We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience”
Review of Hotel Paul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Paul
Ranked #51 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The worst hotel ever! The rooms are old and poorly preserved. It seems that the building has structural problems: the floor and walls arent leveled (small hills inside the bedrooms).However, the worst at all is the treatment given by the recepcionist/owner. Extremely rude!

In the web site it is written that this hotel accepts credit card. But it is not true. Caution!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucianaGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

I would stay at Hotel Paul again, my experience and expectations were that it was a lower-end budget hotel in a location handy to Aix and it certainly was that. There is no free internet, air-conditioning or elevator that you may want (and pay for) elsewhere. However, I had a clean twin room and no curfew for not much more than I would have paid for a hostel room sharing with 3 other travelers. The man on the reception was friendly and courteous, you can opt to have breakfast (petit dejeuner) every day in the courtyard garden which was pleasant though you could quite easily walk the 5 minutes into Aix and buy fruit at the market, pastries at the boulangerie or something from the supermarket. Ask for a room away from the busy road. There is no air-conditioning here so if you suffer with heat be aware if you have a room over the street and need to open the window for ventilation it is NOISY. I would recommend this hotel if you are a young traveler wanting a clean central room but without the noise and partying sometimes present at a hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARiviera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Because I was a late registrant for an international conference in Marseille, the only rooms available were either very expensive ones in Marseille's city center or reasonably priced ones about 30 minutes away in Aix. I opted to be more thrifty and stay in Hotel Paul, despite some of the reviews that I have seen on tripadvisor. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel - the proprietor was friendly and made sure that I was comfortable in my room, and the room was not as small as many that I have seen in much more expensive hotels. I slept soundly and comfortably all three nights that I was in residence, and would not have any problem staying here again if needed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank intrepidvoyager01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

what to say about paul.... no credit card accepted (because the bank gets comission!!!) the rooms were small, dirty, old. There were no pillows... only a large sausage pillow for the whole double bed... when I asked for a normal pillow, there was not one available... Internet charged!!! bathroom dirty, with hair around...

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellerb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I spent a couple of nights here and it was fine. The hotel is fairly central but not right in the heart of Aix - it's just outside the ring of boulevards that encircle the old town.

I suspect that, at this hotel more than most, how well you sleep really depends on which room you get. I booked late and got the last room going, which looked out onto the street. It's near a fairly noisy junction, which isn't a major problem if you have earplugs, but could well be if you don't. A room facing the garden would obviously be better.

The two members of staff I met were ever so slightly odd, but the service was fine. If anything, it added to the hotel's rather peculiar flavour. It's not the best hotel you'll ever stay at, but it's good value and fine for a night or two.

Room Tip: Everyone says try and get a garden room - good call
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soyuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We arrived in Aix de Provence with nowhere to stay, we went to the tourist office and they found the last room at hotel Paul, the hotel is the otherside of where the tourist office is and took us about 10 minutes to walk there (with bags) on arrival we had a warm greeting, our room was basic but had everything we needed. The hotel was close to the main square and was convenient for us, we went back a few days later on our return leg and this time stayed in a twin room, this over looked the main road so was noiser than our first room but it was still a good experience and very good value for money. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brum1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

The location of hotel is actually not that centre of aix-en-provence (though the town is small), it took me 15 mins to walk from bus station to the hotel. The room is nice and clean, comfortable to stay. However it is ridiculous not be able to pay by foreign credit card, and also it charged 2.5 euros wifi per hours....

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
2.2 mi away
Auberge Bourrelly
Auberge Bourrelly
#55 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
77 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Clos de Celony
Le Clos de Celony
#33 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#56 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Appart'Hotel Odalys L'Atrium
Appart'Hotel Odalys L'Atrium
#41 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
236 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aix Hotel
Aix Hotel
#54 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Artea Aix Centre
Hotel Artea Aix Centre
#40 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paul

Address: 10 avenue Pasteur, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £51 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Paul 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing