We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Suitable for couples who enjoy exploring la...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Expeditio...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Suitable for couples who enjoy exploring la Rochelle and its surrounding areas”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely place and very nice owners. Lorraine n Jeremy were very friendly and accommodating and even offered to do our laundry washing during our stay. They also took us to the airport when we couldn't get a taxi..much appreciated. Place and pool area very nice and suitable for what we needed it for. La Rochelle is a lovely place to explore. Town is a 20 min walk from the apartment and bus 6 & 7 stop right outside. Aquarium was a good visit maybe later in the afternoon to avoid crowds. Il de re is a bus ride away and a beautiful place around st martin and the harbour plus the other little islands along the way. Free bus will take you to these once in Il de re. Nice markets on Saturdays and Wednesday. Supermarkets are 10 mins away. All in all a good holiday and yes we would go back!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
thanks a lot for the lovely review...I hope the weather is treating you kind on return! Hope to have you back some day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vigo, Spain
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: It was very cozy and very good value for money, I felt very comfortable
Liked least: All was good!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you, yes the studio is small. but cosy and the price reflects this. thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
V120
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
“I will not be returning”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Not as I expected from the previous reviews. There was the constant noise of heavy traffic from a nearby road and the pool was in a state of neglect, rendering it unusable for the first week of our stay. All in all, a poor place to spend a holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
We're very sad to receive this review, but must admit that we have been expecting it. Not because we feel we let the gentleman down in any way, as we honestly do not. But because he arrived in a conspicuously unhappy frame of mind and sadly remained that way despite our numerous and very rapid responses to put right his many criticisms.

Upon his arrival, there was a small hitch with the TV system which we resolved for him instantly. He then expressed his upset about some leaves that had fallen just outside his main door on the terrace - common in later August in La Rochelle - and which he felt disrupted the general cleanliness of his stay. We had these cleaned up within a very short period.

The pool is professionally cleaned on a weekly basis but due to a sudden drop of temperature, and a dip in the salt levels, it is absolutely true that it suffered a temporary malfunction for one of the days during his two weeks there. We had our pool company intervene and the problem was quickly resolved. All the tenants were informed and they in turn communicated that they appreciated the rapid response and that they were happy with the outcome. From this point onwards I had no further communication from the gentleman in question. But we did hear from the other tenants that subsequently the gentleman had done his best to encourage a negative response in the tenants occupying the neighboring apartments, an attempt which thankfully did not pay off and ruin the stay of other people all of whom were far more understanding of our intense efforts to resolve the pool issue. In fact, he was so down on everything that we are quite surprised to have even been awarded one star, which I suppose we should take as a blessing!

The guests requested a new set of linen/towels for their second week's rental. We gladly offered this, but this received no acknowledgement and nor did the welcome bottle of wine we left for the couple on arrival. We don't expect any gratitude for these - we consider them a normal part of making our guests feel at home - but we're saddened that these aspects were overlooked in this review.

Finally, we advertise clearly that we live 15-20 mins walk from the town centre - the property is in a residential area, and this is the very FIRST complaint of constant noise from heavy traffic, which is really not the case.

One thing we've learnt is that when managing holiday lets, no matter how hard we try, just occasionally we won't be able to make every single party happy. Our other reviews will back us up in our assertion that we always do the maximum to make everyone feel welcome, to respond to any queries or worries immediately and above all to listen to all feedback, most of which we're lucky enough to say is extremely generous and positive towards our efforts. That doesn't mean that we don't genuinely feel extremely upset when a review as unkind and untrue as this one appears online.

You cannot win them all, but we do try our utmost!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrimp3
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“When can we come again ?”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely place to stay and the pool was a bonus . La Rochelle just a walk away and beautiful . Lorraine and Jeremy were very helpful and friendly . Will definitely be coming again as soon as we can .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2015
We have heard back that 4 stars was ticked by mistake...and she couldn't undo it...the comments were all positive so thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygirl...
Meath
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Fab spot to get away from it all!”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This accommodation met all our expectations and needs and we will certainly be returning here again. Lorraine couldn't have been more helpful. Location is 15-20mins walk to centre of La Rochelle which is a beautiful place, through a lovely park. The pool onsite was a huge bonus. We were the only ones using it most of the time. A lovely bottle of red and white waiting for us upon our arrival which was a lovely gesture. Get No 7 bus from airport to Place de Verdun and then No. 6 bus from Place de Verdus just stops down from the apartment itself. €1.30 is standard bus fare to all destinations and ticket can be used for multiple journeys once used within one hour from validation on first bus. Supermarket across road v expensive but Le Clercq supermarket just 10mins walk down the road located in a large commercial area. Take the No. 50 bus out to Ile de Re. Just fantastic area. Hire bicycles. Loved La Rochelle and the excellent accommodation just made the holiday all the better. Many thanks Lorraine. See you again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very comfortable bed/beautiful swimming pool/good strong shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon d
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of our best holidays in nearly fifty years!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were really ready for a holiday break, so it was wonderful to discover a setting which amply provided all that we needed for a relaxing rest. Our gite was comfortable, the swimming pool - just a few yards from the front door - enabled us to swim in the warm sunshine several times each day, and we were able to laze, read and snooze beside it when we weren't in the water. Perfect! In addition, our hosts couldn't have made us feel more welcome. We'd love to get back as soon as we can!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2014
We're so touched by your kind words, and equally delighted it worked out so well for you! Really hope to see you again next year! J & L x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresas20...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here in 2013 with my partner for 5 days. We got a really warm welcome from the owners on our arrival, and it was lovely to find the studio in spotless condition - the wine was also a lovely touch too after a long day travelling!

The studio is beautifully furnished and very comfortable, with a great kitchen area, which had everything we needed there.

We made use of the pool every day, which was literally right outside our front door, and very relaxing.

It's a great spot, just away from the hustle and bustle of town, but the walk to town is very pleasant and only takes about 20 minutes. La Rochelle is full of fabulous restaurants and bars, we loved getting mussels and chips at the harbour or exploring some of the back streets for other great options. We also ate the best ice cream of our lives down at the harbour, where it was really nice to just sit and relax.

We also did a bike trip to the Ile de Re, an absolutely stunning island, full of beautiful beaches and great to discover on your bicycle!

This is a great little find in one of my favourite French towns. Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Delighted you have good memories of your time with us. Thanks and hope we'll see you again soon! J & L x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing