We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must stay!!!!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed here with my husband, and my sister and her boyfriend for two nights. We absolutely LOVED this place. Where do I start...

1- the place is simply adorable. The owner has a fabulous and quirky sense of french provincial style and so the place looked amazing.
2 - the place was clean, and the beds super comfortable with large rooms and lovely modern bathrooms.
3 - Breakfast here is an institution - the jams will simply change your life! Look out for the apricot and plum, I believe. WOW!
4 - the location is perfect for exploring the old town of Aix - there is a gorgeous little piazza right down the laneway from the hotel. Everything else is in walking distance.
5 - The owner (I can't remember his name, but he was soooo lovely!) went out of his way to ensure our stay was fantastic. He gave us recommendations for dinner, etc.
I would also highly recommend checking out the food market, buying up lots of cheese, tomatoes, bread, dips, fruits, etc and then taking it back to the hotel for lunch and sitting at the picnic table at their lovely garden out back. The owner came over and loaned us plates and glasses for our rose we bought. It was just divine!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njchristiansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    54
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
134
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I just returned from traveling Provence. Our last stop was Aix en Provence and after two weeks in small towns and villages we were not expecting traffic jams. We arrived in Aix just as people were taking their mid-day break so the roads were very busy. I had used mapquest for directions to our hotel (L' Epicerie) and they quickly became useless once we arrived in the heart of the city and made a wrong turn. After about an hour I called the owner of L' Epicerie, Luc and told him we were lost and we were in our car on a pedestrian street. He asked for the cross streets location and told us to wait and he would come to us!

This was an amazing act of kindness and was only just the beginning of a lovely stay in his charming chamber located off a grand plaza filled with restaurants and people. L'Epicerie is on a quiet street just across from a neighborhood park. There are only five rooms making it an intimate yet very quiet experience. Luc's family photos and furniture gave the chamber a warm and comfortable feel. We loved having a glass of wine in the quirky and charming backyard which had a lovely garden with lavender and herbs. In the morning a light breakfast is complimentary and everyone sits at a common table as if you were at home. It was a nice time to meet people and learn of their travels.

Luc...thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MommaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The situation of l'epicerie in the old town is great for seeing Aix. It's a bit shambollic in that the owner Luc does not live on the premises so relies on his assistant to run the B and B in the few hours she is there. This causes some issues with check in although we had been given a code to let ourselves in. The garden is a bit shabby but has a certain charm too. Our room Canelle was the biggest of the four and was what we expected. Breakfast is just bread jam and coffee in the dining area filled with collectors paraphernalia. We found is comfortable Friendly and charming but I guess it might not be to every bodies taste. The free wifi connection is excellent throughout.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CyndyPurchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

What I really loved about this b&b was our room (Calisson room I think). You could tell a lot of effort had gone into making them really beautiful. The location was also really good (although we had an entertaining time finding it sans GPS). It was really central with lots of great restaurants and bars right on your doorstep (Luc was be able to recommend some good places to eat & things to see). As some people mentioned we didn't think the breakfast was quite up to the standard of some of the other places we stayed but perfectly adequate for what we needed. If you have a car there's a parking building just around the corner from the b&b.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_traveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband & I stayed in the Vanille room, whilst our friends had the Calisson suite. Both rooms were lovely and charming - I loved our bathroom. The wardrobe door was broken but we didnt need to use it so it wasnt a problem. It's in a great location, in the heart of Aix and right by a car park. There are stairs and no lift, but it's an old building in an old town so I wouldn't expect anything else - it's only a problem if you had mobility issues. Breakfast was in the lovely Epicerie - it is simple (mainly bread with jam and coffee - and no decaf!), but that's quite typically French. We only stayed one night, but would have liked longer in Aix & the B&B!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We spent one night at L'epicerie in the Vanille room. The B&B, while having a completely nondescript entrance, was charing once inside. After schlepping our bags up the stairs, we found a beautiful, if simple room, with an excellent shower and comfortable beds. The bathroom was recently remodeled with colorful tilework, and nice wooden floors in the bedroom. The room was quiet and private with a rustic charm. Nearby parking was convenient, although it was difficult to unload our bags on the one-way street.

The only sour note was the poor breakfast. While we had read on TA that the breakfasts run by Luc were delicious, Maria provided only store-bought bagettes with butter and jam. We felt let down, and were put off by the somewhat rude service. Luc was very welcoming when we arrived and spoke good english. But be sure to get the door access code, because he is frequently not there and no one will let you in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this wonderful town. The B&B is very well located but the owner is coasting when compared with the efforts of other owners in France, Spain and Italy whose facilities we experienced. Breakfast was inadequate and we supplied our own fruit and yoghurt after day1. Maria the breakfast lady tries hard and is fun but she only has bread and jam to work with plus a daily cake or pastry. The garden has potential but has been let go and is partly occupied by old furniture and other bits and bobs.
We enjoyed the overall experience (after all, we were in Aix!!)but it could have been so much better. At 130E per night it wasn't cheap.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pies2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#9 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#6 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#12 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville

Property: L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville
Address: 12 rue du Cancel, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Epicerie - Une Chambre En Ville Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing