We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Amenities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cezanne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cezanne
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
445 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great Location and Amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We sought a nice hotel in a good location, and the Cezanne fit the bill! Small but very well appointed rooms, excellent service, and convenient to walk the center of Aix. Parking free in Hotel garage with reservation. Limited but good menu of food that can be ordered in. Excellent breakfast, with both buffet and made-to-order food for 20 Euros. Wine and more available in lobby (wine on the expensive side), both served by staff and self-serve. Would definitely return if we plan to be in Aix again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paso57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    360
    93
    33
    25
See reviews for
136
558
53
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

I love boutique hotels, and I found them difficult to find on my Provence trip, probably because I booked late in high season, however I just thought Cezanne was so-so. I paid approx $265/night for a "luxe" king room, which, given the glowing reviews I thought was a steal, and maybe it was for the area, but it was a tiny room, and not particularly plush for a boutique hotel. Really, the only thing "boutique" about this hotel is the decor. The best thing about the Cezanne was the location and ability to walk for 5 minutes to Cours Mirabeau. Even though I booked a room with a king bed, the manager working the desk gave me a room with a queen, which I promptly went back and showed her my reservation, and she did change me to a room with a king. There are lots of reviews commenting on the great service here, and although I'm not really one to need much service, I was suprised the manager offered no apology in the room mix up and seemed a bit annoyed that I actually requested the room I reserved.
Pros
Location
Fun and Quirky common areas
Staff speaks perfect English
Parking Garage - can be reserved, but at extra cost
Breakfast on sight but expensive
Easy to drive to because it's off a major road.
Great free internet, able to pick up in room on highest floor.
Cons
Tiny Room - maybe 2-3 feet walking space around bed
Bathroom - only a shower, great shower head, but shower door only covers 1/3 of the shower.
Very lumpy bed - seemed like an old bed, where it sinks in the middle

Room Tip: If you need more space, definitely spring for a bigger room than the luxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwatersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
110 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Last visited Hotel Cezanne in 2006 and were happy to see they have maintained their high standards. The hotel lobby looks trendy and fresh and our room had been upgraded. While the room was small, it was well appointed. Extra towels were always provided on request. Free internet is available and there is an honour system for drinks and coffee.

The hotel now has parking which should be requested at time of booking. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keepongoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

The hotel is clean and modern. The bed was VERY comfortable and the mini bar in the room is complimentary. The location is a bit far (two blocks) from the main plaza, but the up side to that is that it is quiet.

The neighborhood is quiet and friendly. My only negative is that there is no outdoor space to sit and relax.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teejay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

We loved the Hotel Cezanne! The location was perfect, very close to everything but nit right in the middle which was nice because it was quiet. The room was nice (a little small) the bed was a king and absolutely wonderful! The only complaint about our room was the walls were bright orange which was a little over the top. Staff was very helpful and welcoming. It was also nice to have underground parking, just make sure that you request it in writing as directed on the website otherwise you may not get it. We would absolutely stay here again! Aix was such a fun trip!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

I took my mother to France for her 70th birthday and we spent 3 days here in AIX. I was very excited about the hotel and was in communication with them prior to our stay to arrange special accommodations for my mother who uses an electric wheelchair. Unfortunately, when I arrived I was shocked to see that there were 3 stairs leading into the hotel and no other way to enter the building. I was very disappointed as I had been very clear that we would have a wheelchair and I was told that they would be able to accomodate without any issue, that they had first floor rooms and lifts and no stairs. Next I was told that they didn't have parking on site as there's was full. There was also no one to help with luggage or in getting my mom into the room with the wheelchair.

On the other hand, the two women at the front desk were very sweet and apologetic about the problems but there wasn't much at that point they can do. They reccommended restaurants in the area for us as well.

Rooms were clean and somewhat spacious for the area.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Randella22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The concierges were extremely helpful with restaurant and sightseeing recommendations. The room was a junior suite, that was a little small and immaculate. Free soft drinks in the minibar was a definite plus.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbass60668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#13 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cezanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cezanne

Property: Hotel Cezanne
Address: 40 Avenue Victor Hugo, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#6 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cezanne 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cezanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cezanne Hotel Aix En Provence
Cezanne Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing