We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must for a wonderful Aix-evening”
Review of Les 2 Freres

Les 2 Freres
Ranked #177 of 864 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Lourmarin, France
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a must for a wonderful Aix-evening”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

This place can be found - grace to gps, and it's wonderful.
Nice zen-atmosphere, the green olives were just perfect. Food perfect with a good Southern touch. Good local wines. We were there in December, the terrace must be perfect on a summer evening. you'll be grateful for the parking. The service is friendly, could be a little more professional!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hamburgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    157
    59
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
yankinuk
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What can I say..?”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Had Sunday lunch here with a friend who lives near Aix. It's located in a dreary non descript residential area. It's rather attractive inside if you like French modern decor. The two waiters were welcoming (not sure if they were the freres) and smiley. Not sure if something got lost in the translation, but my starter which I thought was going to be fried camembert was actually a posh toasted cheese and ham sandwich on white bread with a few bits of lettuce on the side covered in peanuts. My main course was very dry kidneys on a bed of lumpy mashed potatoes. I don't recall a sauce. I wish I could be more positive, as they were very friendly. There is an outside terrace for eating in the summer, but as its the dead of winter right now, hard to imagine what it would be like. As I said, it's in a very suburban neighbourhood. Maybe I ordered the wrong thing as I can.t imagine why some reviewers rate it so highly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank didyoupackyourbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Clean modern decor, Good food”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Had late lunch there today, location is in a residential area, very nice modern with oriental touch decoration. To start I had a scallop carpaccio, green papaya, tempura vegetables and Japanese yozu citrus sauce an extremely delicate and successful combination. Others at the table ordered a squid, herbed mascarpone cheese with chorizo appetizer which turned out to be another great combination. For the main course everyone at the table had the duck which was delightful, browned skin and barely cooked meat with a delicious hearty flavor. The desserts were also excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant. An unusual feature is the television screens inside the dinning room which show the kitchen staff at work. Only suggestion I would make is to speed up service

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martycaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best meal in France”
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

I eat scallops and Lamb,. My wife had Cod fish. Nice people, nice service, fantastic food! Unforgettable!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank afreller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“our second dinner there”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Dinner there with my family. We had a good time again. I had : Giclee de Giroles and White Truffles".
Seating outside in the evening ia always a treat. Service is friendly but could have been faster.
Overall a nice dinner. This restaurant seems to be known by locals mostly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunseekersMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les 2 Freres also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Les 2 Freres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing