We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Home Away in Aix” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Augustins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Augustins
Ranked #29 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Home Away in Aix”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Great accommodations near the main parts of old town, shopping, restaurants and transportation. Safe area and generally quiet. Rooms are decent, breakfast is fine and hospitality is wonderful. WiFi works well. Highly recommended hotel for business trips.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank adamcohenil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    116
    49
    20
    10
See reviews for
29
141
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We choose Hotel des Augustins for it's location and architecture, and we weren't disappointed! Simply walk out the heavy ancient door to the old city of Aix... it's all within walking distance. The best part of the hotel was how quiet it was at night. After a busy day of exploring Aix, it was incredibly relaxing to return to our room for a good night's rest in a very comfortable room in a beautiful setting. The room was well appointed, with quiet and effective air conditioning, and a nice bathroom. We would certainly return there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMWilson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We needed to stay in Aix to catch an early flight through Marseille airport early next day and were pleasantly surprised by the feel of the town in general.

This hotel is centrally located and you can walk around the main area of the town quite easily from the front door of the hotel. Situate in a converted monastery the décor is good albeit that the room we were allocated was that bit small.

We found the reception unhelpful when we asked about an early breakfast ...more an attitude problem than the hotel being unable to comply with our reasonable request.

We did not eat in the hotel

Room Tip: Lots of rooms overlook the side street upon which the hotel is located but not to worry you can excl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcallistern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The location is the best: right in the middle of old town, on a nice street. The building is quite impressive, with high vaults. We chose it for its architectural merits. Service is fine, and the rooms are totally acceptable, clean and "proper", but nothing too "wow". For this price range this was what we expected, as this town is a tourist mecca, so prices are all on the high-side. We did not want to pay a higher price just for having more luxurious rooms anyways.

We did not have breakfast here, thought it was expensive. Ended up buying from the supermarket and eating in our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DecadentGourmetTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel. In the middle of Aix, so everything was a step away. We didn't even make reservations. A very kind man was always accommodating and the rest of the staff were as well. Spoke enough English to be helpful but also were patient with our French. The A/C worked well; the petit de jeuner was pleasant; hotel was clean and wifi worked very well. it was a great stay and would have been 5 stars except in my not so humble opinion, the 130 euro was probably 20 or so too high. But nevertheless, a great value and will stay there again if possible.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshVick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The lobby of this hotel, a former convent, is very pretty. We had a triple room, which was large and comfortable with a very nice bathroom. The air conditioning worked great, which was a relief as it was quite hot and our previous hotel did not have A/C. The location of this hotel is great--just off Cours Mirabeau, where there are lots of restaurants and, on the day we were there, a craft market and many wine tasting booths. In the other direction there are many more restaurants and shops and a lovely food market. It is not far from the train station, though we took a taxi because we had a lot of luggage and my 77-year old mother, but I think it would be walkable for most people without too much luggage. Everything else is easily walkable from this hotel. The breakfast was in a nice little tea room--not really worth the price, but very convenient and good. I would definitely stay here again if we found ourselves in Aix again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and find the rooms comfortable, the staff helpful and the location great. This time we had special help from one of the desk staff named Samo. He went the extra step that one really appreciates. I have also found other desk staff to be particularly helpful in this hotel

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#27 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#21 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Prov...
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#35 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Augustins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Augustins

Property: Hotel des Augustins
Address: 3 rue de la Masse, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Augustins 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel des Augustins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Augustins Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing