We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for the budget traveler”
Review of Hotel La Rotonde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Rotonde
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good choice for the budget traveler”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Let's face it, the Hotel Rotonde is not much to look at from the outside, or even all that attractive on the inside, but that's not why you stay here. Its chief virtue is location...just a short walk from Aix's bus station (which you will surely use if you arrive on Bus 40 from the Aix TGV station or if you take bus 50 to Marseille) and only a short walk to the Rotonde fountain, Cours Mirabeau and city tourism office. It was also more comfortable than first expected...the tile floors were warm to the touch; front desk was quite helpful; noise level was low. If you want something economical, safe, and centrally located, the Rotonde fits the bill quite nicely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hslowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    128
    60
    17
    9
See reviews for
27
133
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a good hotel in an excellent location close to the heart of the lively town. Very comfortable and spacious rooms plus good facilities. Breakfast was good also. Staff were very helpful and there was ample free parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSATLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel because it is close to the bus station as I had to travel.

Hotel is close to the city center if you want to walk. I liked the room, clean and simple. I confirm what others said about the wifi signal: is not that strong.

What I didn't like at all was the price, expensive (105€) for a standard room without breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ziopecos b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Few minutes away from Cours Mirabeau, clean rooms, bus station is only a corner away. Room is quite small, but average if compared to Parisian hotels. Wanted a hotel close to the city centre which wasn't too expensive and found Hotel La Rotonde to be a perfect choice.

Cons: Can be a bit noisy in the morning & WiFi signal isn't always great. I sent an email asking to have a room with good WiFi & it still wasn't working at times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with decent WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Arrived in Aix without any accommodation booked. Found a carpark & went to the tourist bureau & thankfully they came up with Hotel La Rotonde, which had a carpark and was within budget. Had initially planned on staying one night but my daughter had flu, so asked if we could stay another night and the very helpful staff juggled bookings so we could stay in the same room. I thought the room was comfortable, had a great shower and was close to the old city. I didn't notice any undue noise, even though our room overlooked the busy street. Importantly, the wifi was very good.

Room Tip: Good wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We booked two nights through booking.com mainly for the free parking - we were disappointed with the room which, though stylishly modernised, was tiny and overlooked a busy road and railway line. The train station is very close by. The car park was an unsurfaced empty lot also used by the apartments next to the hotel. The room was fine but for the price (about 111 euro/night) it was a shame the shower leaked and flooded the bathroom also as other reviews say it is not possible to control the room temperature yourself. We were too hot but it was too noisy with the window open. We found a local cafe for breakfast which had great coffee and croissant for about 5 euro. I consider this expensive for a holiday but more a business hotel for a single night stay and next time would stay more centrally and use one of the public car parks, such as the one near the tourist office

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great choice. Business hotel with large spacious rooms. Optimum value. Perfect breakfast with a variety of items. Staff friendly and caring. Do not hesitate to book. A short walk from the center of Aix, be sure to stroll through the old town with aplomb. The place is magical. Near the hotel good restaurants to suit all pockets.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo_SP_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Artea
Hotel Artea
#27 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#22 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#32 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#31 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rotonde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rotonde

Property: Hotel La Rotonde
Address: 15 avenue des Belges, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rotonde 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Rotonde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing