We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B with Some Negatives”
Review of La Bruissanne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Bruissanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed in Room Marius for two nights. The room was truly lovely with views down to the pool and the surrounding grounds. It was decorated tastefully with lots of thoughtful touches. The breakfast was nice - standard yogurt, breads, and coffee and juice. We enjoyed sitting by the pool after a busy day of sightseeing and the grounds are very pretty.

One of the major negatives was that the room was not made up after our first night. We returned to find our wet towels still in the bathroom, the beds unmade and the small garbage pail still overflowing with the previous night's garbage. All of the other B&Bs that we stayed in during our two week trip in Provence (with the exact same 130 euro rate) included daily maid service and La Bruissanne should incorporate that as well.

Also, there are a lot of rules and compared with the other B&Bs we stayed at, we felt like we were walking on eggshells at times, like remembering that some areas of the B&B are off-limits after certain hours. Additionally, there should be added WiFi routers since we were only able to get WiFi in one area of the B&B which was right outside the main door used by Sophie and her family.

If and when I return to Aix I think I will choose a place more centrally located. We drove into Aix both nights for dinner and had to park our car in an underground parking lot. I think I would have preferred to be able to walk to dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nycgal7227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

We´ve just returned from our trip to Provence and I would like to share a few words about La Bruissanne. We stayed in Marius room for 7 nights and was very satisfied. The property is beautiful and very well maintained. Sophie was great and very helpful with everything we needed. I would really love to come back.

Room Tip: Marius room is the best in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronika s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We very much enjoyed our 4 nights in the Marius room. Room was spacious and lovely. The property was very relaxing- we enjoyed spending time at the pool and playing petanque on their court. It was nice to have a fridge to store food in- we ended up eating lunch by the pool after going to the market in Aix one morning and it was nice to have that option. It was also a good location for day trips- we visited Arles, Lourmarin, and Gordes for example quite easily.
Breakfast was delicious also!
It is definitely a good 20-25min walk from Aix so if you are looking to stay directly in the city this is something to consider. We did walk into the city a few times but ended up cabbing back home after dinner (streets are too narrow to feel comfortable walking along at night). There is also a pay parking lot about 3/4 of the way into the city which shortens the walk considerably. We, however, enjoyed the solitude with being slightly outside of the action.

Room Tip: Marius room has a great view of the pool and the lawn from the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baltimore830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This B&B has spectacular grounds! You are just east of Aix, in the country, but close to town. Once you enter through a private gate you are entranced visually! The grounds are well maintained, there is lovey pool, an outdoor kitchen unit, nd beautiful, relaxing grounds. Our only concern for a stay would be if you really needed access to the Internet. It is supposedly accessible from a stone outdoor bench upstairs, but we had trouble mot days getting on. The owner is charming and very attentive to your needs. Breakfast is delicious bread and homemade yogurt each day. All in all, a truly wonderful get-way!

Room Tip: Pay the few euros extra for the Marius room.large and a beautiful patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmoe42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the La Bruissanne 3.5yrs ago and tried to book in up to 6months in advance to stay here for July 16th 2013. No luck as fully booked back in December of 2012. What a shame for us as we stayed at another B&B that wasnt a patch on this wonderful place. Hopefully Sophia we will get our chance again when we visit Aix En Provence and will be sure to book 1 yr in advance. Thankyou for the lovely experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susieshoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this beuatiful B&B, during which we relaxed at the pool, enjoyed the quiet calm of the suroundings and the hospitality of the host. The B&B is located perfectly for trips to Aix, Aignon, Arles and to go for walks in the surounding hills and mountains. The room Marius, where we stayed first, was spacious and clean, while the room Cesar, our second room, was quiet a bit smaller and therefore a bit pricy. Howeer, both were decorated with taste and had there own little outside area to sit for a drink or read a book. Despite the heat outside the rooms stayed nicely cool. Breakfast consisted of croisant, pain, pastries, juice, coffee and yoghurt with red fruit (ery nice). We highly recommend this B&B!!

Room Tip: For just a bit more money I would choose the room Marius, spacious, calm, cool at night, own outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constantijn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay! The house is so beautiful and Sophie is always very kind. By the way she speaks perfect English and this might be important for travelers of different countries. Also the breakfast is top-level. La bruissanne has a heated pool as well but we could not enjoy it because of the bad weather.

Andrea

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank andrea c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
1.1 mi away
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
#1 of 1 in Le Tholonet
341 reviews
2.0 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
664 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa Gallici
Villa Gallici
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
445 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
643 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bruissanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bruissanne

Address: 283 Chemin du Vallon des Gardes | Le Tholonet, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £116 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the path of Cezanne, 5mn from the historical center of Aix en Provence, la Bruissanne warmly welcomes you in a calm and friendly atmosphere in the heart of a leafy park with all the scents of Provence. Our 4 rooms are carefully decorated with all the confort need for a peaceful stay. Whether you choose Marius/150€, Manon/150€, Fanny/130€ or Cesar/120€, all the rooms have their own private entrance with summer lounge ensuring privacy for an afternoon nap or pre-dinner drinks! You can also allow yourself to be charmed by the songs of crickets, try out petanque or simply relax by the pool. An open air/summer kitchen is available. Breakfast consisting of croissants, pains au chocolat, crusty baguettes, cereals, fresh fruits, yogurts and homemade jam will be served on our patio, in the shade of the Micocouliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Bruissanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing