We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely b&b in glorious setting near aix” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Bruissanne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aix-en-Provence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Bruissanne
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely b&b in glorious setting near aix”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and wished we'd stayed longer. Sophie is the perfect host and the breakfast was delicious, the room spacious, beautifully decorated and very comfortable bed. Our own patio area meant we could chill out in the peace and quiet and enjoy the view over the garden, listening to the birds. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyndawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
81
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Our 12 days at la Bruissanne was perfect! My husband & I are seasoned travelers & after extensive research selected la Bruissanne as our base to explore Provence. We wanted to stay near Aix, convenient for day trips, but also a serene place to relax. La Bruissanne far exceeded our ideals!

A website can not capture the beauty of this property, which is down a quiet, tree lined lane & behind tall, manicured hedgerows with a secure iron gate. The landscaping is exquisite and well lit in the evening. Each guest room has a private entrance & separate outdoor sitting area. While there were other guests, we rarely saw or heard anyone during our 12 days at la Bruissanne. The rooms are impeccably clean, tastefully furnished in Provencal style, with fine quality linens. "Fanny" is a small, pretty room, detached from the main house, with a large covered sitting area where Sophie brought breakfast each morning. The outdoor heaters are a thoughtful addition for cooler mornings & evenings.

The outdoor kitchen is convenient & well stocked with coffee, teas, dishes & utensils. Perfect for preparing the goodies we found each day at the markets! Sophie is a gracious, thoughtful & knowledgable host, offering suggestions for day trips, restaurants & shopping, along with providing a bookshelf of maps & guide books.

Thank you Sophie for making our stay at la Bruissanne so special!
We look forward to returning & recommend highly for the perfect holiday in Provence.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGoodLife2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We absolutely LOVED our stay at La Bruissanne, Sophie was incredibly welcoming, a wonderful host (others could learn a lot from her!). We stayed in the "Fanny" room, which is independent from the rest of the house with its own private terrace & sheltered area - it was perfect. We were welcomed with a lovely glass of rosé and were given delicious breakfasts every morning. I would love to return and would HIGHLY recommend this b&b to anyone looking to stay in the area.

Room Tip: The "Fanny" room is independent from the main house whilst the other 2 rooms are part of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at La Bruissanne for two nights, and we really love it, you feel in the heart of the countryside but you are just 5 minutes from Aix city center!
Sophie, the owner is very gentle,at the arrival she shows you all the secrets and the facilities of her beatiful house. Our room was the Marius, is big, well decorated and with a lovely outdoor space,where you can see the swimmingpool! The breakfast is good and abundant.
I absolutely recommend it, and we'll love to come again..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laminu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

The Good; A nice house, well decorated and very clean.
The Bad; Showed up on time to a locked gate. Had to go to a neighbor's to use their phone to call Sophie who informed me she was at the beach. She told me she emailed me that morning with the info (we were on a flight from London since 7am!), gave me the gate code and hung up. Ouch. Once in, we were befuddled where to go or how to access our room. We met some other tenants who tried to call her back. I tried to get the email up on my Ipad but we needed a code to access the wireless. UGH! Not how we wanted to start our holiday. When Sophie finally got there she acted like we were not only at fault but slightly stupid ( a theme that resonated through out our stay!). She was a bit short, rude, and superior. We were told a bunch of rules as she showed us around. Our room was quite nice and spacious but felt a bit like a basement room under the main house (where Sophie lived). The best parts; a large lounge, a dining area and a cool area with chairs that light up were "her" domain, the dining area only accessible during the breakfast time. Breakfast was minimal with breads and a berry/cream dish. Sophie was helpful with a restaurant suggestion but didn't know very much about the region she lived in (for example;she was clueless about Chateauneuf-du-Pape, a WONDERFUL wine region just 45 minutes away). Her snide attitude continued over the 3 days we were there. It was very uncomfortable, rolling eyes, snickering behind our backs etc. There were two lovely Italian girls that tried to help us when we first got there that agreed. She overbooked their room and made them stay in a room in her house for their last night and again, made them feel like it was their error (even though she confided in me that they had sent too much money months before! What did she think it was for?!?!). SO although the house in the burbs was nice, Sophie has a lot to learn about running a B&B, namely being there, making guests feel welcome and WANTED, and perhaps, getting better organized.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sharpeigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

La Bruissanne is a charming B&B just on the outskirts of the main city. The property is quiet and relaxing with a heated pool, comfy deck chairs and outdoor kitchen - which made our stay even more enjoyable. The kitchen was sticked with plungers, coffee and tea, as well as a microwave, fridge and ice machine for you to use at your disposal. Our host Sophie was incredible cordial. At the last minute we had decided to make our way to Aix earlier than expected. Even though Sophie was not going to be home she gave us the gate code and arranged for us to have the key to our room even without her there to check us in. We staued in the Marius room which was very spacious and comfortable. The room was beautifully furnished with a sofa, flat screen tv, walk in wardrobe and great shower/bath. The breakfast pastries were fresh and tasty, complimented with a beautiful berry compote and natural yogurt and freshly squeezed OJ. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Bruissane and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere in the world
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

An ok place if you like staying in a suburban residence, lots of surrounding noise as there surrounding houses and roads. Not at all that quiet. Room sizes are properly displayed, however once you actually experience it, you quickly feel like you are back in a dorm in university. Sophie very nice, but the property just feel too much like staying at a friends plays in the suburbs.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltypeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
1.0 mi away
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
#9 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bruissanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bruissanne

Property: La Bruissanne
Address: 283 Chemin du Vallon des Gardes | Le Tholonet, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the path of Cezanne, 5mn from the historical center of Aix en Provence, la Bruissanne warmly welcomes you in a calm and friendly atmosphere in the heart of a leafy park with all the scents of Provence. Our 4 rooms are carefully decorated with all the confort need for a peaceful stay. Whether you choose Marius/150€, Manon/150€, Fanny/130€ or Cesar/120€, all the rooms have their own private entrance with summer lounge ensuring privacy for an afternoon nap or pre-dinner drinks! You can also allow yourself to be charmed by the songs of crickets, try out petanque or simply relax by the pool. An open air/summer kitchen is available. Breakfast consisting of croissants, pains au chocolat, crusty baguettes, cereals, fresh fruits, yogurts and homemade jam will be served on our patio, in the shade of the Micocouliers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing