We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel if you get the right room. We did!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Caravelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Caravelle
Ranked #41 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel if you get the right room. We did!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

Our room was at the back overlooking a garden and was quiet , roomy and had AC but our friends had rooms overlooking the street front and found them too noisy. Some rooms were very poky, didn't have air-conditioning or fans. The rooms have no fridges or tea-making facilities. Breakfast is reasonable-hot drink, croissant and baguette. The hotel is up the hill from the rialway station only a short walk and is close to the town centre and restaurants witha grocery store across the road. We would stay there again but be fussy about which room we'd stay in.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice15025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    63
    43
    22
    10
See reviews for
22
76
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

The hotel is run-down and would do well to consider an investment to renovate its rooms and buy new accessories like linen and towels. We had a garden-facing room, which had a good view but the room is essentially no-frills. All garden-facing rooms, I believe do not have AC and ventilation can be compromised unless you open all windows. In addition, the bathroom which has a tub but no shower curtain makes it terribly hard to take a shower without making the entire bathroom wet. The elderly lady proprietor and young staff were helpful and polite but the elderly male proprietor is impolite. The plus point is that it has free Wi-Fi in the breakfast area but not in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMSJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aix-en-Provence hotels

California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

1. The location was fairly good. Along a main street; around the corner were shops and cafes. Cours Mirabeau was about a 5-10-minute walk away. The street leading to Cours Mirabeau had a market and several bakeries. The train station was a good 10-15 minute walk, and the bus stop/station was a further 5 minute walk.
2. The price was reasonable.
3. The hotel was a nice Provence-style hotel, small lobby area, nice and comfortable. Small elevator.
4. The hotel has rooms with and without W/C. My room had a sink and small shower, but the clean W/C was off the hall. However, as there were no other rooms on the floor without a W/C, it was in fact a private W/C. Nevertheless, I had to walk out into the hall to use it. The room was a bit small, but nicely furnished, clean and comfortable. Nothing luxurious. The carpet was a “reed” carpet, which lent the room a nice rustic atmosphere. My room faced the garden in the back (trees and bushes). No A/C, but with the window open (and the birds singing and trees rustling in the breeze), I did not need it in mid June. Was pleasant with the window open and the greenery right outside. TV, but no English-language channels (but really did not need it). The shower was clean and had soap and shampoo. Bed was rather springy tho. That was the only (minor) complaint.
5. The front staffers were efficient, very friendly and helpful and spoke English.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mebaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

This hotel is as bad as they get. Avoid it if you possibly can. Surprisingly it was included in Lonely Planet guide. It is very run down, very noisy and in ugly location. Breakfast is awful. The only good thing about it was that parking is free in a nearby car park.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Vic. Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

Hotel La Caravelle is well located for the main part of town, near some cute bars, shops and La rue d' Italia, but it is a painful drag to and from the station and the bus terminal especially with suitcases.
Our room had its charm with its shuttered windows overlooking the garden and with the romantic shuttered windows also over the way. The decor was warm pinks, if a little faded, but the bathroom needed an urgent makeover and the vents needed cleaning.
Reception was generally very good and helpful 90 percent of the time depending who was on duty.

Overall this bed and breakfast hotel had a friendly homely feel about it and we loved returning to our room. We also found some good places to have breakfast such as Bar Carrefors, and Jacobs nearby in Rue d'Italia, plus a small supermarket.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quirindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

My husband and I and our two older children (17 and 23) stayed here at the beginning of our vacation. We had the family room on the first floor. The beds took up most of the room, but the bathroom was huge by European standards...no curtain on the shower, but that really turned out to be okay. It was extremely clean in our room. We thought that not having AC was going to be a problem, but we left the window open all night and it was just fine, and it stayed quite cool in there, probably because of its ground level location. We had a fan as well. The clerks were all very nice and helpful. There is a wonderful bakery only a few steps away from the hotel on the corner for pastries, coffee and sandwiches. We ate our breakfasts there and sat both inside and out. It is a nice walk to the Cours Mirabeau where all the fun cafes and markets are for people watching. There is also a very nice restaurant down the cobblestone alleyway behind the bakery where we had a delicious late night supper. This hotel is not new, not luxurious, but is very comfortable and clean and in a good location.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the room.
  • Disliked — Somewhat small room. Could have used another fan perhaps.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2007

This is a decent, affordable hotel, relatively close to the Cours Mirabeau and central Aix. Our family room was directly off the lobby. It was cramped, and the bathroom, while clean, had a shower with no door or curtain. For the price, this was fine for a one-night stay.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyperplanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#12 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#55 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#36 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Quatre Dauphins
Hotel des Quatre Dauphins
#39 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Mozart Hotel
Le Mozart Hotel
#11 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Appart'Hotel Odalys L'Atrium
Appart'Hotel Odalys L'Atrium
#34 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Caravelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Caravelle

Property: Hotel La Caravelle
Address: 29 boulevard du Roi Rene, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Caravelle 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Caravelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Caravelle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing