We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Cezanne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cezanne
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just spent five days here. Great location, close to Cours Mirabeau, main area shops etc. staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms are small but comfortable with free minibar and coffee machines in hallways. Very chic lobby with fruit and snacks provided. If you go to Aix en Provence stay here.. you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    380
    96
    36
    27
See reviews for
138
589
56
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This really is a great hotel. clean, comfy, good beds and bath, etc. Free coffee and soft drinks and WIFI. It is a little off the beaten track, but only 2-3 blocks from the main drag. Worth the money
The only advice I would offer is not to ask the hotel help for advice. I delayed getting my trip from Aix to Avignon planned til I got here, and they told me the only way to get there was a 9 hour train ride. (its only 50 miles from here). After panicing I found that the TGV goes directly there (20 minutes after a 30 euro taxi), or a 1.5 hour bus ride. (they told me busses did not got to Avignon, and why would I go there anyway, nothing to see)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights and really like this hotel for the following reasons:
(1) The bed is very comfortable. It was the most comfy bed I ever found in a hotel and the quilt is good too!
(2) The shelves and cupboards are designed in a way that you can make full use of them to store your clothes and stuff.
(3) It takes about 8 minutes' walk to go to the main street therefore it is very quiet and it guarantees a good night's sleep.
(4) The staff, mostly young and pretty ladies, are very friendly and joyous and helpful.
Things to improve on:
(1) The housekeeping did not refill the toilet amenities.
(2) A small cockroach was found one morning in the room. Nevertheless, the room is very clean and with no smell.
(3) The wifi was good but you have to obtain the password everyday from the reception.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emyl0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We read the review from Rick Steve's book about brunch at this hotel restaurant and it sounded good so we made reservations for Sunday breakfast. For 23Euros we had all the coffee we could drink, fresh squeezed orange juice you can squeeze yourself or if not there was a container with juice already made. There was all sorts of cheeses, croissant ( probably the best I've had in a long time ),breads and smoked salmon.... all you can eat. With the price you get to choose a main entree from the menu and we ordered the eggs benedict, which came on a small plate with the eggs perfectly cooked at over easy with sauce and toast on top (not english muffins as americans are used to). We enjoyed everything we ate and was talking about going back before leaving Aix but we ran out of time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Cezanne1, Propriétaire at Hotel Cezanne, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Cezanne on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that it was a real pleasure for you. You perfectly described the complete breakfast served every single day from 06:30am until 12 noon. We chose a wide selection of high quality products to satisfy all tastes. We are pleased to have been able to meet your taste buds' expectations, and we will be happy to introduce you the other services of Hotel Cezanne during your next trip in Aix-en-Provence.

Best regards,

Catherine Spieth-Ducret
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

When we arrived there was no record of our booking through an internet site. I had no confirming email so suspected it was my fault. The reception staff assured me not to worry and proceeded to not only register us but also to honour the (much reduced) rate I quoted from my failed booking. The staff throughout our stay maintained their extremely friendly, helpful but very professional attitude. This same friendly attitude was exhibited by every staff member with whom we came into contact. Special mention for the lady who offered to cook our breakfast stating it would be indeed her pleasure to make whatever we wished. And a wonderful breakfast it was even considering it was an expensive one. The room was very comfortable with all toiletries, fluffy towels and spotlessly clean. We did have trouble with changing the air conditioner temperature but it did not bother us enough to seek help from the staff so we can hardly complain about that.
We loved the free coffee from the machine in the hall and although we used neither, the concept of the honesty bar near reception and free soft drinks in the room fridge appealed to us. Fresh fruit for the taking all day in the lounge and computers for use also were appreciated. The wifi signal was strong and serviced the equipment for each of us.
We had a very pleasant stay at this lovely hotel and would come back in an instant if we returned to Aix.
Steve and Jennyo
Melbourne, Australia

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Cezanne1, Propriétaire at Hotel Cezanne, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Steve and Jennyo,

Thank you for your delightful review on your recent stay with us. We are very happy to learn that you had a great time with us, and that you liked our clean and comfortable rooms, the various services that we offer (free wi-fi, free minibar with soft drinks, free Nespresso coffee...), the breakfast with home-made specialties, and our friendly team! Your feedback is our best reward and your comments will be shared with the team to congratulate them on a great job.

We do hope to welcome you again at Hotel Cezanne,

Warm regards,

Catherine Spieth-Ducret
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Cezanne Hotel makes an effort to present itself as a "four-star boutique hotel" but does not reach that goal. We stayed there on off-season, so got a reasonable room rate, instead of the 350 Eur the "official" list says, which would be outrageous. Nevertheless, even for our price, there were several problems.

The room was small and cramped, with one (1) chair only, and that was a light writing-desk stool. There was no tea maker or coffee machine, that was only available outside in the corridor. The beds were a bit hard. The main problem was, that there was no air-conditioning. To my query, the friendly reception lady answered, that the hotel equipment could only either heat or cool, and as it was still early spring, the heating was on! That did not help, as the weather was nice and warm. Leaving the window open was not an option, as the street noice was loud. The sleep was not very good in a stuffy and warm room.

When I opened the mini-bar I found out, that it only contained water and a few soft drinks. At least a couple of beers and small bottles of wine would be appreciated, to justify the claim of a "free mini-bar".

The breakfast service was expensive but very good, with warm dishes available for order. My truffle-omelette was delicious.

More effort would be needed to make this hotel even a true three-star, most importantly a modern air-conditioning/heating system. The small and cramped rooms cannot be changed, however, so a four-star rating is out of reach.

Room Tip: Try to get a room out of the street-side, to avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EeroE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Cezanne1, Propriétaire at Hotel Cezanne, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments regarding your recent experience at our hotel.

We truly regret to learn that you were not fully satisfied with your room. All our rooms are different, and we would have been happy to show you several ones to choose the one you liked the most. We understand that you like having tea facilities in your room : we have kettles available at the front desk, and the front desk staff put them in our guests' room on request.

As regards the temperature, we are really sorry that you did not sleep well because of the lack of air-conditioning. We took good note of your comment, and you can be sure that we will do our best to improve our heating / cooling system in the future.

We are happy to offer our guests free soft drinks in their room, and let them enjoy our two honesty bars open 24/24 in the lobby and on the terrace for a drink.

Thank you for your positive feedback on breakfast, and our home-made specialties cooked to order.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and to provide you with the level of service that you expect in a 4-star hotel.

Kind regards,

Catherine Spieth-Ducret
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed in Hotel Cezanne in Feb 14. Helpful staff, lovely, clean accommodation and good hotel lift. We had a Junior Suite and saw both Rooms 407 and 408 (both very nice and have a bath and separate shower). Tourist information office a very short walk from hotel. We were there for a week and did 3 days trips 1) The Camargue (Ornithological Park - saw flamingoes and beaver) & Sainte Marie de la Mer 2) St Remy, Les Baux and Arles & 3) The Luberon - Lourmarin, Bonnieux, Rousillon & Gordes and would recommend these. We were picked up and deposited at the Tourist Information Office.
We found it very difficult to decide where to eat each evening and even in Feb couldn't always get a table so do plenty of research before leaving. Mitch's was a very good restaurant and the Cote Cour (TV chef restaurant on Cours Mirabeau) was recommended by hotel staff and made a wonderful final evening in Aix.
Staff go out of their way to help you enjoy a good stay in Aix and we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Can recommend Junior Suites 407 and 408 (never heard any noise from other guest rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandSallyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Cezanne1, Propriétaire at Hotel Cezanne, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to post your review about Hotel Cezanne on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to read that you had a nice stay with us and that you enjoyed your spacious Junior Suite. Located in the heart of Aix-en-Provence, Hotel Cezanne is indeed a great base to visit all Provence's attractions. The front desk team is always happy to provide our guests with customized sightseeing suggestions and restaurants recommendations. We hope to welcome you again would you plan another trip to Aix !

Best regards,

Catherine Spieth-Ducret
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
807 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#8 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#14 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,068 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cezanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cezanne

Property: Hotel Cezanne
Address: 40 avenue Victor Hugo, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#6 Business Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cezanne 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cezanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cezanne Hotel Aix En Provence
Cezanne Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing