We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arbois
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Bordeaux
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Really nice surprise”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed here because the 4 star hotel I usually use was full. What a nice surprise. This hotel is much better than the 4 star down the street! The entire hotel is new and modern. The room was nicely appointed and perfectly clean. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well while being silent (huge plus). It was very hot while I was there. The room service was quick and the food good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The jacuzzi on the roof looked great. I only stayed away because it was too hot outside. I didn't try the pool, though it looked nice. Definitely not in the center of town but well located if you are on the move in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BordeauxPeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    124
    39
    17
    8
See reviews for
24
101
18
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

- the location is 10 min far from the city center Aix en Provence. Good for travelers who would like to drive around Provence like us.
- very good breakfast. A lot of options...
- very helpful staff.
- adequate room-comfort.
- improvement needed for dinner menu and service-speed (probably not enough number of staff)

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HayriCansever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel on Thursday March 15, 2012. The receptionist was very sweet and helpful when we checked in on the morning of the 15th and the rooms were clean as were the toilets. The two complaints I have of this hotel are:
Firstly, it is quite far from the city centre, so you definitely need a car, which we had.
Secondly, during our travels, quite often we would buy a bottle of wine from the area and try it in our room. When we asked the two ladies at the bar/restaurant (which was empty) in the evening if we could borrow the corkskrew for a few minutes, they were quite abrupt and one said "let me remind you we charge a corkage fee for that", and then they turned away. In the three weeks that we travelled around France and Italy we stayed in approx. twelve 3 and 4 star hotels and not one of them refused to let us borrow the corkskrew for a few minutes, to open a bottle and drink wine in our room. I have to say I was quite disappointed with their attitude.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelarbois, Responsable réception at Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arbois, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,

First of all and on behalf of the Hotel Manager, I thank you for this feedback but, in the mean time, I apologize for this inconvenient.
In the past, we used to deal with customers asking for a corkskrew for a bottle of wine: as we got a bar and a restaurant, we decided to leave certain instructions to the staff. I do apologize if the lady was a kind of rude but she had the instruction to inform you, such as other guests, that we could charge a corkage for this request.
As you felt disappointed about this experience, we decided to change our policy for the future and make our customers enjoy their own bottle of wine.

With best regards,
The Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

A nice hotel for the price with friendly staff. The room is clean and modern with a nice shower. As usual there is a lack of decent English TV channels but as I was not there to watch TV this hardly mattered. The outdoor pool area is nice if a little compact. Breakfast we ok, not a massive buffet, but enough to fill you up. My only negative was that on the second day they decided to close the resteraunt, no reason given (it was a week day). This meant I had to go elsewhere. It is located fairly close to the airport (15 mins drive) and is centrally located for the toll roads if you want to head North to the Alps or South/South east for the coast, I got was in Marsielle within 35 minutes and got to the south of the Alps within 1.30 mins. The same time it takes to get to St Tropez if you head SE. All in all quite happy with the experience.

Annoyingly the Spa was also closed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGA8, Responsable réception at Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arbois, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Dear Mr. J.,

Allow us first to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your opinion matters to us and be sure we will take your remarks into consideration to improve our quality of service. Our team members do their best to reach your expectations and reach the highest level of satisfaction.

In regards to your remarks, kindly note that the SPA is always locked because its access is upon reservation. Should you have wished to use the SPA, you would have had to go to the front desk or call our front desk team to book for it, and only then would the keys be given to you. We are sorry that you did not get this information at your check-in.

Moreover, the restaurant is open everyday for dinner and only weekdays for lunch. If your stay was during the month of November, the only date where the restaurant was closed was November 10th dinner and 11th lunch, and the reason is because that was during a major bank holiday in France. For instance, our front desk team which was here would have been able to give you that reason if you had come to them as they were properly informed.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you at the Best Western Hotel de l'Arbois again soon, and we remain at your disposal for further information.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trikala
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Nice hotel but you have to take the autoroute to be there so in my opinion a bit far and difficult to find. The staff were very polite and helpful ; free wifi and free parking are also a plus

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

very comfortable, clean with cosy bedding. staff very friendly and helpful. bathroom was ok... free wifi and parking. the pool is quite nice too.
minus: breakfast! don't pay for that, go somewhere else instead.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank ausseertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The hotel is situated at about 10 km from Aix-en-Provence city center. You need a car (there is a free private parking) to move around, and a GPS to find the hotel. Very friendly staff, very comfortable and clean rooms (with free wifi internet, cofee/tea maker, ...). There is also an outdoor swimming-pool (that looks fine, though we didn't use it). It is a very quiet hotel, and a good starting point to explore Aix-en-Provence, Marseille and its surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani_Barcelona34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
5.9 mi away
Ibis Aix en Provence
Ibis Aix en Provence
#13 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
981 reviews
5.7 mi away
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
#12 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
615 reviews
11.9 mi away
Mercure Aix en Provence Ste Victoire
Mercure Aix en Provence Ste Vict...
#15 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel le Galice
Best Western Hotel le Galice
#19 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
529 reviews
6.0 mi away
Novotel Aix en Provence Beaumanoir Les 3 Sautets
Novotel Aix en Provence Beaumano...
#24 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
522 reviews
5.2 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arbois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arbois

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arbois
Address: 97 Rue du Docteur Aynaud | La Duranne, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France (Formerly Best Western Hotel De L'Arbois)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arbois 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Best Western FR, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arbois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing