We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok hotel in Aix”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Rotonde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Rotonde
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ok hotel in Aix”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We spent the Easter weekend in Aix-en-Provence. You can easily spend a couple of days wandering around the streets of Aix to do some shopping, markets, try restaurants and pastries. If you stay longer you should probably rent a car to visit the surroundings.
We stayed at the hotel Rotonde:
- Positive: just next to the bus stop (gare routière) when you arrive with the bus from the TGV train station or to take the bus for a day trip to Marseille. Also really close to the city center (10 min walk). Quiet rooms. Free wifi. Most of the people working in the reception are really nice and helpful.
- Negative: a bit expensive for what you get. Breakfast is not included, you have to pay an additional 9€ (ok breakfast buffet, but since you pay extra you expect a bit more. There are also nice cafes in town for brunch!). There is no real bathroom door (just thin sliding doors), your partner/company will hear you fart.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    123
    60
    17
    9
See reviews for
25
130
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We loved this place. Great location. The staff at the front desk was so great. They even sent my friends electronic cords to our location in Paris when she realized she left them in the room. one of us could not sleep so the front desk person was a good night time companion and kept her coffee cup full. We enjoyed everything about this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Unfortunately we arrive there on a saturday evening and we got stuck in traffic.... finding the entrance for hotel and parking lot was a very stressful experience....

On the other hand ,hotel is walkable distance for all interesting point in Aix ...

The room was ok but shower was a bit, let's say thin.... it's beside a main train station and railway is about 50 yards from hotel... not too noisy...

Breakfast is ok and is being served in lobby.

The staff was very friendly and polite

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iogima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, New Jersey
Level Contributor
296 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed here for one night on business. It was an easy walk into an area with a lot of restaurants. The hotel was clean and neat. However, the rooms facing the street were noisy (the windows were not soundproof) and the WiFi did not work in the rooms, only in the lobby. The breakfast cost Euro 9 and was very skimpy.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenVerona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is well located 5 min walk to the town. Great for day trips. If you have a car defenitly check out the lake near st Croix. Beautiful. Unfortunately if you go in August the lavender has already been cut. : (

My one big complaint is that the hotel controls the room temp from the front desk. 3 nights at 35C plus and it wasn't till the last night we finally had a reasonable temperature for sleeping in the room @ 180$ a night. That was frustrating

The desk staff are super nice and speak English very well.

For breakfast head 2 min towards the town on the same side as the hotel there is a cafe that's perfect. And half the price for breakfast. "Aubencafe". Fresh and fantastic

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TavelBug1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had a standard room on the second floor with a balcony. The room was small but it was clean and had a modern television. The bathroom was also small but nicely decorated. We had a shower with a curtain (no bath) however the curtain wasn’t sufficient, so having a shower turned the entire bathroom into a wet room. The balcony did not have a nice view and it was not in great condition and it hadn’t been cleaned for quite a while. The Wifi was non-existent in the room but was quite quick in the reception area. The staff were very friendly, hospitable and accommodating. The hotel is a five minute walk from the old town, which means there is no noise at all even though it is next to a busy road. There is a small convenience store next door and the hotel is a stones throw from the railway station. All in all a good hotel for its price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derbyshirenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
974 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

The room was nice, the double bed was quite big and so was the bathroom. There were both a big tub and a separate shower which was very good and spacious. The air condition functioned well. The only problem was the the WIFI was not wireless - you had to obtain a cable from the front desk (free) - but then only one can access the internet at the time.
There is free parking, and the distance from the hotel to the old town is just a couple of hundred meters. The staff were smiling and spoke good english.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#35 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#18 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Artea
Hotel Artea
#26 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#11 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#8 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Appart'Hotel Floridianes
Appart'Hotel Floridianes
#38 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rotonde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rotonde

Property: Hotel La Rotonde
Address: 15 avenue des Belges, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rotonde 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Rotonde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing