We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different and special in the heart of Aix”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something different and special in the heart of Aix”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

L'epicerie is a very special place run by Luc who is as charming as the hotel he has created. The room was great - small but perfectly laid out for our short stay needs. The location is perfect - right in the heart of the action but away from any traffic noise. The breakfasts are gorgeous - a number of jams and dairy options made by Luc himself that are dreamy and inventive with the freshest bread and great coffee served in the stunning herb garden at the back. Real and informal service - not for people who like concierges and room service but definitely for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeIvall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    55
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
134
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Impruneta, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My girlfriend and I sent an email to L'Epicerie asking for a bedroom for one night in Aix en Provence. They replied us that they had I bedroom and we confirmed our reservation.
When we arrived in Aix en Provence, a month later, we found a surprise we could never expect. The proprietary arrived at 5.20pm (the checkin time is from 5.00pm) and invited us in. Then, he checked our reservation and pretended that he sent an email to which we didn't answer. He said he sent us a contract to be signed (I have never been in a B&B which asks to sign contracts!!) and we didn't reply him.
However, in a few seconds, he found an accommodation for us. He called a friend of him, asking for a bedroom and "surprisingly" she said she had a bedroom. Unfortunately, the bedroom was quite our from the city center and they asked 100euros for 1 night.
It sounds to me like l'Epicerie usually goes overbooking and has a sort of wayout in this poor, expensive and non-worthy "friend" who has a b&b...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frenkbaruffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Luc runs this charming B&B with grace and charm. The 2 suites are both roomy and beautifully furnished and each has a lovely view. AC works perfectly and there is a delightful courtyard garden complete with lavender, lounge chairs and a friendly cat. The location is perfect with many good restaurants an easy walk away. We did not use the nearby underground parking. Do bring your own shampoo. Arrival time is between 5 and 7 pm only. Be sure to ring the buzzer if you don't see Luc. Your reservation is not guaranteed until you sign the contract. Luc is honest and very nice. Be sure to make reservations at Le Poivre D'Ane.

Room Tip: The 2 suites are both delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The rooms were very large and the bathroom modern. Breakfast was delicious in the beautiful garden. The location is excellent -- right in the old city but on a quiet side street. The owner went out of his way to stay around to let us in earlier than he usually does which we appreciated very much. It was very nice to have air conditioning since it was quite hot.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFOvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

One block from the Place des Cardeurs, the heart of Aix en Provence after dusk, we enjoyed the serenity of a country style suite overlooking a beautiful little garden, the perfect compromise between shabby chic furniture and modern amenities like TV and perfect wi-fi. The Epicerie is a very special place made even more special by its host Luc who personalize provencal hospitality.
Very good breakfast and unbelievable decoration!

Room Tip: The suites are the real deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jattal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed for 7 nights at L'epicerie and ended up testing their three different rooms! They were all wonderful (all had french country shabby chic), my favorite was pain d'epices. Luc (the owner) definitely has put so much into the renovation of the place and also its decoration. Not just these, but he is a really friendly person, very helpful and full of great trip suggestions. I loved his quince gele, the fig and the ananas-coco were also great. Maria (the main helper of Luc), she was quite entertaining too, during our common breakfasts. All the rooms are air conditioned and the hotel is very close to an underground parking structure called Park Cardeurs, 15 euro max/day. The hotel is in the best location in Aix one can imagine, right by a great cafes scene, flower market, grocery market and the town hall. We made daily drives to the towns and hilltop villages around and this was one of my favorite trips. I think we have to go back to Aix and stay at L'epicerie again!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank francophile-bute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

A friendly, quirky bed & breakfast with four individually decorated rooms right in the centre of Aix. In warm weather breakfast is taken in the quiet courtyard garden – and Luc’s home-made fig jam is to die for !!! L’ Epicerie is only half a block from the Forum des Cardeurs – which is full of great little restaurants. Only minutes away is the Saturday Rue Mejanes flower market, and Rue Gaston de Saporta reputedly the best place to shop for genuine locally made souvenirs. We loved our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#14 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#9 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
632 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
765 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville

Property: L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville
Address: 12 rue du Cancel, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Epicerie - Une Chambre En Ville Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing