We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN”

B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NEVER AGAIN”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It was too hot in the bedroom no AC, and when we opened the window, woke up at 6 AM by the post office parking just under.Breakfast was terrible, specially the eggs.we could have go to have breakfast at the port for same price. Too expensive for what we got !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solange b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    210
    47
    11
    3
See reviews for
100
146
21
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I don't like giving poor review ratings but I have to be honest and this experience was not great, which was a shame as it detracted from our visit to a very beautiful La Rochelle.

In terms of positives, the room rate isn't bad, EUR88 including parking for the night. The receptionist was also very helpful and gave advice on where to go in the evening for good food. The shower was pretty good and the internet was free.

Location wasn't too bad, about a 10 minute walk from the centre and 5 minutes to the train station.

The problem for me was the noise. We had room 214 and this overlooked a fairly busy road and the window didn't cut out the traffic noise. We could also hear noise from other rooms and from the corridor.

In addition to this, the room was very warm with no air con and the bed was ok but pillows pretty poor.

In summary, I know this is a budget hotel but I think there are better options on the market to choose from. Sound proofing is a big problem, as is the heat in summer.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CISean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernac, Poitou-Charentes, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Room size is good, very clean soundproofing excellent, staff very friendly and professional. Would appear it's a happy ship! Great breakfast. Easy walk to station and town. Extra pillows available on request too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A friend and I stayed for two nights and we were both pleasantly surprised. The B&B is located very centrally, approximately 5 minutes from the harbor. The room we had was a decent size and bright and airy. The bathroom was also big and very clean. The rooms were cleaned every day, a service I wouldn't have expected to be included in the price! The staff at the B&B were very friendly and helpful, the director gave us loads of helpful tips and recommendations. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Schmalko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

A good choice very close to the train station, tourist office and the old harbour. The Place de Verdan is approximately a 20min walk away. Breakfast is help yourself and a good choice, although I would give the scrambled egg a miss! Staff were very helpful and friendly, and spoke English. Our room was cleaned daily to a high standard and a hairdryer was available to borrow from the reception. Drinks and snacks machines were situated by reception.

Room Tip: Room 301 was at the end of the corridor, away from the lift, which might be nosy if your room was cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwcatuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Excellent. Stayed here one night May 4th 2013. Ideal. Clean, comfortable. Decent breakfast. All staff were friendly and spoke enough English to compensate for my struggling French. They also have large lockers where you can leave luggage while you explore the town. Location is very good, couple of minutes walk from the railway station and five minutes from the old port.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
estepona, malaga, spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

After a frustrating hour driving around La Rochelle looking for a reasonable priced hotel WITH car parking we finally found Hotel B & B . Thank goodness !! The receptionist was so friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, no frills but who needs un-necessary extras !
The location is very convenient for the old Port and quayside - I wish we had made time to stay an extra day here to explore the area. Thank you for providing a welcome oasis after a long drive down from the north.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Rochelle hotels
0.3 mi away
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
Kyriad La Rochelle Centre
#7 of 49 in La Rochelle
560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis la Rochelle Centre Historique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
Inter-Hotel Saint Jean d'Acre
#10 of 49 in La Rochelle
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Masqhotel
Best Western Masqhotel
#4 of 49 in La Rochelle
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#5 of 49 in La Rochelle
688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Francois 1er Urban Style
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre

Property: B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre
Address: 140 boulevard Joffre, 17000, La Rochelle, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in La Rochelle
#10 Family Hotel in La Rochelle
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Hotel in La Rochelle Searching for a cheap hotel in Poitou-Charentes? Our B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre will offer you a warm welcome! A hotel in La Rochelle city centre, close to the Old Port No matter how you are arriving, the B&B Hotel La Rochelle cene is rapidly accessible: the train station is right opposite the hotel and the N137 passes close by. In the heart of La Rochelle city centre, you will be within immediate proximity of the Vieux Port (Old Port) and the aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your B&B Hotel La Rochelle Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast La Rochelle Centre
b&b La Rochelle Centre Hotel La Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing