We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great value, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel des Quatre Dauphins
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great value, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

Helpful reception; basic single but fresh furnishings; the bed needs a new mattress but it wasn't a deal breaker. The room had a clean bathroom that is compact but all you need. Breakfast was good. It's in a great location - only a 20 min walk from the bus, 5 min from Cour Mirabeau and ten minutes easy walk to the railway. I t was good to come back to at the end of the day.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hogiekjAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    45
    28
    15
    6
See reviews for
6
52
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

Hotel des quatre dauphins was the cheapest hotel that I could find in the town of Aix. I didn't have a car and took the TGV from Paris so I needed a place within walking distance to everything. That said, the location is great but rather noisy even with the windows closed. In the middle of the night, lots of drunk young people would come down the street and wake us up which was not very pleasant. The room was a bit worn and tattered and the shower was full of mold and mildew. My final day I asked if we could check out 30 min later than the check-out time but they flat out refused. The wifi was unreliable. Some of the staff were very helpful, though, giving suggestions for places to go and how to get there. Aix is pricey and I wish there was a nicer place to stay at a cheaper price!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
166 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

The hotel itself is interesting - it looks impressively old and in a way charming (narrow wooden staircase - no lift, getting up to the second floor with suitcases is not easy). The staff were pleasant and helpful.

The room itself was terrible. Brought a new standard to small - "prison-cell size" would be apt. A small single bed, a tiny rickety desk and two recesses for hanging and shelves were fitted in to a room roughly 2m x 4m. Carpet was a rough doormat-like material which smelled terrible. For some reason there was a wall-mounted LCD TV. The only nice thing about the room were the large French windows, opening up onto the street below. However, you could clearly hear anyone passing by in the street at night.

The bathroom was very small - difficult to move around in the shower stall. Wifi was not free, which was a pain (5 Euros a day) - but to their credit this was the fastest Wifi I have seen - up to 1Mbps true download speed...

Location is very central, but there are better choices in Aix.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danno_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aix-en-Provence hotels

Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

You can not beat the location. The room was air conditioned and the bathroom new, they have wifi and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Aix is worth the effort just remember that pretty much all streets are one way so be prepared for a driving adventure. Dinner on the cours maribou - steak and wine, warm evening, watching all the students and parents - a must see.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peacethroughtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

The hotel is excellently situated five minutes from the Cours Mirabeau. The room I stayed in was pleasant - quite small but fine for what we wanted - and had a lovely new bathroom with a great power shower. The hotel itself was *quite* noisy at night, but only in terms of people walking up and down the stairs and the doorbell being rung - it didn't really keep me awake but it wasn't totally peaceful either. For the price though it was pretty good value for money. The wifi which is provided isn't free, it costs about 5 euros for your stay - we paid but then couldn't get a good enough signal in our room to actually use it!

My only suggestion would be not to go for the breakfast as it is 9 euros and elsewhere in town you can get a better breakfast looking out onto a nice square for less than 5 euros.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatgirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

Hotel des Quatre Dauphins is a good budget choice for Aix. It is ideally situated in the Quatier Mazarin, truly the nicest part of Aix. It is on a beautiful 17th c. street that is fairly quiet. The hotel itself is an old structure without the best soundproofing. Our room was tiny, barely containg a bed, two end tables and a desk. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was nearly as large as the room and was attractive and modern. The plumbing worked well. While I would have rather stayed at the Hotel Cezanne, the Quatre Dauphins was an adequate choice and was quite a good value.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

This small, family-run hotel is a gem in Aix-En-Provence. The proprietors are very helpful and gracious in helping even the most timid traveler feel at home, and the rooms are very comfortable, with lovely Provençal color schemes, comfortable beds, and modern, en-suite bathrooms. The price is right, too, and the location is convenient, yet quiet.

If traveling in Aix, it's worth a stay: great place, great value.

  • Liked — Location and helpful staff
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank songfta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Augustins
Hotel des Augustins
#30 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#20 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#34 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#9 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#24 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Quatre Dauphins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Quatre Dauphins

Property: Hotel des Quatre Dauphins
Address: 54 rue Roux Alpheran, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Quatre Dauphins 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel des Quatre Dauphins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Quatre Dauphins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing