We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the walk”
Review of Atelier Cezanne

Atelier Cezanne
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.93*
and up
Private Tour: Aix-en-Provence and South Luberon Day Trip from Marseille
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The studio of famous painter Paul Cézanne has been preserved in its original form.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Not too far from the historic center of Aix, this is Cezanne's home and studio. The studio is furnished as he left it and the slide show provides a look at his work done there. The garden is also nice. Allow an hour for the visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    269
    159
    56
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Must-See for Painters”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A visit to Cezanne's atelier is an intimate glimpse into his final years as a painter, in which he did some of his largest and most ambitious works. Since I'm a painter, this visit was a no-brainer for me but my non-artist husband enjoyed it nearly as much. We did the English-language tour as mon mari ne parle pas francais, and the docent was excellent. For me, the highlights were seeing the actual objects Cezanne painted over and over in his still-lifes alongside a slide show of the paintings themselves, and climbing the road up the hill from town that he climbed daily and painted innumerable times.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LAWatercolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Probably worth it”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The atelier was interesting, but I was a bit offended by the high price to see it. I was told by the woman who worked in the gift shop on the entrance floor that it is not intended for "museum goers," but for serious students of Cezanne, which was also a bit offensive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank masjeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
370 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Too Little to See”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

What was there was good, but there was only one room of interest. The contents were informative and interesting, and the drawers full of informative and interesting memorabilia needed to be on display.
The fact that Cezanne had used it as his workshop to create so much beauty is impressive. To be able to say we were there is good but I think it needed to display some of his art to really add to the experience. Bluntly, even if it cannot be the originals, copies may allow a better understanding of the views that he was experiencing while creating his treasures.
The garden was an overgrown mess, rather than the complement to the building and its history to better explain the positive impact that it had Cezanne.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ascott150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“for lovers of Cezanne”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The studio of Cezanne is a quaint little two storey building with not that much to see but for the lovers of Cezanne's work you will quite delighted to see the props used in some of his most famous paintings. You can see the deliberate north facing wall of windows built specifically for a dedicated artist. It allows one to imagine the painter standing in that space and creating his masterpieces. My grudge is with the lousy instructions directing you to the place where Cezanne often painted his favourite mountain Mont Sainte-Victoire. It is maybe a half-hour walk but if you don't have the correct directions it is difficult to find. To get there, leave Cezanne's studio and walk up hill up Av. Paul Cezanne. Continue straight past a roundabout. At a left kink in the road and metres before a zebra crossing there is a stone-stepped pathway on the left hand side that looks like a path to a house. Opposite this pathway is a sign 'Terrain des Paintres'. This leads up to the lookout. Google maps told me this after we got back with blisters on our feet from a long fruitless walk.
We still saw the mountain so it's all good. If you are not familiar with Cezanne's work, then maybe don't bother going or do yourself a favour and take a closer look at his work.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atelier Cezanne also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Atelier Cezanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing