We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience and a wonderful welcome”
Review of La Maison d'Aix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Maison d'Aix
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We were driving into Aix and about 6 hours before we arrived, we got a text, asking us to confirm our arrival time. I didn't understand until we arrived, why that was necessary: it's a very small, intimate hotel with only a few rooms and our charming hostess wanted to make sure she was on-site when we arrived.
Finding the hotel was a little tricky as it only has a very small sign on the door.
We drove our car down the small street where the hotel sits and she came out, hauled our luggage inside the hotel and took our car away to a secured parking lot. She was friendly, efficient and and helpful during our stay.
Our room was a nice size for 2 adults, the bed was very comfortable, and there was good internet connection throughout. Our windows opened up to the street, but we had a peaceful sleep and the view in the morning was just lovely.
This is more of a bed & breakfast, in that it serves only breakfast (petit dejeuner) but wow, what a selection and how delicious everything was! Lots of freshly baked bread, ripe fruit, fresh juice, preserves and lots of coffee. We ate everything and it held us till long after lunch.
We had free access to soft drinks, fruit and Nespresso machine during our stay and Alex recommended a funky little restaurant for us that evening, which we enjoyed tremendously.
We were very satisfied and will definitely return.
One small piece of advice: when going out at night, take your room key with you. We didn't realise there would be no one on duty when we came "home" and we had to ring the emergency number (thoughtfully provided on a card along with hotel address and access code to front door), which we felt bad about. We got our key within 5 minutes, so it was no big deal, but next time, we'll bring the key!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyi638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

We spent six nights at this hotel. We are a family of four and took two rooms. The children were on the first floor in the Corset room, in which they were able to accomodate us with twin beds. The room was very nice, with high ceilings and a large window that looked out onto the back courtyard. My husband and I had the Love Suite - lovely, large and with a balcony that looks over the roof tops of Aix.
The entire hotel is luxuriously designed and furnished with attention to every detail. Alex is in charge and she couldn't be nicer. She is pleasure to speak with and help you in any way she can. The owners are no longer on-site. This may perhaps be the reason why I felt my expectations of service weren't entirely met. One reason in particular had to do with a special anniversary outing I was trying to surprise my husband with. Without going into detail b/c I understand "things happen" - there was a lapse in communication and I felt let down that it seemed to be overlooked, and another option would have been appreciated.
Personally, I would classify it as a B&B. Without a doubt, I would recommend La Maison if you are staying in Aix.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank people2people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We were at this hotel from 08/13 to 08/16/2012. Unfortunately our experience started badly. We arrived around midnight and found the hotel closed with no one there. This after I notify the hotel by email that we will arrive around midnight. Who helped us was the receptionist of a simple hotel nearby!!
Otherwise the hotel is nice but nothing exceptional. The room is basic and does not have the items described on the website of Booking.com such as Nespresso and sound system for iphone and ipad.
The breakfast was very good and the receptionist very helpful but we were deeply marked with arrival problems.
We would stay in La Coquillade and we opted for La Maison d'Aix. I think this was not a best option. Think about that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisondaix, Manager at La Maison d'Aix, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor further to your recent stay to La Maison d'Aix.

I was very disappointed to read that you did not have a complete enjoyable stay and that you found some areas of our hotel lacking in terms of services.

We will investigate further on the issue you had on your arrival and It is with a particular attention that I read your remark on this. I wish to extend my apologies for the inconveniences caused to you.
Our Hotel has available staff for check in 24 hours a day.

Nespresso coffee as well as Mariage Frères Tea are available, free of charge 24 hours a day.
We also provide for every room an IPAD on arrival, on request. On Booking.com, all information are true and sincere.

We will be happy to welcome you back to La Maison d'Aix soon and look forward to alter your opinion of our hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Laura Juhen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Our choice was perfect when we decided to stay at La Maison d'Aix. Alex was very gracious, and helped us with reservations and tour confirmations. She was so welcoming and presented a beautiful petit dejeuner each morning. We also loved the peacefulness and the artsy decor! Wish I was there now!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmsCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed for one night. Very accommodating staff. Great breakfast, great room, amazing private spa. Ask about the history of the place. Very interesting. Eclectic taste for all the furnishing. Coordinate parking with the staff, as the street parking is scarce. They will take care of it. Great location with easy access to all the attractions. Not cheap, but good value.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you have large bags, you may want a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank as215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is a beautiful 4 room B&B located in the heart of old town Aix. The decor in both the common areas and the rooms is very nice. The rooms are very large, even by American standards. We stayed in Chambre d'Henriette and loved it. All the amenities you'd want are there, including free wi-fi. The level of service is top-notch, and we would strongly recommend that you take Alex up on her very kind offers to assist with reservations, tours, etc. Every restaurant and tour that Alex recommended was fantastic and there was no question in our mind that the fact that the restaurant reservations were made in the name of Maison d'Aix got us special treatment from the owners. Can't say anything but positives.

One word of caution: if you're driving in to Aix from the west (e.g., Toulouse), be sure and get good directions (definitely not MapQuest). Aix traffic can be very heavy and the road signs are not the most visible. (Not sure but driving in from points east does not seem to be as confusing.)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ted w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

La Maison d'Aix is truly desrving of the accolades of previous posts. We recently spent 3 fantastic days at LMD"A touring the Provence area. Perfectly located within Aix this 4 room hotel/B&B felt more like our own home than a hotel. Architecturally no details have been spared, from the art to the floating bathtub, glass shower even the location of wall plugs, every comfort has been well planned. When we arrived we were greeted by Alex who made our stay just right. From restaurant recommendations, to arranging two guides for us, nothing was a problem and she was only to happy to help. Each moring Alex prepared a beautiful breakfast that included fresh breads, cheeses and a hand prepared fruit plate. The lower level features a relaxing spa which unfortunately we never used, however was beatuiful. Our room was located on the 3rd floor and featured a seperate bath and shower not to mentnion perfect air conditioning. Each night our bed was turned down and chocolates were place on each pillow-the room and house were alway immaculate. LMD"A is truly derserving of it high rating on TA and if you're considering AIX, this is the place to be. I want to thank Alex, Laura and Reim for making our stay in Aix the best stop on our 2 weeks in France.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam12399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
642 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Gallici
Villa Gallici
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
889 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#15 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Aix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Aix

Address: 25 rue du 4 Septembre, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#1 Spa Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £205 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison d'Aix 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison d’Aix takes the stage as one of the Provence’s most prestigious travel addresses. I deally located in the historic « quartier Mazarin » area, a short walk from the Cours Mirabeau, La Maison d'Aix is an exceptional place, with 3 luxurious rooms and a private suite. « Le Corset », « La Chambre d'Henriette », « Love »... Each room is fully dedicated to the comfort of the body and the mind, while enjoying the latest technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your La Maison d'Aix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison d`Aix Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing