We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!”
Review of Hotel Cezanne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cezanne
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed for four nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Our room was quiet and very comfortable. The staff made it special by providing great recommendations for food, shopping, sightseeing (including a private winery tour). We had a minor issue with our tickets at the train station down the block, and Claire offered to accompany us so nothing was lost in the translation as to what we wanted. So after her shift ended, we three went to the station and after a few minutes our ticket situation was resolved. That's above and beyond.
Aix-en-Provence provides lots of opportunities for exploring, including a wonderful museum, but it's also central to many sites within an hours drive of the hotel. We look forward to returning to this wonderful property and re-connecting with the personable and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harding3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,105)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cezanne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

first the positives. great location close to center of town but on quieter street. interesting rooms albiet regular rooms are quite small. we upgraded to a junior suite which was lovely. good breakfast but at 20 euro not worthy of accolades on trip advisor. free drinks in minibar and lots of free fresh fruit as well.

big disappointment was the service. consistently line at front desk. we had to move a room due to poor plumbing--they did not help in any way and did not comp us one little bit.

overall, a disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Cezanne1, Propriétaire at Hotel Cezanne, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Madam,

First of all, we are happy to read that you enjoyed our location as well as the free minibar and the fruits that are available for our guests in the lobby. We are sorry that you had to change room because of the plumbing issue. We did our best to solve this problem quickly and offered you to change for another Junior Suite on the same floor. We took good note of your remark regarding the lack of assistance and the fact that you had to wait at the front desk. Our team does its best to fulfill all our guests' requests, and during the peak season the reception gets quite busy. However we will try harder to be more reactive. Lastly, we want to thank you for posting your review about Hôtel Cézanne on TripAdvisor : your feedback is always valuable to us.

Best regards,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at the Cezanne for two days in mid-August 2013. My daughter's first trip to Europe. The hotel is well-located; on a quieter part of a main street in the city of Aix, and very close to the main streets leading to the older part of the city. Very easy to walk to and from the hotel all around Aix.

The hotel is charming, with quirky decor. Clean, bright, and inviting. Nice big windows. The staff member who greeted us and gave us our room was a bit brusque, but we did not have that experience with any other staff member. Our room was large, with a nice sized bath as well. There is a very lovely ground-floor terrace for lounging outside; it is tucked behind the hotel and off the street so really feels like a get-away.

The Cezanne is remarkable in that they do not offer a paid mini-bar service. Rather, they stock your fridge with non-alcoholic beverages (still and sparkling water, sodas, juice) for your use *as part of your room rate.* You do not pay extra. They also have an honor system for their bar. They offer quite a large complement of drinks at the bar in the hotel lobby and on the terrace. You help yourself and let the receptionist know what you have consumed, so they can charge you for it. This is of course quite unique given that virtually every hotel I have ever stayed in not only charges insane amounts of money for the simplest things in the mini-bar, but also treats the mini-bar as though it were a cache of national security documents. It is a generous policy by the Cezanne that I again though was a lovely touch. They also have actual fresh fruit in the lobby for taking at any time, by which I mean really fresh apricots, nectarines, etc, not an array of heavily waxed age-old apples or some such.

Finally, there is on every floor an espresso maker for your use whenever and however many times you might want to make use of it, again as part of your room rate, no extra charge. And... free Wifi. Really, really nice touches.

We did not, however, eat breakfast there because it was not included in our room rate, and frankly at 20 Euros per person... I just can't spend $30.00 US per person for a simple breakfast of pastries and yogurt when you can walk around the corner and get coffee and pastries for a fraction of that price.

Overall, highly recommend the Cezanne if you want a boutique-ish and centrally located, modern and clean hotel in Aix.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J0diJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Cezanne1, Gérant at Hotel Cezanne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and valuable comments about your stay at Hôtel Cézanne. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed you stay with us as well as our various facilities and services. We also took good note of your comment regarding the front desk and we will make sure to pass it to the team. Our priority is to take care of our guests and do our best so that they feel like at home. We hope to see you agin in the near future and would be happy to assist you in organizing your next stay in Provence.

Warm regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Whilst a 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of AIx (Cours Mirabeau), this hotel is well located away from the hustle and bustle. The service is excellent and very friendly in a family run way. The décor is both quirky and elegant with the obvious artistic leaning. Without being large, the bedroom was a good size and well equipped. Some lovely features such as an "honesty bar" at reception. With secure parking available, overnight €16, this hotel represented good value for July in a high end tourist spot such as Aix. We would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul_mcdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Cezanne1, Gérant at Hotel Cezanne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about your stay with us. We would like to sincerely thank you for this nice comment. Your satisfaction is exactly what we are searching for, and we are glad that you enjoyed our services : the "honesty" bar to feel like at home, the complimentary minibar in the rooms, our provate garage... We hope to see you again in Aix-en-Provence.

Warm regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Good for walking into centre. Room was a bit small but comfortable. Car park available down one way side street. Bit stressful getting down against the flow but helpful porter drove in for me. Don't attempt to drive around town as parking a nightmare. Hotel service good but no restaurant only breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Good location - close to but not on Cours Mirabel so it was quieter in the evening. The rooms are small but nicely appointed. We paid extra for a garden view and I don't think it was worth spending the extra money. It just overlooks the interior courtyard and is nothing special. I also think the breakfast is overpriced.. It was extremely hot while we were there and while the rooms are air conditioned, it never really cooled the room sufficiently to make sleeping comfortable. However these were fairly extreme weather conditions so it probably would not be an issue with milder weather.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had to stay over one night in Aix and found this charming hotel in guide Michelin. The reception was excellent in receiving us and giving advice for a good restaurant. We really felt welcomed and all guest were also happy (!!!!) It's a way you can feel the mood of people !

Room Tip: To the back yard
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
878 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
870 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#15 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cezanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cezanne

Address: 40 Avenue Victor Hugo, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#6 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £113 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cezanne 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cezanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cezanne Hotel Aix En Provence
Cezanne Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing