We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal stopover on the way south”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge du Centre-Poitou
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ideal stopover on the way south”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Booked online which did not allow us to choose all the options on accommodation. We were offered a better room on arrival, but for one night the booked room was adequate, if a little small. We were a bit worried by the room overlooking the main road, but in the event it was well soundproofed and quiet

The food was very good in the restaurant, but we would have survived on the bistro in the other part of the building. No complaints on quality!

Parking is free in the quiet road and square alongside the hotel. Wifi is free, but it was a bit hit and miss while we were there.

Room Tip: The room we had was small but perfectly adequate for a single night stopover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aero280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    17
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
23
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Matha, France
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

sadly we failed to read the hotel information and therefore didn't notice that the restaurant was closed on Mondays - so what was supposed to be a gastronomic wedding anniversary & birthday celebration resulted in the worst meal we have had in france.
We were unable to sit in the delightful garden as there was only one table which was occupied by someone working so had to sit on the noisy terrace by the car park before dinner.
The interior of the hotel is striking however this was spoilt by the strong smell of cats.
A real dissapointment

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsVert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Very special elaborately prepared meal which was delicious. Good night's sleep and friendly staff.

We liked the charming rustic antique interior, down to the little birds' nests by the entrance. Not our usual type of accommodation - but as they say, " You can't take it with you"!

Go with an open mind and curious palate, and come away delighted.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_diddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We loved staying in this small village of Coulombiers. France (the owners' first name) Martine,
was so kind to us. We had our picnic lunch, that we hadn't yet eaten, with us when we arrived after 7:30 pm and even though they have a restaurant there, she agreed to let us enjoy our food on the patio and even brought dessert out from the kitchen. We enjoyed a nice breakfast there the next morning and after that, walked the village. It's only about 10 minutes from Poitiers. We would definitely go back if ever in that part of France again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmrjm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I was looking for someplace to spend 2 nights near Poitiers and Chauvigny where I wanted to photograph some historic buildings. I lived in France as a young man nearly 40 years ago and have travelled back and forth across the country almost every year since on road trips staying in rural inns and small hotels in small towns. It is hard to find a bad meal in France, and I have seldom had a room that was not satisfactory, and I was expecting a good room and a solid meal when I got there. But I got a lot more than I expected! I am glad I chose the Auberge du Centre-Poitou not only because the room was not expensive but was quite grand and comfortable with a most luxurious bathroom and lovely garden view, but also because, to my surprise, the food offered in the dining room was just superb by any standard, featuring local specialties and memorable wine. The innkeeper was charming and told me about the history of her family owning this inn for four generations. I will certainly stay there again on my next road trip through France.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drkiracofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poitiers hotels
11.9 mi away
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
529 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Le Bois De La Marche
Best Western Le Bois De La March...
#1 of 1 in Fontaine-le-Comte
220 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#3 of 35 in Poitiers
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Best Western Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel
9.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Poitiers Centre
7.6 mi away
Kyriad Poitiers Sud
Kyriad Poitiers Sud
#17 of 35 in Poitiers
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Centre-Poitou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Centre-Poitou

Property: Auberge du Centre-Poitou
Address: 39, Route Nationale 11 | Coulombiers, 86600, Poitiers, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Poitiers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Auberge du Centre-Poitou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing