We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in a great atmosphere”
Review of La Bruissanne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Bruissanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this beuatiful B&B, during which we relaxed at the pool, enjoyed the quiet calm of the suroundings and the hospitality of the host. The B&B is located perfectly for trips to Aix, Aignon, Arles and to go for walks in the surounding hills and mountains. The room Marius, where we stayed first, was spacious and clean, while the room Cesar, our second room, was quiet a bit smaller and therefore a bit pricy. Howeer, both were decorated with taste and had there own little outside area to sit for a drink or read a book. Despite the heat outside the rooms stayed nicely cool. Breakfast consisted of croisant, pain, pastries, juice, coffee and yoghurt with red fruit (ery nice). We highly recommend this B&B!!

Room Tip: For just a bit more money I would choose the room Marius, spacious, calm, cool at night, own outside...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constantijn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for La Bruissanne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay! The house is so beautiful and Sophie is always very kind. By the way she speaks perfect English and this might be important for travelers of different countries. Also the breakfast is top-level. La bruissanne has a heated pool as well but we could not enjoy it because of the bad weather.

Andrea

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank andrea c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Sophie's warm and professional welcome set the tone for an excellent stay at this beautiful property. I can only repeat the last few wonderful reviews, The house is set in a large wooded garden behind gates, it is like staying as a private guest in a country house.
Our room, Cesar, was quite small, but well designed in good taste. It was clean and comfortable, with real mohair blankets. Breakfast was delicious, and advice regarding nearby restaurants or visitng Aix were great.

Sophie's daughter is a wonderful singer-songwriter (we listened on YouTube), and I expect to hear her name around the world soon.

We will warmly recommend a stay at La Bruissanne to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilana27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

La Bruissanne is situated about two miles from the centre of Aix en Provence. It is tucked away down a lovely country lane and stands in its own private gardens. The beautifully equipped rooms have private entrances and guests can enjoy their breakfast privately, enjoying the lovely views of the garden. Everything is done to a very high standard and with panache and luxury! The facilities offered are excellent. There is a little kitchenette situated near to the house where guests can make fresh coffee, tea use the crockery, the microwave and nibble on delicious biscuits. There is a lovely large swimming pool with sun deck and beds for guests to enjoy in the summer months. In the garden room there is a large fridge and washing machine, all on hand for guest use. Sophie, the owner, is so welcoming, very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area. She ensures her guests have a really enjoyable and comfortable stay. A truly wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This property is one of the most beautiful and really has everything you could want. The breakfast is wonderful, the grounds of the property are restful and a delight for the eyes. Sophie was helpful with restaurants, activities. The beds and the bed linens were superb. For English speakers a few channels of anglophile news and internet in a common location was no problem. There is an outdoor kitchen area if you want to eat al fresco or just find a wine glass. At first I thought this property would be too far out of town, but I was completely mistaken. It is a quick and easy ride into Aix for parking and all the activities, then a beautiful, serene place to stay. I would go back and can give no higher recommendation than FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were supposed to rent a car in Nice and drive to La Bruissanne but that fell through when I realized I forgot my driver's license! We called Sophie via skype and she was extremely helpful and spoke great english. You need to take a bus from the Aix TGV Rail Station into town. Its a quick ride and then you can walk up in the city center and catch a cab to La Bruissanne for about 10 euro. We stayed in the "Fanny" cottage on the property and it was lovely. And we had our own sitting room for breakfast every morning. Breakfast was delicious french breads and pastries and creamy yogurt and fresh berries. Coffee was strong and wonderful. Hopefully you're not afraid of crickets because you may encounter some in your cottage. They are harmless! We wish we could've stayed longer and taken advantage of the pool and better weather. Sophie was also kind enough to give us rides into town when they were going. If you're going to Provence, Aix is a wonderful spot right in the middle of the region and La Bruissanne is a beautiful retreat to stay at. Also they have a huge Maine Coon cat named Gatsby who visited us a couple of times. All in all we really enjoyed our time here and in the Provence region. We highly recommend it and will definitely stay here again if we come back to the region.

Room Tip: If you don't rent a car, then budget on spending about 10-12 euros for 2 people each way to the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfabbrolous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed at La Bruissanne in May in Marius. I follow a wheat free diet due to coeliac disease. When I paid Sophie over £300 for 3 nights stay, I wrote in french that I could not eat bread, but could eat fruit, eggs, cheese, yoghurt, french buckwheat pancakes (galettes) etc and would bring my own gluten free bread so as not to inconvenience her. She wrote back a curt note, saying that at La Bruissane they served a "french breakfast of croissants" . I was quite shocked by her inhospitable and unhelpful response. I had stayed in many french b and b's whose owners were always charming and provided a good breakfast. When we arrived she persisted in serving in a basket of croissants and did not even have a bowl of fresh fruit or a piece of cheese on the table as an alternative. It seemed that she was happy to take the money but not make any effort to provide the service. Another inconvenience was that the kettle is kept in an outdoor kitchen at the other side of the house, so if you want a hot drink you have to put a coat over your nightclothes and go through the dark and rain to make a cup of tea, rather like camping. It would be better to provide a kettle in the room.

Room Tip: The rooms are nice but take your own kettle and breakfast if necessary.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirstie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruissanne, Propriétaire at La Bruissanne, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear Kirstie,

Fisrt, I would like to apologize for this huge misunderstanding.

Yes, you had told me about your spécial diet.
I thought that since you had brought your own food and didn't ask for anything specific as I was serving breakfast, you were pleased with our home made yoghurt and its red fruits.
If only you had voiced your expectations, I would have gladly responded to them.

As for the kettle, it is clearly indicated on our website that an "outdoor" kitchen is at the disposal of our 3 rooms.

Lastly, I am sad that you had to wait to leave La Bruissanne to expose your disappointment on this breakfast issue when you never said a word about it when you were here...

Regards,
Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
1.1 mi away
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
#1 of 1 in Le Tholonet
334 reviews
2.0 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
658 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#15 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,128 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Gallici
Villa Gallici
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
439 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bruissanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bruissanne

Address: 283 Chemin du Vallon des Gardes | Le Tholonet, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £118 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the path of Cezanne, 5mn from the historical center of Aix en Provence, la Bruissanne warmly welcomes you in a calm and friendly atmosphere in the heart of a leafy park with all the scents of Provence. Our 4 rooms are carefully decorated with all the confort need for a peaceful stay. Whether you choose Marius/150€, Manon/150€, Fanny/130€ or Cesar/120€, all the rooms have their own private entrance with summer lounge ensuring privacy for an afternoon nap or pre-dinner drinks! You can also allow yourself to be charmed by the songs of crickets, try out petanque or simply relax by the pool. An open air/summer kitchen is available. Breakfast consisting of croissants, pains au chocolat, crusty baguettes, cereals, fresh fruits, yogurts and homemade jam will be served on our patio, in the shade of the Micocouliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Bruissanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing