We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money in the City Centre.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Plat d'Etain
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We stayed in the family room of this hotel for two nights in July. It has a fantastic location in the heart of the city and we got a rate of 75 euros per night for a 4 person room.

The hotel is a basic old fashioned french hotel, but it'svery clean and the proprieters and staff were very helpful and friendly. There is street noise during the night, but that goes with the location. If you can't get in their car park then the Parking Carnot is nearby and was relatively cheap.

If you want luxury its probably not for you, but if you want value and a great location then use this.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2010

This hotel is located in the very centre of Poitiers. The rooms are big but not cosy at all. The beds were not very comfortable. Breakfast was not rememberable. There is parking in the garden but doors close at 10 so if you visit futuroscope for the fireworks you have to park on the street. (No big deal....) GPS is recommended due to the many one way streets.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froderik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We stayed one night and wanted a central hotel in Poitiers. The location is good if a little hard to find but it is right next to an Irish pub at the back of a theatre and this created noise at night. We were able to park the car at the back of the hotel for 5 euros and this was great. The rooms are ok. We had a refurbished room - the bathroom was clean but the bed was uncomfortable and it was hard to sleep because of noise upstairs and outside. Our teenagers had a room at the back which was quieter apart from the plumbing they said. Breakfast was mini everything and the coffee/chocolate was awful.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graceloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2007

If you've read the other 2 reviews you may wonder how the same place could be viewed so differently, so let's get this clear - it is a two star hotel for which you will not pay a lot of money. It badly needs to renew facilities in the rooms, simple things like light bulbs, shower holdings, etc. For me it's main failing was not to have a tiny, luggage only lift out the back meaning you have to lug bags up a number of stairs.
The owners were charming and the breakfast excellent; of course it doesn't have a bar or restaurant and the owners like to be able to leave the hotel and have lunch, etc. but there is an entry code to get back in. After all, it's just a place to get your head down, shower, etc.
Our experience of Poitiers was great; imagine leaving London early one morning and being sat in the sun in a pavement cafe in Poitiers overlooking the main, very attractive square, round the corner from your hotel by lunchtime.
Poitiers itself was a great place for a long weekend, lots of monuments, a market out of town, restaurants, good discounted CD store, be aware that it's on a steephill so if you walk down, you have to walk back up!

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2006

How on earth this 'hotel' has been awarded two stars is totally beyond me. All it has going for it is that, at the moment, it is quite clean, and the breakfast is acceptable. It has no facilities whatsoever. No lounge, no bar, nowhere to sit except on the hard chair or even harder bed in your room. No complementaries in the room, not even soap. No coffee making facilities. You even have to hold the shower in one hand whilst washing your hair with the other! Our room had no overhead lighting, just three reading lights which shared two bulbs. The stairway is lit by those lights that switch off after a few minutes, so consequently is always dark. When we arrived back at the hotel at the late hour of 9.20pm, we had to ring the doorbell to get in. Even for the price of 46 euros per night, this place is nothing but mean.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2006

Great location, friendly staff (very helpful with bus routes, train schedules, restaurants, etc.).
Room was fine. I would definitely stay here again. The location is perfect, just off the main town square. Great value at 46 e/night.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hakobason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Celineyeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poitiers hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#19 of 35 in Poitiers
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Au Chapon Fin
Hotel Au Chapon Fin
#29 of 35 in Poitiers
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#3 of 35 in Poitiers
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Poitiers Centre
Ibis Poitiers Centre
#15 of 35 in Poitiers
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Poitiers Centre
0.1 mi away
Best Western Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Plat d'Etain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Plat d'Etain

Address: 7 rue du Plat D Etain, 86000, Poitiers, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Poitiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Poitiers
Price Range: £52 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Plat d'Etain 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel du Plat d'Etain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing