We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice for train travellers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Memphis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Memphis
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good choice for train travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

This hotel is very convenient for the train station. I found the room comfortable and quite good value. It had a good flat-screen tv and I was very pleased to find a kettle and tea/coffee in the room.
Some rooms (e.g. 31, 32) face the station and there are bright lights and some noise from the street. You can shut these out with the shutters and double-glazing, but if you want air while you sleep you will need ear-plugs and possibly eye-masks.
Breakfast was an optional extra, but definitely worth the 7 euros if you like a good spread, including boiled eggs, ham, cheese, yogurt, fruit.
Service was friendly and I would stay there again if breaking my train journey in Poitiers.

Room Tip: Room 31 is a nice room but faces the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlympeDeGouges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    20
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
14
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

This is a great value hotel. While the rooms aren't particularly fancy, they have a TV, reasonably comfortable bed and a bathroom. Breakfast was included in our rate, where we were given some yoghurt, coffee and a croissant. Internet is free in the rooms, although it is pretty slow. Right next to the train station as well, so great if you need to go to Paris. Great value.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hendrix1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here in October 2010 for a few days. The hotel was in a great location, very close to the railway station but also just a short walk away from the city centre. The room was very clean and more than adequate for a few night's stay. The owner was friendly and helpful. Poitiers itself is a lovely place with interesting sights, nice shops, restaurants and bars. It is ideally located if you intend to make some day trips by train . The bus to Futuroscope also leaves from pretty much just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anna_c20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

Nice hotel, nice decoration, but very noisy!
We payed 86E per 2 nights for a double room. The room was very well decorate (don't look outside the hotel, anyway). It was very cheap, just oposite the railroad and bus station, with a big parking for 6E/day.
The bathroom is very small, and the douche is slow, very slow. I hate to have a douche with my feet down the water... Anyway, it was clean.
The worst was the noise. At 7 am the people started going out the room, and, as the doors has "muelles", it close very hard and wakes you up. When someone is entering his room, it sounds as if someone is trying to enter your room, so it is very unconfortable.
The bed is very small too.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alsayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tafers, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

Rooms are decorated with owner's own designed patchworks. Across the road from the station but quiet. For restaurants go to the town centre as area around hotel not suberb. No city maps, or info re:Poitiers available at hotel. Owner reserved, but helpful if asked for information. The rooms are small and the shower tiny but adequate. Clean, warm rooms. For an overnight stay, perfect. Town centre a 10-15 minute walk.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alegna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

It's a good value for money. The owner is kind and really helpful (she gave me a map of Poitiers the first day, indications and called a taxi for me the day I was leaving). I liked the free access (high speed) on internet, since I needed it for working. It's a 2-minute walk from the train station and 15-minute walk from/to the city center. However, if you don't like walking there is the main bus stop of the city in front of the hotel, so it is easy to reach the city center by bus.
It is evident why that this hotel is only a 2 stars, the furniture is out of date. However, I don't personally think it is a problem. I chose this hotel for its position and its price, so I can bear this lack of elegance.
The negative points: the room is soundproof for the noise coming from outside (street) but not inside, so you can hear people chatting and walking. It has a scruffy outside appearance, but the breakfast room and my room were nicely decorated so I'm happy about the choice.
Don't go there if you wish to spent your days watching the TV, since the TV is very small.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winston-le-chat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poitiers hotels
0.1 mi away
Inter-Hotel Continental Poitiers
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#15 of 35 in Poitiers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Poitiers Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Plat d'Etain
Hotel du Plat d'Etain
#19 of 35 in Poitiers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Poitiers Centre
Ibis Poitiers Centre
#14 of 35 in Poitiers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Bois de La Marche
BEST WESTERN Le Bois de La March...
#1 of 1 in Fontaine-le-Comte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Memphis

Property: Hotel Le Memphis
Address: 101 boulevard du grand Cerf, 86000, Poitiers, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Poitiers
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Memphis 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing