We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic property!! 5 star treatment!!”
other travellers have booked this property
The lovely dining room area taken from the mezzanine above.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lovely dining room area taken from the mezzanine above.
The lounge's seating area, and fireplace (at time of writing for decoration only). The lounge's seating area, and fireplace (at time of writing for decoration only).
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
The lovely dining room area taken from the mezzanine above.
The lounge's seating area, and fireplace (at time of writing for decoration only).
The lounge's seating area, and fireplace (at time of writing for decoration only).
The lounge's seating area, and fireplace (at time of writing for decoration only).
The lounge's seating area, and fireplace (at time of writing for decoration only).
Taken from mezzan
A panorama of the warm and welcoming lounge/diner space.
The kitchen, fully equipped with everything you'll need for your stay.
The kitchen, fully equipped with everything you'll need for your stay.
A panorama of the kitchen, fully equipped with everything you'll need and table and chairs for 4.
The front of the house with its traditional cobbled stones and an ancient well.
The front of the house with its traditional cobbled stones and an ancient well.
Top terrace with table and chairs, just outside the kitchen.
The front of the house with its traditional cobbled stones and an ancient well.
View from the kitchen window.
The upper terrace in the garden with the main outside table and chairs and brick-built barbecue.
The well in front of our house which led us to name our little residence Résidence du Petit Puits.
Garden: the brick built barbecue and table and chairs.
Garden: the brick built barbecue and table and chairs at night.
The salt water pool, 9m, shared between the house and 3 small apartments.
The double bedroom with ensuite shower room.
The double bedroom with ensuite shower room.
The double bedroom with ensuite shower room: the shower room itself.
The double bedroom with ensuite shower room: the shower room itself.
The double bedroom with ensuite shower room: the shower room itself.
The second double bedroom, cosy and welcoming and with great storage.
The second double bedroom, cosy and welcoming and with great storage.
Panorama of the second double bedroom, cosy and welcoming and with great storage.
Panorama of the second double bedroom, cosy and welcoming and with great storage.
The 3rd bedroom which can be configured as a twin bedroom with two singles or as a double (as shown)
The 3rd bedroom which can be configured as a twin bedroom with two singles (as shown) or as a double
The 3rd bedroom which can be configured as a twin bedroom with two singles (as shown) or as a double
The 3rd bedroom which can be configured as a twin bedroom with two singles (as shown) or as a double
The fourth bedroom: a twin bedroom ideal for two children or two singles.
The main bathroom with bath and shower over the bath, sink, WC. Note: there is also a separate WC.
The view through the front door of the house into the hallway.
A welcome bottle on your arrival!
Toys available for those in your party who enjoy playing - whether young, or just young at heart!
La Rochelle's stunning port, about 25-30 minutes leisurely walk from the house.
By night, La Rochelle's stunning port, about 25-30 minutes leisurely walk from the house.
La Rochelle's stunning port, about 25-30 minutes leisurely walk from the house.
By night, La Rochelle's stunning port, about 25-30 minutes leisurely walk from the house.
The bustling central market that fills the streets on most weekdays and Saturdays.
Welcome!
Welcome!
The delicious flavours available at the Organic food supermarket directly across the road from house
The delicious flavours available at the Organic food supermarket directly across the road from house
The delicious flavours available at the Organic food supermarket directly across the road from house
Over the rooftops of beautiful La Rochelle. If you arrive by plane this is what you'll see!
The fabulous central park, Parc Charruyer, that runs the length of the town down to the beach.
Previous guests Andrew and Zoe enjoying a barbecue by the pool!
Ile de Re with its legendary beaches & views to die for. A slice of the Caribbean 10mins away by car
Where we are!
Previous guests The Wallace family enjoying a meal by the pool!
The garden and trampoline.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Trisha D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic property!! 5 star treatment!!”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in July 2017

If you want 5 star treatment you will get it here!! The apartment was pristine and I’m fussy so I do check! They have all the perfect touches added to make it home from home! And the house is in a fantastic location within walking distance from everywhere!! I highly recommend a holiday here!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2018
What a wonderful review and so totally appreciated...I know that we are all so busy in life but to take the time to highly recommenced our property helps us continue to do what we love doing, and hearing that people are happy with their choice of holiday accommodation, so again THANK YOU, we hope to see you again soon
Lorraine & Jeremy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just spent 2 weeks at this lovely house- myself, my husband ,my sister and her husband. The house had everything we needed. 4 bedrooms - 2 bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen- including dishwasher and washing machine. It also had Sky television and Wifi .
The garden was very private with a sunny patio area, barbecue area and a play area for children. If you have children there are lots of toys and games and every piece of equipment you may need. The house is a good 25 minute walk into La Rochelle, part of it through a lovely park, but we tended to eat out at lunch time and spend our evenings at the house cooking the lovely food we bought at La Rochelle and La Flotte markets and relaxing on the patio and enjoying the house and garden. The house is ideally placed with easy access via road to the beautiful Ile de Re, and all the other lovely places in the Charente Maritime. We had lunch most days overlooking lovely harbours and relaxing in the sunshine. Lorraine very patiently dealt with all my queries before I booked the house and the whole booking process was very smooth.Tthe house is a home from home with hundreds of books and cds. I would highly recommend the house for families and small groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely private garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2007trish...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

So Happy with our stay, Lorraine and Jeremy couldn't do enough for us. Beautiful home, clean, spacious and with everything you need for a great stay. Great location with beautiful walk into town. Highly recommended!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, it is very much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath T
City of Bradford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house in the suburbs of La Rochelle”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

In Aug/Sept 2013 we stayed here and had a lovely week in La Rochelle. The house was beautiful and spacious. The bedrooms were large and very much in the French style and the kitchen spacious and well equipped. Each morning we were able to sit out on the patio and enjoy breakfast.
Set in a quiet location with local shops, a boulangerie and tabac. There were also larger supermarkets within walking distance and a fantastic health food shop about 5 mins walk away. La Rochelle was about 20 mins walk through a pleasant park. La Rochell is a busy town with ample shops, restaurants and amusements. Ile de Rey which is a haven for cyclists is within easy reach either by car or local transport.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2014
Thankyou - so pleased you liked it! Best wishes and hope we'll cross paths again in the not too distant future! Jeremy and Lorraine x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariel d
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in fascinating La Rochelle”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely accom . in beautiful surroundings Beautiful pool. Close to city centre and historic harbour. Plenty of wonderful eateries near by. On convenient bus route. Clean and well run by wonderful hosts.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peaceful, laid back atmosphere and friendliness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2014
Really happy you were pleased with it - hope to see you soon again! L & J x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Q
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location pool and friendliest of owners.”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful city and marina. Amazing beaches on the Isle de Re. Can't wait to return and all this is about a 10 min walk away from these beautiful apartments. Land lady is on site and there to welcome us give directions, first aid box when I cut my toe at beach. She couldn't do enough. Apartments bright airy and spotless. And pool right outside for that lazy evening or morning swim before we went touring for the day. Also a beautiful big park about 5 mins away for a leisurely stroll and lovely for children. Beautiful reasonable restaurants everywhere. Thank you Lorraine and Jeremy for your hospitality. Can't wait to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and pool.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2014
So pleased it all went well for you - look forward to seeing you again soon!
Lorraine and Jeremy x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emjb1
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Big house with pool in beautiful La Rochelle”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Big house that would be good value for a family/small group. Lovely pool area and nice spacious garden with trampoline for the kids. Owners kindly kept pool open for us a few days extra.

House has all facilities you would need but perhaps could do with some updating. Travel cot was very old and stained and could definitely do with being replaced. Nice playroom with toys for children.

Location was ok. Close to several supermarkets and convenient for road to the ile de re. Walk into the centre of La Rochelle was about 25 minutes. La Rochelle itself is lovely with lots of great restaurants and attractions.

We did have a problem with a lack of hot water which wasn't resolved as quickly as we would have hoped. The owners did offer us a small refund after our holiday, but to be honest we felt they could have done more to sort the issue earlier.

Cleaning wasn't included in the cost and you are expected to clean the house at the end of your stay.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend La Rochelle as a destination.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2014
We are very sad to read these comments, as our experience of the situation was quite different: from our side we did the absolute maximum to make this guest's stay a smooth one and to iron out the small problem that occurred, that had never ever happened before and which we couldn't have predicted but which we did everything to resolve.

Firstly, regarding her feeling that the house could do with updating, I hope that future guests will take the time to read all the other positive comments we've received: how they feel the house is a real "home from home" with books, CDs and other welcoming features that would not feature in the average rental.

This was a last minute enquiry for a short stay of three days, and rentals of this type we don't usually do in high season. But the guest was desperate for a short break and so we accepted the rental and extended the pool's open season at our own cost to include this guest's stay, and we also provided complimentary towels and linen.

The first communication from the guest was to tell us that she wanted more towels. I immediately arranged for my cleaner to provide additional towels (I presume for the use of the swimming pool).

The second communication was regarding an issue with the water not being as hot as she would have liked. This came in at 9pm on a Saturday night, and I gave her options to resolve this. Having had no further news, I followed up with a further communication on Sunday morning and was told by the guest that the water situation had improved and they were able to take showers, etc.

Nonetheless, I told the guest that I'd like to arrange a plumber first thing on Monday morning, which I did, just to double check all was well (in La Rochelle it is difficult to get routine plumbing assistance outside of the working week).

At the end of her stay, we gave her a refund equivalent to 15% of her total rental as an acknowledgement of the water problem she'd had on her first night.

Overall, I am extremely disappointed that despite all our efforts, the guest has chosen to portray us as not having done our best for her. I can assure all future renters that we ALWAYS pull out all the stops to make sure our guests are happy, warm and welcome in our home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing