We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings...”
Review of Bastide du Cours

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bastide du Cours
Ranked #30 of 73 Aix-en-Provence B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Hotel is near impossible to find. There is no elevator and we were given a room on the 4th floor....which can be a surprise if you bring significant luggage. The front desk personnel were very helpful. There was no wi-fi as advertised. Another couple had a room in the back which had sticky rugs and a dirty terrace. The bathrooms are beautiful but not very functional....no showers that work. Would not recommend the restaurant beyond cafe or espresso. Beds are awful....mattresses may pre-date this 18th century structure. The restaurants in the old town serve food for tourists....do not expect to find decent cuisine in this area of Aix en Provence.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Bastide du Cours
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

The location of this hotel is very central and walking distance to old town, the decoration of the room is nice classic. I didn't much feel like we were staying in a hotel it was more like an apart. The entrance of the hotel is from the restaurant and there's not much of a reception or concierge, which is something I like and use usually when I'm abroad. The staff barely speaks English, not very helpful as most of the French service sector. The room decoration is nice but the bed was not comfortable and the bathroom again very nice decoration but not user friendly, because of the French bath tub when we took a shower the whole bathroom floor and room was under water, you had to hold the shower in your hand it wasn't possible to hang it. Also the heating in the room was working properly but I guess since it was fancoil system the air in the room was so dry. So in terms of decoration and atmosphere its nice, but keep it in mind that this is not like a hotel in traditional ways

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tncya2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This is not exactly your average B&B, as the rooms (well, I only got to know one, but I could tell from the pictures the others were like mine) are way better than most hotel rooms anywhere in the world. The bathtub in my room alone was worth half the rate. The room itself was very spacious and the place is conveniently located at Cours Mirabeau. But it is definitely not a hotel, as management and most staff appeared to consider guests as something of an obstacle to their daily routines. However, as in many restaurants and hotels in France, once you show them a little rudeness in return, preferably in french, you get a little more respect. But just a little. The local restaurant was really good and worth a visit, even if you don't stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frederico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

The room was absolutely beautifully decorated, if you like antiques like me! We stayed in room nr 7 Voyage en Chine.
The hotel is in the middle of town on a big street, parking is a disaster, but they do offer valet parking, so just stop the car in front of the hotel and they will drive it to a parking garage for you.
It doesnt really look like a hotel, more like a restaurant with some rooms. We only had breakfast in the restaurant, which was fine, but I don't think you should expect fabulous food here, or 4 star hotel services.
The price booking online was lower than the price they gave me calling the hotel. When I told them what the price online was, I got the same price over the phone though. We paid EUR 125 a night, very reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keetjeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Was recommended as a restaurant, but was disappointed at the food and service, ordered a local dish, which had clearly ben left standing for quite a while, vegetables were tasteless, courses came at odd times, can't say I would recommend at all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Glyndwr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed in Room No.8 - Pavillon de Campagne and we had a perfect stay. The suite itself was absolutely stunning, attention to detail with regards to decoration, comfort and cleanliness. If you like antique styling, you will be in heaven. This suite is situated at the back of the courtyard so it was reasonably quiet.
It's a very busy restaurant so there is a bit of a wait when you check-in but if you are expecting this, then you just have to be patient. The staff were very welcoming and efficient, even though you could see they were under a lot of pressure. We ordered room service at around 8pm and it was delivered 15 minutes later!
The food was absolutely delicious and it was at the same price as eating in the restaurant. The following morning we had breakfast in their cafe and we were very impressed with the Petit Déjeuner Complet. It was only 12Euro and it had everything, like pastries, yoghurt, fruit, bacon and eggs! Truly scrumptious, especially if you're travelling with a toddler and they prefer to share with you.
We decided not to park at the Hotel after reading other reviews, which worked out well as we were lucky enough to find parking on Bld du Roi Rene which is very near. All in all, a great stay and we hope to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed at Bastide du Cours for 4 nights and loved it! The room was spacious and beautifully decorated with a terrace overlooking a quaint courtyard. Fabulous location close to everything there is to enjoy in Aix-en-Provence. The hotel is small...about 9 rooms...located behind a restaurant. Service was fabulous. We were disappointed that contrary to what the other reviews stated, the guy who works the desk is not so surly...he is very busy and gave us first class service. I would not hesitate to stay here again. The room was very "roomy" for a European hotel and the bathroom was gorgeous and like new. We stayed in room 9. Aix is a fabulous small city. Lots of narrow streets with great restaurants an shops...lots of interesting architecture and atmosphere. Very much a university city with lots of student aged people. Although, we had to look hard for French food as Italian food appeared to dominate the restaurants. The restaurant at the hotel is a little price but very good...we enjoyed a fabulous dinner and a couple of breakfasts.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoraDora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#18 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Gantes
Hotel de Gantes
#49 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Augustins
Hotel des Augustins
#23 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#9 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Artea
Hotel Artea
#32 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#30 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastide du Cours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastide du Cours

Address: 43/45/47 Cours Mirabeau, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £93 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bastide du Cours 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bastide du Cours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastide Du Cours Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing