We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient”
Review of Barthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barthotel
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Poitiers
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We chose this hotel as a stop over when driving to the south of France. It is about a 20 minute walk from the centre of Poitiers, but is easy to find with plenty of parking. There's a bus stop outside and it cost 1.30 euros (need exact fare) to catch a bus to the centre, but after a long drive it was nice to walk. We spent a few hours exploring the old town centre and also had a meal in the town (note restaurants don't start evening service until 7pm). The hotel is more like a UK guest house. The owners were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to try and speak English to us. We had a family room which was large and freshly decorated. A slight down side at first was the traffic noise from the main road, but this did not prove to be a problem later on and we all slept well. Breakfast was help yourself continental style and you could eat as much as you wanted. Outside there was a sports stadium and ice rink, but not much else as it's a slightly out of town location. However for a stopover it was exactly what we wanted.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Echo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    31
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
11
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The room had typical french charm and was spotlessly clean with everything we needed for our stay including a good free wifi connection. The room also had tea/coffee making facilities which is nice, as is not common place in France.

We had already eaten down the road just before we arrived as it was getting late, but wished we had waited until we arrived at the hotel as they provided room service, with what looked like very hearty meals at an excellent price.

The owners Daniel and Christine speak English and were very friendly and super helpful, nothing was to much for them. We couldn't recommend this place enough, it is great value, super clean, has character, and excellent hosts.....we will defeinatly be back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniel b, Gérant at Barthotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
glad our family hotel is pleased you, thank you for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Great for a one night stop - service very friendly and helpful - good recommendation for a local restaurant and bar call the K just a short walk away. Dogs are very welcome and good parking and wifi Richard

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The hotel was very clean and tidy. The staff was very friendly. They did speak some English which was helpful. We would definitely stay here again if we're in the town for the same reasons. It's a bit of a walk to town and there isn't really much near the hotel if you're in town on foot.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
219 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We chose this hotel for one night in Poitiers mainly because it offers free parking and wifi. It was the best decision we made on this trip!

We stayed in the room for five (two adults, three children) and it was fairly basic, but the owners were some of the nicest and most helpful people we've encountered! The hotel is run with a very family atmosphere, and the morning breakfast of yogurt, fruit, and baked goods is absolutely delicious.

There are several eateries of various levels within walking distance, and we felt perfectly safe making the walk out after dark.

The owner's pets make short appearances and are extremely well behaved. Their cat is beautiful, and my daughter desperately wanted to invite the cat in for a snuggle, although that was not to be.

My French is fairly subpar, but the owners made every effort to speak to us in English, as well as asking which sites we were interested in visiting and finding tourist information (in English!) for us.

Next time we hope to stay longer than one night!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poitiers
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My stay at Barthotel was excellent. The owner and manager was very kind and exceptionnal person. I am fully satisfy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tekni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Visited here on the night of the fete de la musique. Easy to find and easy access to town via the bus which stops directly outside the hotel. We booked a large room for 4 adults at a very reasonable price. The room was basic but did offer tea and coffee making facilities which is quite unusual in France.
Staff were extremely helpful with info etc. Didn't do the breakfast - so can't comment.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickSmith789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poitiers hotels
3.7 mi away
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
Garrigae Manoir de Beauvoir
#1 of 1 in Mignaloux-Beauvoir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.5 mi away
ACE Hotel Poitiers
ACE Hotel Poitiers
#4 of 36 in Poitiers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#3 of 36 in Poitiers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Poitiers Beaulieu
Ibis Poitiers Beaulieu
#12 of 36 in Poitiers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Poitiers Centre Le Grand Hotel
1.8 mi away
Mercure Poitiers Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barthotel

Property: Barthotel
Address: 84 avenue Jacques Coeur, 86000, Poitiers, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Poitiers
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Poitiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Barthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Barthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing