We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

fiona h
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Super gite full of character. Wonderful location to explore the area and great to come back to and relax by the pool - the weather in late September was still in the mid 20's. Nigel and Suzie were very helpful with great suggestions for the best places to visit.
We are intending to return next year.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review and we really forward to seeing you both again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynord19...
Llanelli
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Relaxing Destination”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We've recently returned from an idyllic two week stay at The Pigeonnier. The gite was in such a peaceful location and with a stunning pool that we were reluctant to leave it, but as there were so many places to visit within a short driving distance we did tear away ourselves some days to explore the surrounding area. Surgeres was the nearest little town which had lovely places to eat and to stock up on groceries etc. There are great beaches within a short driving distance but our favourite was Fouras from where you could catch a ferry to the stunning island of Ile De Aix. A visit to La Rochelle and Ile De Re is also a must as well as Venise Vert.

However, the highlight of the holiday for us was spending time in and around the The Pigeonnier either by chilling around the pool, cycling around the country lanes surrounded by gorgeous sunflowers and barbecuing local produce in the evening washed down with a bottle of local wine!! (Bikes and BBQ's are provided at no extra cost which was brilliant). A huge thank you Nigel and Suzanne for making us feel so welcome and for all your friendly advice on places to visit and things to do during our stay. We will definitely be back!!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
It was a pleasure to host you and we really look forward to seeing you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, relaxing stay”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The house was cool and well equiped for our stay, and the shared pool was kept immaculate and was mostly empty for our enjoyment. The hosts are welcoming and kind, and were happy to help us make the most of our stay in France.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking time to review our Pigeonnier, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting, but not too far away”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A three night stay in this old cottage converted to delightful studio accommodation with all the amenities we required. Large and comfortable bed with very generous quilt, a log burner and a gas heater if required. Full cooker, microwave and fridge very useful. good space for sitting and relaxing in the countryside away from the hustle and bustle, but, within easy travelling distance to La Rochelle, thanks to the A939, Rochefort and Chatellaion Plage. Very friendly and helpful owners and their cats were friendly also if you are a cat person. La Rochelle is a charming and picturesque town a little bit spoiled by the upgrading of the harbourside but this is only temporary and will allow greater access and if you like a boat trip try the one to Fort Boyard, yes the TV game show and Ile d'Aix where you can only cycle or walk. All in all a very pleasant experience, a fine few days and perfect accommodation.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexschum...
Herndon, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a cozy cottage!”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Le Pigeonnier was perfect for our family of four. Our boys (4 and 6) loved the sleeping loft and we found the big bed to be comfortable. We cooked dinner and breakfast both days in the well-stocked kitchen area and enjoyed the calm countryside and proximity to La Rochelle. There is a wood-burning stove, which was the only source of heat (and a portable propane heater), but it kept us comfortable. And Nigel was great about getting it started up again for us before we got back from a full day out. Bring slippers!
I can see how this property would be wonderful in the summer too, but we certainly enjoyed our winter escape.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2017
Thank you Alex we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsicle25
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place!”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful break at this pretty accommodation. Clean, well equipped and located in a beautiful rural location but still within a short drive to beaches and attractions. Lovely on site pool kept immaculately clean. Suzy and Nigel were very welcoming and the booking and payment process was hasslefree. A lovely little place for a great holiday.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking time to review our property, look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepatmor...
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Holiday!”
Reviewed 18 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The Pigeonnier is a beautiful studio style cottage and we loved our stay here and will definitely.
be coming back.

The location is great as you're really close to the beaches and a big Intermarché is only 10 minutes drive away. The owners are absolutely lovely, really helpful and friendly and give you access to bikes as well which is a nice touch! Really good Wi-fi and the pool is even better than on the photos.

We came with our dog Poppy and she loved walking down the country roads and playing in the large gardens too!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.