We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bastide du Cours

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bastide du Cours
Ranked #30 of 66 Aix-en-Provence B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Very well located, charming room, with friendly staff. Just drive up to the front door and they will garage the car for you. No lift, but back court adds to the charm. Large room with classic furniture and bathtube. Nice surprise for a short stay at lovely Aix en Provence.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolaaswl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    39
    25
    11
    11
See reviews for
14
60
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom Downs, Surrey, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Bastide du Cours is in a fantastic location. We couldn’t have asked for better. The restaurant food is really great – just as we had expected from the research we did before our trip. However, there were a few things that should be noted for future travellers!

Our disabled suite (Fleur et Papillion) was huge – a vast lounge with sofas and plasma screen tv, equally huge bedroom with another plasma screen tv – a toilet/shower room. Off the bedroom was a bathroom with sink and Jacuzzi bath and through that was an enormous disabled wet room with Jacuzzi shower and disabled loo. Entry to the suite was through a courtyard with glass frontage and a vestibule area with dining table and chairs, which all the suite rooms led off. BUT:

• If it rained or workmen were hosing in the courtyard outside, water poured into the vestibule area leaving the floor with a huge puddle as it seeped under the glass frontage and doors
• There were wires dangling through the ceiling and wall in the lounge, bedroom and vestibule, which looked like they were waiting for the installation of smoke/fire detectors, of which there were none evident in the suite.
• The two flat screen TV’s provided had multiple channels but not one was in English, not even the BBC world news, which is something that we would expect almost anywhere in the world if a TV is provided. There was no DVD player so the plasma TV’s were useless to us.
• The shower in the disabled wet room was so powerful that when switched on it soaked the entire room, loo roll, towels and all!
• Pillows provided were very strange and not at all comfortable.
• The free Wi-Fi for guests was rubbish and only appeared to work in the middle of the night.
• On day 4 there was no coffee at breakfast (not even instant) as the coffee machine had broken.
• When anyone flushed the loo in the room above it sounded as if it were cascading over our heads in bed

Finally, on departure, we were shocked to receive a bill for all our accommodation and breakfast for the entire week. When I pointed out that we had paid in advance through our tour company they said “we are not used to this, it’s our first time” and then they reduced the bill down the couple of dinners we had had in the restaurant. What a relief!!

Whilst there were a number of problems with the hotel accommodation, in a strange way it was rather quirkily French, and the location superb and the valet parking a very good service.

They probably need to put these issues right or just concentrate on being an excellent restaurant. We did have a good holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliamould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Right in the center of town but still not too noisy, an old building which was renovated, a luxury room with a huge bath tub, sauna and other perks, and when compared to hotels near-by offers the best value for the money.
Also great restaurant open also to the main boulevard.

Room Tip: Parking is extra Euro 20 - better to find a parking close-by if you have a car or reserve in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Hotel is in a fantastic location -right on the Cours Mirabeau. Not great if you want to drop your car and luggage though - especially if it's a market day. We found it easier to park in a building and lug our bags to the hotel.
The room was lovely - classic decorative room with large bath and terrace. But the wifi was patchy and once you were shown to your room - that was about it.
The staff were not particularly helpful or fluent in English and you are very much left to yourself to figure things out - like how to find the guest entrance to the street without having to dodge waiting staff and diners.
Having said that - the rooms were charming and the location more than made up for any frustration.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We chose the most expensive room type given it was a 3 star hotel and we weren't disappointed. We often stay in cheap rooms in expensive hotels and vice versa.

As others have said the hotel is located on the main street (Cours Mirabeau) and backs onto the old town. The front is a restaurant / cafe which you walk through to get to the rooms and a small terrace.

Our room overlooked the terrace and it was peaceful and charming. The room was rather large at the back of the property, it actually had a long hallway between the bathroom and separate toilet making the room feel even larger. The room, decorated in provincial style, was actually better decorated than other higher star hotels were stayed at.

There is no lift however we had a waiter from the restaurant (who also doubled as a driver to take our car to the garage) take our large bags to our room. Some did have limited English but we managed and lots of smiles were exchanged.

Wifi was free and just password protected, much easier when you have multiple devices.

It doesn't come with all the added extras but if you're just after a good hotel room to allow you to explore Aix this is it. Given what we paid we'd happily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wonderlusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Bastide du Cours is really a restaurant with some rooms to let. Its location on Cours Mirabeau is very convenient and central, but that's it.

Our room was on the 4th floor and the hotel does not have an elevator. This is a challenge if you have luggage (or even if you don't).

The managers were always very busy with restaurant activities, and we had to compete for their attention. One of them did not speak any English, and that was challenging. Most hotels would help you book tours, but this one directed us to the tourist office (at a convenient distance).

The building is kind of charming, but the room and bath could have been cleaner. We had to walk through a smelly courtyard to access our room.

The wifi did not work in our room and was spotty even in the dining area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pritha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Hotel is near impossible to find. There is no elevator and we were given a room on the 4th floor....which can be a surprise if you bring significant luggage. The front desk personnel were very helpful. There was no wi-fi as advertised. Another couple had a room in the back which had sticky rugs and a dirty terrace. The bathrooms are beautiful but not very functional....no showers that work. Would not recommend the restaurant beyond cafe or espresso. Beds are awful....mattresses may pre-date this 18th century structure. The restaurants in the old town serve food for tourists....do not expect to find decent cuisine in this area of Aix en Provence.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Gantes
Hotel de Gantes
#45 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#18 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Augustins
Hotel des Augustins
#30 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#25 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#35 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Artea
Hotel Artea
#26 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastide du Cours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastide du Cours

Property: Bastide du Cours
Address: 43/45/47 Cours Mirabeau, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Hotel Class:2 star — Bastide du Cours 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bastide du Cours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastide Du Cours Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing