We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay and explore Provence!”
Review of La Grande Bastide

La Grande Bastide
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aix-en-Provence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Grande Bastide
Ranked #26 of 74 Aix-en-Provence B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My mother and I stayed at this chambre d'hotes for three nights last May. The weather wasn't perfect, in fact it rained two out of the three days that we had to explore Aix and the surrounding area, but it didn't stop us from enjoying ourselves. From the upstairs patio, where a delicious breakfast of cheeses, croissants, confiture, dried meats, etc., is served outdoors, one can see Mont St. Victoire! The property is located in Les Milles, a small neighborhood about a 5 minute drive from Aix. It was very quiet and in a nice community. Down the street, the city is re-opening an old tile factory as a WWII memorial because it was an internment camp. We used the property as our base, finding it easy to explore the rest of Provence... we drove to Cassis and through the Gorges du Verdon while we were there. The other guests were also very friendly.

Marie, the patron, is absolutely delightful. She was very friendly and accommodating. Her dog, Ventoux, is also an absolute gem. He is very friendly and protects the property.

I definitely recommend staying here on your holidays ... it is a little off the beaten path, but well worth it for the service and charm of the room!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HannahTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

La Grande Bastide is 20-30 mins away from Aix-en-Provence. If you;re interested in seeing Provence by car, I would really recommend this place. Make sure you have your GPS with you and everything is easy. The town of Gardanne is a special mention here for the Sunday market as is Miramas le vieux, a veautiful little village perched on the top of a hill with some fantastic ice-cream! Both these places are 30 mins away from the B&B.

Marie was really helpful and her breakfasts were hearty - the fruits were to die for.

The rooms are simple, with basic amenities included. The place is best if you have a car and want to have this as a base to explore Provence.

There's also an adorable dog, and if you're a dog-lover, nothing like it!


Did I forget ot mention that this place is amazing value or money !
Would recommend this place whole-heartedly - away from the mad rush of Aix (try finding a parking between 9 and 11 am) and yet in the heart of Provence.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank chaitdesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Pros: Very nice owner. They have a great dog too. Breakfast was delicious - Croissants fresh bread, good jams, good coffee, yogurts and fruit. Huge room and bathroom. Clean.

Cons: No A/C, but as long as you know this going in it is no problem. Also, make sure you arrive in daylight and follow the directions closely. The place is a bit off the beaten path, but easy enough to find as long as you follow the directions.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MNYngPrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Our 6-night stay at this bastide was a very laid-back, relaxing experience. Marie was the perfect hostess, visiting us during breakfast, but not in an intrusive way. Breakfast, by the way, was an absolute joy, served on the patio right outside our room- a generous selection of fruits and cheeses, baguettes and croissants, and of course, cafe au lait and a wide selection of teas. Marie's son Guillaume, whose English was very good, was very available to help with luggage, and to provide advice about the area. Ventoux, the resident, friendly pooch was well behaved, and a pleasant companion. Our room on the upper level was spacious and had a patio overlooking the fields. The bastide is close to the village of Les Milles (a very good restauarnt there was "Au Millois Gourmand"), and a few km SW of Aix-en-Provence, quite accessible by car. All in all, it was a great stay, and we will return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RSfromPriorLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor8313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMI8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlltrgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
7.5 mi away
hotelF1 Aix en Provence
hotelF1 Aix en Provence
#4 of 4 in Meyreuil
33 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Aix en Provence Est Sainte Victoire
6.5 mi away
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
#1 of 1 in Le Tholonet
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
ibis budget Aix en Provence Est Le Canet
3 mi away
Adonis Aix-en-Provence
Adonis Aix-en-Provence
#1 of 1 in Eguilles
251 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grande Bastide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Bastide

Address: 632 Chemin des Deportes, 13290, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all year a Bed and breakfast accommodation in our 4 rooms. Each bedroom has an area of about 300 ft2 and a separate entrance with a terrace. They are located in a house near our own villa. Having a good comfort and a well situated location they are an ideal accommodation for city breaks or longer holydays. Moreover you can be assured of a warm and friendly welcome in our B&B. Our guest house has its own private car park adjacent to the house. It is accessible to people with reduced mobility. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing