We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super edge of the pavement cafe in modest but charming area of Aix”
Review of Carton Rouge - CLOSED

Carton Rouge
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A small cafe & fine wine bar just near cours mirabeau in Aix en Provence. Only 26 seats to eat with an outside quit little street you can have a break. Home made, fresh, typical, with a good music. Le Carton Rouge.....THE soul kitchen to be part of. Take part of the monday night wine, tapas & music nights. Come eat fresh home made tapas & share wine glasses with friends.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Super edge of the pavement cafe in modest but charming area of Aix”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Like many of the other reviewers almost found the restaurant by accident - however an eagle eyed member of our party of 6 spotted some interesting wines available and all of us could see plates of delicious looking food coming out of the kitchen. Small menu with not much for a true vegetarian - all meals were delicious and so were the wines chosen - although more expensive than we would have liked - matched well and were enjoyable. The sole waitress managed to squeeze some tables together to ensure we were able to fit in to eat straight away and continued to provide an excellent and attentive service all evening despite being on her own. Dishes were introduced and explained by the chef and my favourite part of the meal was trying all three deserts which were on the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Impossible not to enjoy”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stumbled on this place by chance and were very glad we did; utterly charming staff, great food, lovely setting and refreshingly unpretentious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteandSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Positively charming”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Despite arriving without a reservation, they went out of their way to find us a table. The food menu, albeit limited in vegetarian options, is very of the region and executed fantastically. The owners we're extremely welcoming despite it being a very busy night and still found the time to discuss the wines. If you're looking for a cosy restaurant with great food and wine that won't rush you out the door, then this is it! This has easily become one of my favourite spots in Aix.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Prisca_C8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bizarre service, odd spot”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We phoned to book a table at 8.45pm but were told one cannot book a table after 8pm. We were told they would call us when someone had left and a table became available. No time indication given. We went out and had a few drinks. Waiting for a call... Hungry... Waiting.... And waiting... Bizarre set up. Attitude on phone was rude, laissez faire and dismissive. Walked past at 8.15 and they were empty. Plats at 18 euros each looked expensive given the type of place, rustic wood, sterotype wine bar, zero imagination, dark, early 90s. Surely we had all that 20 years ago?Yaaaawn. Went to restaurant La Familia instead where we had a warm welcome, fantastic food, lovely atmosphere. Warm.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Lovely little menu, great wine. Good food - very French and not for veggies! Small, intimate, and pleasing. On the expensive side though and service can be slow but we didn't mind as the owners and the place so charming.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francecine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carton Rouge also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing