We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and Old Fashioned Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

What a hotel. It's a journey back in time. You are surrounded by antiques and memorabilia in a hotel that also has all modern facilities. It is not a pastiche, but the real thing. The service and breakfast from Maria was excellent and she always found time for a chat. The rooms are simply beautiful and you are seconds away from everything that Aix's Old Town has to offer. We visit AIx quite often and will stay again, but this time will make sure we eat dinner. Once you have found a place like this, you don't choose elsewhere.

Room Tip: We chose a room overlooking the garden, but all are rather special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexNicoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed here for four nights. The room was comfortable and very cleaned. The staff was helpful, attentative and friendly. The breakfast was very very nice and an excellent location.
i really enjoed it. Overall it was very good value and i would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We visited this wonderful place last weekend for one night and just loved it! It is such a special B&B with beautiful rooms and right in the centre of the old town. The character of this B&B is very special with lots of history and quirky decor. We had three rooms each beautiful with its own unique name and style. The B&B was very clean and the bathrooms were wonderful! Lots of hot water and big powerful shower heads in beautifully tiled wet room style showers. There is a lovely outside garden where you can sit and breakfast was done beautifully by the lovely Maria. Fresh breads and homemade jams by Luc the owner (green tomato jam was especially nice) scrambled eggs and homemade biscuits. It was a delight to stay here and I only wish we could of stayed longer.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Molly_jane1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed here with my husband, and my sister and her boyfriend for two nights. We absolutely LOVED this place. Where do I start...

1- the place is simply adorable. The owner has a fabulous and quirky sense of french provincial style and so the place looked amazing.
2 - the place was clean, and the beds super comfortable with large rooms and lovely modern bathrooms.
3 - Breakfast here is an institution - the jams will simply change your life! Look out for the apricot and plum, I believe. WOW!
4 - the location is perfect for exploring the old town of Aix - there is a gorgeous little piazza right down the laneway from the hotel. Everything else is in walking distance.
5 - The owner (I can't remember his name, but he was soooo lovely!) went out of his way to ensure our stay was fantastic. He gave us recommendations for dinner, etc.
I would also highly recommend checking out the food market, buying up lots of cheese, tomatoes, bread, dips, fruits, etc and then taking it back to the hotel for lunch and sitting at the picnic table at their lovely garden out back. The owner came over and loaned us plates and glasses for our rose we bought. It was just divine!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njchristiansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I just returned from traveling Provence. Our last stop was Aix en Provence and after two weeks in small towns and villages we were not expecting traffic jams. We arrived in Aix just as people were taking their mid-day break so the roads were very busy. I had used mapquest for directions to our hotel (L' Epicerie) and they quickly became useless once we arrived in the heart of the city and made a wrong turn. After about an hour I called the owner of L' Epicerie, Luc and told him we were lost and we were in our car on a pedestrian street. He asked for the cross streets location and told us to wait and he would come to us!

This was an amazing act of kindness and was only just the beginning of a lovely stay in his charming chamber located off a grand plaza filled with restaurants and people. L'Epicerie is on a quiet street just across from a neighborhood park. There are only five rooms making it an intimate yet very quiet experience. Luc's family photos and furniture gave the chamber a warm and comfortable feel. We loved having a glass of wine in the quirky and charming backyard which had a lovely garden with lavender and herbs. In the morning a light breakfast is complimentary and everyone sits at a common table as if you were at home. It was a nice time to meet people and learn of their travels.

Luc...thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MommaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The situation of l'epicerie in the old town is great for seeing Aix. It's a bit shambollic in that the owner Luc does not live on the premises so relies on his assistant to run the B and B in the few hours she is there. This causes some issues with check in although we had been given a code to let ourselves in. The garden is a bit shabby but has a certain charm too. Our room Canelle was the biggest of the four and was what we expected. Breakfast is just bread jam and coffee in the dining area filled with collectors paraphernalia. We found is comfortable Friendly and charming but I guess it might not be to every bodies taste. The free wifi connection is excellent throughout.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CyndyPurchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

What I really loved about this b&b was our room (Calisson room I think). You could tell a lot of effort had gone into making them really beautiful. The location was also really good (although we had an entertaining time finding it sans GPS). It was really central with lots of great restaurants and bars right on your doorstep (Luc was be able to recommend some good places to eat & things to see). As some people mentioned we didn't think the breakfast was quite up to the standard of some of the other places we stayed but perfectly adequate for what we needed. If you have a car there's a parking building just around the corner from the b&b.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi_traveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#15 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,149 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#9 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Augustins
Hotel des Augustins
#21 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maison Dauphine
Maison Dauphine
#9 of 73 in Aix-en-Provence
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville

Address: 12 rue du Cancel, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £71 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your L'epicerie - Une chambre en ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Epicerie - Une Chambre En Ville Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing