We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON@T GO HERE, THE WORST HOTEL AND EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE!!! DISGUSTING!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Plat d'Etain
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Poitiers
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DON@T GO HERE, THE WORST HOTEL AND EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE!!! DISGUSTING!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

First I must to say that I spend around 120-140 nights a year i hotels around world and this is the most appalling and nasty hole I've ever seen!!!
Stayed here for a week as I moved to Poitier for work and thought about the location.
On arrival I was given uncleaned room (brown human produced snake in toilet), room was smaller that I booked, radiator didn't work, no hot water, internet didn't work, at last nothing didn't work or were done to fix the situation???
I requested a refund to change hotel, as I had paid a 6-days in advance, but of course they didn't accept it (even on the bill they produced I was tried to charge 7-breakfast even I went there once and stayed 6-days in total in this hole)
Weirdest part was, when I left they tried to charge me double even I had receipt that I had paid prior arrival. OK police came and they kindly gave me a lift other hotel that I had booked. Even they were laughing and wondering what they saw.

There are plenty of better hotels in similar price and location so just
DON'T GO THERE AND SAVE YOURSELF FROM APPALLING EXPERIENCE..... What a hole!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel, this place is awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    44
    18
    15
    13
See reviews for
38
29
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is in the heart of the old city of Poitiers. In order to reach it you need a code to get through the security into the square. The instructions we received from the hotel were in french and though I translated the basics it was not clear that we had to type in the code to make the bollards go into the street so we could drive into the old city. The hotel did not have an elevator but our room was up a couple of short flights of stairs. It was quite a quiet room except early on the Monday morning when there was some metal work going on at a shop next door. The room was hot as the temperature was in the high 30's (c) and no fan or air conditioning was available. We kept the window open but then exposed ourselves to mosquitos. Parking was great as it was right at the hotel though you have to make sure you ask when booking. The price was reasonable at 57 EU per night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klynnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We stayed in the family room of this hotel for two nights in July. It has a fantastic location in the heart of the city and we got a rate of 75 euros per night for a 4 person room.

The hotel is a basic old fashioned french hotel, but it'svery clean and the proprieters and staff were very helpful and friendly. There is street noise during the night, but that goes with the location. If you can't get in their car park then the Parking Carnot is nearby and was relatively cheap.

If you want luxury its probably not for you, but if you want value and a great location then use this.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

This hotel is located in the very centre of Poitiers. The rooms are big but not cosy at all. The beds were not very comfortable. Breakfast was not rememberable. There is parking in the garden but doors close at 10 so if you visit futuroscope for the fireworks you have to park on the street. (No big deal....) GPS is recommended due to the many one way streets.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froderik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poitiers hotels

Ruffec, France
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We stayed one night and wanted a central hotel in Poitiers. The location is good if a little hard to find but it is right next to an Irish pub at the back of a theatre and this created noise at night. We were able to park the car at the back of the hotel for 5 euros and this was great. The rooms are ok. We had a refurbished room - the bathroom was clean but the bed was uncomfortable and it was hard to sleep because of noise upstairs and outside. Our teenagers had a room at the back which was quieter apart from the plumbing they said. Breakfast was mini everything and the coffee/chocolate was awful.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graceloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2007

If you've read the other 2 reviews you may wonder how the same place could be viewed so differently, so let's get this clear - it is a two star hotel for which you will not pay a lot of money. It badly needs to renew facilities in the rooms, simple things like light bulbs, shower holdings, etc. For me it's main failing was not to have a tiny, luggage only lift out the back meaning you have to lug bags up a number of stairs.
The owners were charming and the breakfast excellent; of course it doesn't have a bar or restaurant and the owners like to be able to leave the hotel and have lunch, etc. but there is an entry code to get back in. After all, it's just a place to get your head down, shower, etc.
Our experience of Poitiers was great; imagine leaving London early one morning and being sat in the sun in a pavement cafe in Poitiers overlooking the main, very attractive square, round the corner from your hotel by lunchtime.
Poitiers itself was a great place for a long weekend, lots of monuments, a market out of town, restaurants, good discounted CD store, be aware that it's on a steephill so if you walk down, you have to walk back up!

  • Liked — Great price for the location
  • Disliked — Lugging bags upstairs; easily fixed facilities in room
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bicester
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2006

How on earth this 'hotel' has been awarded two stars is totally beyond me. All it has going for it is that, at the moment, it is quite clean, and the breakfast is acceptable. It has no facilities whatsoever. No lounge, no bar, nowhere to sit except on the hard chair or even harder bed in your room. No complementaries in the room, not even soap. No coffee making facilities. You even have to hold the shower in one hand whilst washing your hair with the other! Our room had no overhead lighting, just three reading lights which shared two bulbs. The stairway is lit by those lights that switch off after a few minutes, so consequently is always dark. When we arrived back at the hotel at the late hour of 9.20pm, we had to ring the doorbell to get in. Even for the price of 46 euros per night, this place is nothing but mean.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go there
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poitiers hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Au Chapon Fin
Hotel Au Chapon Fin
#28 of 36 in Poitiers
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#15 of 36 in Poitiers
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#3 of 36 in Poitiers
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Poitiers Centre
Ibis Poitiers Centre
#13 of 36 in Poitiers
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Poitiers Centre
0.1 mi away
Best Western Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Plat d'Etain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Plat d'Etain

Property: Hotel du Plat d'Etain
Address: 7 rue du Plat D Etain, 86000, Poitiers, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Poitiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Poitiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Plat d'Etain 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Plat d'Etain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing