We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Appart'hotel Odalys Archipel
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed for 2 nights cost £300 ish! Decent size room but layout is weird as the toilet is next to the kitchen and the bathroom is the other end of the apartment! Internet access is good, not wifi though, they give you a cable. Yes it's in the middle of an industrial estate type place, go out the hotel turn right, first left and head straight to the water, there is a little ferry that takes you across for 1 euro each, saves the legs walking round.... The pool is freezing, we paid the extra for the pool but not what I expected

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzzieDurhamCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Appart'hotel Odalys Archipel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

It's a comfortable hotel, new and nicely decorated, with a swimming pool. Yet, the service, at this peak period in the middle of the 14th July bank holiday and the Francofolies festival in La Rochelle, was really poor, due to lack of staff, and for a supposedly 4* accommodation:
the maid regularly forgot to put new toilet paper or shower gel when cleaning the room in the morning; the breakfast service was basic and slow, at peak hours you had to request the waitress to arrange a table, as she was too busy preparing the food; on 14th July, there was only one person to take care of both the reception and the breakfast service!
Breakfast: poor quality cheese and ham, no hot dishes, you squeeze your fresh orange juice yourself on a basic ustensil.
Our room was overlooking the car park, and naval works that started drilling at 8am in the morning.
All in all, a far overpriced hotel for the service it delivers. It was my second stay there, but ultimately I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatie_london54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Im begining to think that there are no nice hotels in La Rochelle!...

Checked in here for two nights having checked out of a previous hotel in La Rochelle.
The main hotel has self catering apartments out back that seemed quite attractive to us as we were travelling with a baby and needed the extra room.
Upon entering the room there was a nasty sewer/stale smell in the room. The Kitchen was a small fridge, a hot-pot warmer and sink plus a load of extra cupboard space.
No mircowave or oven.
All the TV channels were in French, not even BBC World news.
The bed was probably the most uncomfortable I've slept in, but that wasnt for long as I ended up on the sofabed due to catching some kind of infection (not specifically blaming the hotel for this but it wasnt the cleanest place)
My wife and daughter went down to the pool which is located in the car park above ground - they came back up straight away due to the temp of the water.
I was told at checkin that there was a a bar - which there was. Only to be told by the rudest snot nosed little french fart at the main desk that there was no barman! When I enquired as to where the barman is, he said "oh he doesnt come in today or tomorrow"!

One other thing to note, draw your own conclusions - all of the "Excellent" reviews here are in French from mostly expired members consisting of a few line of a review!
Now I know what that guy was doing all day at the front desk on the computer!

AVIOD this place!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank x5pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

From all the places we stayed at during our 3 weeks trip in France, this hotel had the biggest rooms. it was nice to have some room, especially for our daughter. The room was simple but had all the basic necessities including a nice little kitchen. The hotel sits between the university and the port in an slightly industrial area . The location is not central to the nice little downtown but it was only 10 minutes away from the old port and the aquarium by walking. They also had an indoor garage as well.
One of the issues during our stay was that the air conditioning did not work.
Overall, decent place to stay for a family.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdallegr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Stay at this hotel if you want to spend your holiday in an industrial estate; deal with unhelpful, unfreindly staff; have one chance to have your room cleaned at 9am; get very poor wifi and stay at a place with no bar.
Oh do stay here too if you want to pick up a bit of frostbite because you will if you go for a swim in the pool. This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in - ever. Staff were a disgrace. Ignorant and rude. Location was a joke and it was too expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buttermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We arrived at this hotel for our long awaited holiday in July 2010. I travelled here with my brother and sister. upon arrival we were told that we had a triple room looking over the pool ( which i had emailed months before requesting) when we were given our room key our balcony was looking over a work yard where drills were going from morning to evening time. when i approached the manager to explain the situation he said he would change our room the following morning. we arrived down to reception next morning to be told if we wanted to change it would cost 300 euro more ( we were already paying 1,000) for the room. I told the manager this wasnt on and he told me i was a liar and making things up. this was done infront of people and i was well and truely mortified. we tried to change hotels but everywhere seemed to be booked out. The pool is beyond freezing and the childs pool is empty. i would not by any means recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CorkTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Found good reviews on tripadvisor, so we chose this"aparthotel". Located in a business district so don't expect spectacular views.. We didn't mind though. It's so close to restaurants, cafes a Londis shop, bank/cashpoints and a Macdonalds. They're about 3 minutes by car or 15min on foot. The nearest of La Rochelle's multitude of beaches is only a mile away.
We arrived at past eleven at night & the reception closes at 22:00hrs. They left us a printed note with the number to call though. A helpful voice a the other end gave us the codes etc.
The accommodation was essentially a one bed flat. The kitchenette was cramped but fully functional. There were more than enough plates & cutlery. A four burner electric hob, a little dishwasher & fridge and microwave oven/grill combo were all there as advertised. We really liked the fact that everything looked new. Although breakfast was only Eu12:00 per adult (buffet), we just fixed our own in the flat as it was more convenient with the kids. We did our main grocery shopping at Chapion (pronounced "Shompiohn") It's like Tescos & it 's 7-8 min drive away.
There's no A/C!... but don't panic- they give you fan on request for a £20 deposit. It's bearable with the french doors open even at 28 deg C( 82deg F) but you have to be carefull if you have small kids and a balcony..
Internet was Eu20 for unlimited access for the duration of our stay. (bring your laptop..)
You get a 10% discount for The Aquarium if you buy the tickets at the hotel lobby. That way we avoided the terribly long queue at the aquarium itself.
Just loved the beaches at La Rochelle.. The best one is on the Ile de Re. I can't remember what it's called, but it's on the north western coast of the lsle. All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GREGADAKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.1 mi away
Apart'Hotel L'Escale Marine
Apart'Hotel L'Escale Marine
#44 of 49 in La Rochelle
223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Appart'City La Rochelle
Appart'City La Rochelle
#41 of 49 in La Rochelle
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
Novotel La Rochelle Centre
#19 of 49 in La Rochelle
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Residence Le Domaine du Chateau
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Rochelois
Hotel Le Rochelois
#32 of 49 in La Rochelle
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altica La Rochelle
Hotel Altica La Rochelle
#24 of 49 in La Rochelle
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart'hotel Odalys Archipel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'hotel Odalys Archipel

Address: Rue de la Huguenotte, 17000, La Rochelle, France (Formerly Residence Hoteliere Archipel)
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Price Range: £53 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Appart'hotel Odalys Archipel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Appart'hotel Odalys Archipel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing