We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Staff, very nice "in town" hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
sedona, arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Terrific Staff, very nice "in town" hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I cannot say enough about the staff at this hotel.
My wife became ill during our stay and I had to request a Doctor a little before 6 am.
the night clerk made the calls, and accompanied the medics to the room, making sure to tell me that one of them spoke english. The clerk who took over the shift at 7 was fully apprised of the situation (I guess) and took matters into his own hands when he decided that the doctor called for by the medics had not come quickly enough, calling another team of medics and seeing to it that we were taken care of. When I thanked him, he said "that's why we are here".

It's scary to be sick all night in a foreign country, where you speak only a little of the language and are unfamiliar with the local procedures To have the hotel staff be so efficient and helpful, and to have them handling the situation without your even having to follow up, was very reassuring.

With one lone exception (a grumpy waitress at breakfast), the entire staff at this hotel is terrific. The bellmen and doormen, the maids, and the people at the desk are all professional and helpful, whether it's a matter of getting the room cleaned in a timely fashion, bringing the car around, helping with the GPS system, or, as in our case, giving directions to the hospital.


The rooms at the Roi Rene are small but very well designed: they are compact, but comfortable. In our room, on the first floor with a terrace overlooking the pool, there was plenty of light, a comfortable chair a nice desk, closet space, and a very modern and well equipped bathroom.

The pool feels a little claustrophobic, although the area around it is well designed and nicely maintained. It may not be the kind of pool you want to spend hours at, but it's certainly a nice place to take a break at the end of the day.

The breakfast is good value compared to what I've experienced at other hotels in France.
There is a very large assortment to choose from, and the food is all good quality.


There is a little bit of a formal feeling around this hotel; both in the lobby and in the dining areas and bar, and I think it may cater to business people more than leisure travelers, but that doesn't really matter:
This is a really well run, clean, nicely decorated hotel and I would recommend it to anybody planning a visit to Aix-en-Provence.

Room Tip: the rooms are small, so rooms with terraces give a feeling of spaciousness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coyote521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGALLERY, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest,
I sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your beautiful experience during your stay in our hotel. Your comments are very important for us, and our Team. It is helping and motivate our staff, also many thanks for them for writing how helful and efficient they work;
Hope to see you soon,
Elisabeth Mendes Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    317
    92
    20
    7
See reviews for
88
406
39
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
765 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Really clean and convenient hotel a short walk from the main historic centre of Aix. It offers especially good breakfasts and very friendly reception staff who were always helpful. My only criticism is outside the control of the hotel management but the bin emptying seems to be especially noisy here and was immediately outside our room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGALLERY, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at Grand Hotel Roi René.
It is great to learn that you appreciated not only our perfect location in the heart of Aix-en-Provence, but also the comfort of the hotel, and our professionnal and friendly Reception Staff.
We hope to welcome you back again very soon in Aix-en-Provence.
Best Regards,
Elisabeth Mendes Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
206 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have been looking at several options as we stayed in Aix en Provence. The Grand Hotel was our choice since it appeared to be modern, esthetic an sufficiently central for us to walk through the City. The style was exquisite and so was the comfort of the room. The staff wa friendly, courteous and helpful. We enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gugeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGALLERY, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dir Sir, Dear Madam,

We are honored you chose the Grand Hotel Roi René for your stay in Aix-en-Provence.
We would like to thank you for your very nice comments regarding our staff and our Hotel.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience.

Sincerly yours,

Elisabeth Mendes Directrice d’exploitaion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The staff are excellent at this hotel. I was greeted warmly upon arrival with the porter immediately assisting with my luggage. The check in clerk was friendly, efficient and helpful. The lobby was elegantly decorated. The corridors are very clean and obviously newly refurbished. The pool courtyard looks very inviting. Unfortunately, the small size of the room stood in stark contrast with the rest of the amenities of the hotel. Only a shower was available in the basic room (no bathtub) which should not be the case for a hotel that is classified and marketed as a four star hotel. I will say the rooms were very clean but small.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guest1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGALLERY, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we are glad to see that you had a nice stay at Grand Hotel Roi René Aix-en-Provence.

We are going to share your comment with all the staff, who works hard everyday to provide the most wothwhile experience for our Guests.

However we take note of your comment regarding the size of our room, and we apologize for any inconvenience

Best regards,

Elisabeth Mendes, Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Walking distance from everywhere, comfortable room, very quiet, staff helpful and discrete. Could be ok for business or family purposes. Breakfast was really top quality and a bit different from the classical ones: calissons d'Aix, macarons...

Room Tip: Rooms at 1st floor with swimming pool view have balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philippe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGALLERY, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sir ,

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence,
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

I will share your comments with our team. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our new breakfast, composed with fresh seasonal produces, and traditional dishes moreover we hope that the location of our hotel alowed you to visit the historical center of Aix-en-Provence, and others key points of the down town.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best Regards,

Elisabeth Mendes Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is a short walk from the main street of Aix en provence. This certainly explains the rates which I find to be far too high compared to the room you get.

Rooms are indeed barely better than the renewed rooms of the IBIS hotels which are easily half the price if not even lower. Despite looking quite new, the perceived quality of the room is very low and it feels very cheap.

The biggest disappointment was the bathroom. It is composed of only one simple shower (not even a closed one but the type with just a glass panel making the limit with the sink) and when you step on it, it feels like you are stepping on a plastic cube about to break....Every time I stepped on it, I could hear the cracking sound of the plastic... (and i m less than 70 kgs...)
Moreover the water pressure was ridiculous and the shower head hanger was about to fall off....
The bathroom was really identical to a IBIS bathroom except the water pressure was worse....
The separate toilet was not better and it felt very cheap.

The room itself was ok. But again the only difference with a IBIS was perhaps the carpet and the duvet you get. Furniture was very plain and simple and didn t convey at all an image of a higher end hotel, knowing that we were supposedly upgraded from a standard room....

If you come by car be aware that the parking is often full so be sure to book your parking spot ahead or you might have to search for a parking spot in the streets.

The staff was Ok and well groomed and by contrast with the rooms was of a higher end hotel caliber.

Overall I would not come back to this hotel. Rates are very high even for Aix en Provence and the room does not match the quality you can expect from such rates. Rates are 4 star but rooms are barely better than 2 star hotels...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FERU06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#14 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
650 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel

Property: Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Address: 24 boulevard du Roi Rene, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France (Formerly Grand Hôtel Roi René Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#7 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Grand Hôtel Roi René is ideally located at the heart of Cézanne's home town, near to the Cours Mirabeau and the business district. Discover its inviting, contemporary rooms, elegant restaurant serving typical southern cuisine... The patio at the Grand Hôtel Roi René is full of flowers and provides an oasis of calm in this city of 100 fountains, whether you sit on the terrace or by the pool. (MGallery collection) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Aix En Provence
Aix En Provence Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing