We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, best view of the old port in La Rochelle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de la Tour de Nesle
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The hotel is situated smack in the middle of the old port of La Rochelle. Try to get a room with a balcony, if lucky, you will have a breathtaking view of the old port that comes to life in a big way every evening, people swarm along the promenade and look at the street artists and you can sit with your glass of wine enjoying the view. It is not necessarily quiet, but you can fall asleep to the sound of street musicians and their audience, so it's a good-natured noise.

The hotel rooms are quite good for a 2-star hotel, you can order breakfast delivered to your room. The staff are very friendly (some of them speak english well), and they wil assist you in any way. If going to La Rochelle, I can't think of a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelhappy_couple8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2009

The reception welcome was very friendly and very helpful. The staff were all very friendly and pleasant. The hotel location was perfect - right next to the main harbour - The road is closed off in the evenings for pedestrians and street entertainment. Parking was difficult at times, especialy on weekend evenings in peak season. Make sure you reserve one of the hotels few spaces in advance (unless you don't have a car - that would just be pointless!). However, there is lots of on street parking all around the town. Bearing in mind this is a 2 star hotel, the room was adequate for us. Would not recommend if you like early nights as the noise from the street outside (bands, crowds, etc.) will keep you awake (no air con. = windows open). Also would not recommend to people of a larger stature - the shower cubicle is the size of an Oxo cube and sitting on the toilet is more of a squeeze than cattle-freight class on a budget airline (you need to put your legs out in the aisle to sit down). La Rochelle is definitely worth a visit - great town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottyDLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

PLUS: If you get a room in the front side, possibly on the highest floor (4°) you'll have the best possible view of the GORGEOUS "vieux port". Such view worths itself the room's price (€ 110 for the room/night). The staff is kind.

MINUS: As you'll read in other comments, the bathroom is actually very narrow, but my fiancee and I could manage and had no real problems with it. We are of regular size. If you are pretty big, expect to find it too small for you.
THE main problem, at least on the highest season, is the "brasserie" at the corner, just below your windows. This bar, a bad looking place with "weird" customer, has live music until 1:00 am. We have been fine as well, and there are other bistrots nearby in the vieux port playing live music until late, but if you are with kids, be prepare to not sleep until 2:00 am.
We loved to come back at 6:30-7:00 pm and hear live music from windows and had no problem waiting until 2:00am to get asleep, but you should be prepared to this in advance. If you are looking for a quite room, you should book one far from the "view port".
We would book the same we had, if back to La Rochelle. No question about it.

Our stay: we really loved the surprisingly large vieux (old) La Rochelle, a place plenty of life and with a unique character. Architecture is impressive and the "atmosphere" is actually fine and pleasant. Food is not great, as often is in France in touristic places, no matter the money you spend. Sea food is sometimes over cooked, or not as fresh as you would wish. We've been hardlooking to find real "fishes of the day". Even raw "coquillage" is not as fresh looking and pleasant as it is in some other French southern places or Italy. Oysters are fine. And cheap. Most places are food serving machines, even if presented "a la Francaise". There should be one place just out of the towers in front of the sea who is ranked to be a great restaurant, with 2 Michelin stars. We got nice comments from people encountered, Unfortunately we could not book a table. We had dinner at other two restaurants carrying the same Chef's last name of that restaurant ("C" - find yourself who they are), but could not enjoy the "value for the money". In conclusion, La Rochelle is a very nice place, with one of the largest (or the largest) sailing ports in Europe, plenty of life and traditions. We enjoyed very much our stay, and could return (.. perhaps when the Moitessier's sailboat Joshua will be again at the Musee Maritime ..), but could not find really great food. Le "Petit dejeuners" (breakfasts) at the vieux port's bistrots are not great as well, and a bit dear, too. Other food serving machines. On teh contrary, we strongly advice you the all the fresh products and vegetables and fruits at the beautiful "Marche", actually noticeable for fresness and taste (we had the best strawberries and peaches we had since very very long), the beautiful cheeses like the "chabichou", and a regional dish that is "la mouclade a la Charentaise", muscles served with a curry based sauce. A very interesting receipt.
If you go for the place it's pretty nice, if you go for food you could be disappointed. We went for both and the balance is fine. We like La Rochelle.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cartaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2007

Hotel Nesle is perfectly located over looking the old port in the centre of La Rochelle, it is across the road from the main strip of cafes/resturant so you don't feel like you are on top of every thing. there is parking available through the hotel, but be warned it's quite away from the hotel and a complicated sytem to get in and out of the car park. There are plenty of pay and display parking slots outside the entrance and if you are only stopping for one night i'd reccommend you do this as from 6pm to 9am it is free anyway....
The hotel it's self is very basic, no frills and charm, but it was clean and tidy, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had booked weeks in advance which ment we got a lovely large room at the front over looking the old port. The windows were double glazzed and kept the noise out, unfortunatly the only down fall of the hotel was that the walls seemed to be made of paper and you could here everything.
Also, go out and get your breakfast, there are so many cafes along the front with a lovely choice of breads etc. Take a Travel Kettle, if you like your cup of tea in the morning...!
But for the money and location it was ideal.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2006

We had arrived at la Rochelle late (about 11pm) after driving from Cahors, and were due to fly the next lunchtime. Our first choice of no-frills hotels, Ibis, were all booked up - but managed to get a room here at about 11.30pm - better than staying out of town somewhere. Reception were friendly, the room and bathroom were clean but basic, and the price was good (about 70 euros). As it was early August the town was still buzzing even at midnight (not normally the case in French towns), so we were able to enjoy a last night walk around, a few bieres blondes and a good night's sleep before flying the next day.
[-]

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boutique75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lehorla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Fatima G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.1 mi away
Henri IV Hotel
Henri IV Hotel
#44 of 49 in La Rochelle
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Yachtman
Le Yachtman
#36 of 49 in La Rochelle
394 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Le Rupella
Hotel Le Rupella
#40 of 49 in La Rochelle
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Bord'O
Hotel Le Bord'O
#32 of 49 in La Rochelle
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Marine
Hotel La Marine
#19 of 49 in La Rochelle
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Paris
Hotel De Paris
#38 of 49 in La Rochelle
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Tour de Nesle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Tour de Nesle

Address: 2 quai Louis Durand, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Price Range: £44 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Tour de Nesle 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de la Tour de Nesle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing