We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Cezanne: Christiane's Superb Breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Cezanne
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We recently spent about 5 or 6 nights at the Hotel Cezanne in Aix en Provence. This was our second visit in two years. We particularly commend the Hotel Cezanne for their breakfast chef, Christiane. While the hotel is pleasant, well located, and staff are helpful, it was Christiane who brought us back for a second visit. She is a particularly nice lady, very warm and helpful and very dedicated to providing a wonderful food experience for her guests. The breakfasts are always superb. Christiane would come to our table to ask if she could make anything special for us, and describe some of the options possible. These included truffle omelettes, pain perdu with orange flower essence, goat cheese and honey omelettes and a number of other wonderful combinations. Her food is an amazing start to the day - it is also wonderful with a glass of Ruinart champagne, available at no extra charge. Christiane’s breakfasts at the Hotel Cezanne were one of the highlights of the day for us in Aix en Provence. Would we return? Yes, absolutely, if Christiane is there to delight with her wonderful breakfasts. Five stars to Christiane fo her breakfasts!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

I think Trip Advisor is fantastic. We have booked most of our hotels using Trip Advisor and have spent a great deal of time reading the reviews with a critical eye to help us both make choices that suit us and so that we have realistic expectations about what we are booking. We also read hotel websites and our booking information carefully so we are fully informed of what is on offer. So all this said I must admit that I sometimes wonder whether people are staying in the same hotel as me. Hotel Cezanne is an excellent example;

1) We booked parking as both the hotel website and our booking.com reservation told us we should do. We rang a day ahead to confirm. No problems at all. Parking was a breeze, the carpark was easy to find and get into, we don't have a compact and this is Europe, the streets are always small. In fact we found this easier than some of the big parking stations in Italy.
2) the staff were exceptionally helpful, greeted us with a smile at all times, gave us excellent sightseeing and dinner suggestions, lovely meals both nights.
3) the room was absolutely fine for European hotel standards, the bed was incredibly comfortable and the room (overlooking Victor Hugo) was dead quiet with the double glazing, we accidently slept until 9.30am....oops!
4) complementary soft drinks and a self service bar are virtually unheard of yet on offer here, free Wi-Fi with a signal strong enough to allow us to stream an Aussie TV show we wanted to catch up on.

So, on a final note, this hotel surpassed our expectations and we could not recommend it highly enough, Aude on reception and the manager Stefan were absolutely charming.

I have a theory for what it is worth, what goes around comes around. One hears stuff about hotels, people, service and the French. We have not yet had a single experience of any of this, our experience has been fantastic because we greet people with kindness, warmth and courtesy and we get it back in bundles.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank TrentSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We just spent a night at the Hotel Cezanne after a wonderful evening at the nearby Maison D'aix for the same price. For the cost, the amenities and service at the Hotel Cezanne are way under par.
For 350 euros per night, we would expect more than 2 scratchy small towels in the bathroom, bath amenities not worth using, and to be offered the complimentary cocktail upon arrival that is advertised. No turn down service or gracious reception. The room decor is at best Ikea style and the door is adorned with a note offering a morning newspaper for 3 euros. We don't understand how this property received 4 stars - very mediocre and lacking in any kind of luxury. Coffee machine in the hallway. The complimentary mini-bar advertised consists of water and diet coke.

Room Tip: Have not seen the standard rooms but beware there is a wide latitude in standard in the junior suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelmavenMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
First of all, we would like to thank you to choose HOTEL CEZANNE for one of your two nights stay in Aix en Provence.
We would like to come back regarding few points of your review. You reserved a Junior Suit and we came with at your check in to show you the room and explain all the services we propose: free wifi, free business center with Imac 27' and PC with American keyboard, Ipod & Iphone docking station in room, 60 TV international channels, free mini bar ( 2 still water, 1 sparkling water, orange juice, orangina, coca cola, diet coke, coca cola zero / 8 drinks in total), breakfast served until noon with many specialities (champagne Ruinart, truffle omelet, pancake, french toast, fresh fruits, salmon, ...), honesty bar in the lounge, free local and national newspapers, 1000 of international newspapers (cost 3€), and the aperitif offered at your check in (you didn't came back in the lounge to get it). While the visit you should have told us that you might want to visit an another Junior Suit, we are always very pleased to satisfy all the needs of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Without getting into too much detail, the hotel's decor is somewhat unusual without being overdone. Yet our junior suite was quite comfortable with more than sufficient storage and large and very clean bathroom. We were very impressed with the fact that the non-alcoholic drinks in the mini-bar were free and replenished daily. Also, coffee was available all day on each floor. The hotel staff was friendly and all spoke English. The hotel's location was excellent, just a few blocks from the center of town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjlv07b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

It is midnight in Aix en Provence as I am writing this review...yes, I should be sleeping but the problem is - I can't. We were given a room on the first floor next to the reception facing the street. The noise even at midnight is unbearable, we can hear everythig from people walking by laughing to the car and motorcycle noise. You simply can't call yourself a four star hotel and not have sound proof windows on a very busy street!
Here are the pros:
1. Great location
2. Fairly nice rooms, depending on what you get: the suite is very nice, regular rooms are very small but still nice

Cons:
1. The STREET NOISE!!!! & no earplugs!!!
2. The beds are a bit hard, not the best quality and pillows are meh also...
3. No parking! - we were asked if we reserved any parking in the garage...huh? didn't even know it was an option

So here is the bottom line - I would stay here again, but I won't because I can't get any sleep!

Room Tip: Try asking for rooms facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank allyo065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Beginning with the great and friendly staff that always were there to help and advice and recommend. The restaurants they found for us were perfect for our inclination for food. The recommendations from the chef for breakfast were always delicious and very personal. The rooms just what we wanted, all of them facing the street. The parking very convenient and the location of the hotel within walking distance to the main street and shopping, cafes, restaurants, to really enjoy the city

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street are to my taste very nice.The street in a very quiet one. My wife and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Very chic professionally run hotel. Super clean groovy rooms. Minibar with free non-alcoholic drinks. Breakfast pricey but excellent.
We had a ground floor junior suite looking onto a cute courtyard complete with wrought iron furniture and cats sunning themselves. Nespresso coffee machine outside our room, complementary bowls of fruit in the lounge.
Handy to town centre and 5 minutes walk to tourist information. Take a walking tour or pick the self guided walking tour sheet and follow the brass 'steps of Cezanne plaques' around the city streets.
As reflected in some other reviews, some front desk staff are more friendly than others. At this hotel when good, they are very very good. As everywhere in France, the strategy of a cheery greeting in French gets things off to a good start....which is just as well because I fast run out of French beyond the absolute basics.
Be sure to call/email ahead to reserve your car space.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlyB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#14 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
787 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Cezanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Cezanne

Address: 40 avenue Victor Hugo, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#6 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#7 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £100 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Cezanne 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idéalement situé au cœur du centre ville d'Aix en Provence, le Boutique Hôtel Cézanne vous accueille dans une ambiance chic et tendance. Les 55 chambres de cet hôtel 4 étoiles sont uniques et proposent des services de qualités. Arrêtez-vous un instant sur notre terrasse ou dans notre Bar Lounge pour profiter de l'art de vivre à la Provençale autour d'une boisson rafraichissante. Pour un réveil tout en douceur, le buffet petit-déjeuner est disponible jusqu'à midi. Pour parfaire votre séjour, le Boutique Hôtel Cézanne dispose d'une salle de Fitness ainsi que d'un espace massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel Cezanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cezanne Hotel Aix En Provence
Cezanne Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing