments from us - we had the family room with port view ( room no. 1) very spacious, one double bed and 2 singles, plus spacious clean bathroom with great shower. All newly decorated, fresh, light colours, laminate floor ( no carpet thank goodness..), clean and bright room. Fantastic view over the old port, friendly service in reception and free wi-fi.
Noise from cafés and street below, but if you want to shut it out then very efficient double glazing and modern aircon unit, so take your choice! Great location for shops, restaurants etc. A visit to the Aquarium and also Ile de Ré is recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Forget the bag carrying comments, its a fact of life at La Rochelle. Drag them down the cobblestones and up the steps into a rearly great hotel. Clean tidy with helpfull staff, you shouldn't be expecting more. Walk outside to the greatest collection of harbour side resturants possible. Nothing but good memories. Glad we pack a small bag for the on night stays and leave the big bag in the car.
Be carefull driving too close to the front door, at a certian time of night they raise bollards in the roads to stop cars entering the dock area, too bad if you are on the inside when they go up.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grumpy_Old_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Read the reviews here and you can't go far wrong. There's no car park, but we didn't have a car so it wasn't an issue. If you have a car then the car parking is no more than 500m away (look at a map!).

There's no breakfast room but the hotel's resturant does breakfast at the moment for 5.70 Euros per person. You can have it in your room for an extra 2 Euros per person. We sat and had breakfast watching the harbour - a very pleasant experience.

The toilet cubicle was small, but it wasn't an issue. If you have mobility issues it might be.

There is no lift so if you're averse to climbing stairs or have mobility issues then it might be a problem, but for us there wasn't an issue and to be honest i wouldn't have even thought to mention it if others hadn't.

On the plus side, the hotel was simple, small and immaculately clean. The staff were polite, attentive and helpful. For us, for a short break, it was perfect.

Room Tip: We had a rear facing room - cheap but no view. people have mentioned noise at the front, not an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#8 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Champlain France Angleterre
0.3 mi away
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
La Monnaie Art & Spa Hotel
#7 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#3 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
BEST WESTERN Masqhotel
#2 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
Ibis La Rochelle Vieux Port
#17 of 48 in La Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Marine

Property: Hotel La Marine
Address: 30 quai Duperre, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La Rochelle
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Marine 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quai duperré, hotel la marine discreet entrance welcomes you in the heart of the old harbour of la rochelle. History quietly meets a warm modern design with thirteen rooms, four with a spectacular view of the medieval towers. The nine other rooms offer you the peaceful retreat of green surroundings. All rooms are functional with spacious comfort set to give you a soothing feeling.- 13 rooms, 4 rooms port side,- wifi in all rooms,- non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing