We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better places in Aix”
Review of Hotel Paul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Paul
Ranked #54 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“There are better places in Aix”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This hotel was clean and basic, but for the same price you can stay at nicer hotels in Aix right in centre ville. I am a student in Aix, and I have had friends stay in Hotel Paul several times as well. The staff are not at all friendly and wifi is ridiculously expensive. It is not a charming hotel, you can do better!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    34
    46
    13
    12
See reviews for
9
60
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Positive points: it is about 15 a 20 min by foot from central train station and close to city center and tourist points. There is supermarkets near. Quiet hotel and neighborhood. Friendly staff. Reasonable price for Aix-en-provence.
Negative points: wifi is not free. There isn't a 24h reception.
In general is a good place to stay, reasonable price for Aix-en-provence, the wifi should be free.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gbrm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This hotel is definitely basic, but for a trip to Aix where we spent very little time in our room it was fine. The price cannot be beat. We stayed in the triple room on the top floor. Even though it was only 25-27 C the room was very very hot and stuffy. The two fans did not help circulate the air because one room only had a tiny window. I would not stay in this hotel in the peak heat of the summer! Also the bathroom is quite small for 3 people sharing, especially the shower!
Otherwise, the hotel is very well located just outside the historic centre. It is within walking distance to the TGV and bus stations.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghana-go-quickly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aix-en-Provence hotels

Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The worst hotel ever! The rooms are old and poorly preserved. It seems that the building has structural problems: the floor and walls arent leveled (small hills inside the bedrooms).However, the worst at all is the treatment given by the recepcionist/owner. Extremely rude!

In the web site it is written that this hotel accepts credit card. But it is not true. Caution!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucianaGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes
Level Contributor
116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I would stay at Hotel Paul again, my experience and expectations were that it was a lower-end budget hotel in a location handy to Aix and it certainly was that. There is no free internet, air-conditioning or elevator that you may want (and pay for) elsewhere. However, I had a clean twin room and no curfew for not much more than I would have paid for a hostel room sharing with 3 other travelers. The man on the reception was friendly and courteous, you can opt to have breakfast (petit dejeuner) every day in the courtyard garden which was pleasant though you could quite easily walk the 5 minutes into Aix and buy fruit at the market, pastries at the boulangerie or something from the supermarket. Ask for a room away from the busy road. There is no air-conditioning here so if you suffer with heat be aware if you have a room over the street and need to open the window for ventilation it is NOISY. I would recommend this hotel if you are a young traveler wanting a clean central room but without the noise and partying sometimes present at a hostel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARiviera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Because I was a late registrant for an international conference in Marseille, the only rooms available were either very expensive ones in Marseille's city center or reasonably priced ones about 30 minutes away in Aix. I opted to be more thrifty and stay in Hotel Paul, despite some of the reviews that I have seen on tripadvisor. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel - the proprietor was friendly and made sure that I was comfortable in my room, and the room was not as small as many that I have seen in much more expensive hotels. I slept soundly and comfortably all three nights that I was in residence, and would not have any problem staying here again if needed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intrepidvoyager01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerkyra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

what to say about paul.... no credit card accepted (because the bank gets comission!!!) the rooms were small, dirty, old. There were no pillows... only a large sausage pillow for the whole double bed... when I asked for a normal pillow, there was not one available... Internet charged!!! bathroom dirty, with hair around...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellerb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#59 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
73 reviews
0.8 mi away
Appart'Hotel Odalys L'Atrium
Appart'Hotel Odalys L'Atrium
#39 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Caravelle
Hotel La Caravelle
#40 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel En Ville
Hotel En Ville
#51 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
79 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Mozart Hotel
Le Mozart Hotel
#11 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Artea
Hotel Artea
#28 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paul

Property: Hotel Paul
Address: 10 avenue Pasteur, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Paul 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing