We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Provencal Fare”
Review of L'Alcove

L'Alcove
Ranked #10 of 864 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$40
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: L'Alcôve is situated just a step from the law court of Aix en Provence in the street Constantin perpendicular of the street Mignet,possesses a welcoming terrace with a view of the church Sainte-Catherine. In a smart and relaxed frame both managers invite you to discover a French quality cuisine. Having made their weapons in France and abroad They decided to settle down in Aix. In an arched room of the 18th century with a contemporary decoration Olivier Ros, Head chef proposes you a sophisticated menu which changes as the seasons go by. While Pierre Chatelain, head waiter, will recommend you wines selected to sublimate the proposed dishes.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fine Provencal Fare”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

L'Alcove is situated in a vaulted cave close to the Palais du Justice. It is small so a reservation is a good idea. We made a early reservation and actually arrived about ten minutes before the restaurant was to open. The two owners (the chef and server) were eating at a small table in the lobby but led us down to the attractive cave and served us a glass of rose so we could relax before they opened. The restaurant filled quickly but the meal and service were excellent in spite of there being only one cook and one waiter serving about 30 diners.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GF02116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    189
    30
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Aix”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

L'Alcove is a very good restaurant. The food will please, and the prices are low for food of this high quality. The dining space (an arched cellar) looks great. The server works hard and cheerfully.

L'Alcove's weaknesses arise from its size and location. The chef has little help and the server has none. One waiter for 26 people is pushing the limits. The cellar seats 26 diners, and when it is full, the din is quite loud.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was far too full to have a 3 course meal, but had to squeeze something in!
We had originally come for the escargot that we had seen online, but they weren't on the menu.
I had the mango and crab entree and it was sensational! I was disappointed I couldn't fit anything else in!
...... Next time....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amaline_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Interesting underground restaurant down a spiral staircase. Fantastic food, all fresh ingredients. I ate the tartare for entree and duck fillet with ratatouille for main, both delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bedderz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“charming small restaurant”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a delicious meal in this small and pleasant restaurant in the old area of Aix, owned and enthusiastically run by two young men, the chef and the friendly and helpful sommelier/waiter, who was celebrating his birthday that night but still hard at work. The feel of the restaurant is casual, but profession; the owners are serious and imaginative about the food and attentive about the service.
I had an appetizer of shallots caramelized in balsamic vinegar, served with mesclun, pieces of sosa (a chickpea pancake), and goat cheese; a main course of the canette (female duck), served with a yam mousseline, and a dessert of vanilla-lemon verbena (verveine) creme brûlée; the waiter also gave us a taste of a digestif that he made himself with verveine. We had a delicious wine he suggested from a winery near Avignon that was a robust red.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esser-fresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Alcove also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to L'Alcove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing