We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming idyll on a sunny day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les 2 Freres

Les 2 Freres
Reserve with
Les 2 Freres is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #168 of 824 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A charming idyll on a sunny day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Aix en Provence is beautiful and despite this restaurant being a a ten minute walk away from the main attractions it was definitely worth the walk. The location is out of the way but vey stylish. We opted to sit on the terrace which was a blessed relief given the beaming sun, we were seated promptly without a reservation. The food was delicious, subtle flavours complemented perfectly by a local wine. This is not an inexpensive restaurant,it's also not as other reviews have suggested outrageous in its pricing. Well made, well presented fare with staff who appeared to care about customer service. Very good food and reasonable value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robertndjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    153
    57
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Grossly overpriced- don't go there”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

It's a restaurant sutck in a residential area taking advantage couting on the fact that people won't walk 10 more minutes towards the better downtown places to charge a lot for a just above average lunch. The atmosphere is pleasanr and the food is alright, no real complaint, but nothing exceptional either. Yet they charge as if they were Michelin starred. The service is exceptionally rude, unattentive and ... unhygenic: we walked into a empty place (90% tables open) and were "greeted" by a smelly (pungent B.O. and obviously unaware of the use of a toothbrush) and arrogant waiter complaining about us not having a reservation. Menu and wine card iPad were thrown at us, no recommendation was offered at any point.
The only creativity this place has, is inventing words for basic cooking techniques, and then has the audacity to treat you like an retarded person if you're not aware of the vocabulary ther're the only ones on this planet to use. The food itself is as unpretentious as it gets: decent quality ingredients, but no heart and soul involved in the preparation; very disappointing. It's barely above cafeteria food.
Service is bringing you aperitif with its associated little bites; and less than 2 minutes later they serve you your first course, trying to get aperitif drinks and snacks off the table. If you resist, just like I did, you get a nice insult from the staff about being difficult. It is as unfriendly as it gets; standardized food places at Paris airport give you a much better service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemca13090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good food in Aix”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews I penned this. We went there on a Monday night in early November so the service was very good as it was not busy. The food was equally very good as was the wine recommendations. My only objection was it did not open to 7.45 pm which seems a bit silly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

At recommendation of our hotel we dined at 2 Brothers....first they were understaffed and while our waiter tried very hard, it took 45 minutes before he could take our order and he was so rushed it was a stressful meal because he was so rushed at every turn. Second, the food was just okay. The beef was flank steak and while the marinade was tasty, it was very chewy and the first course was bland. And finally, we stared at two very large canvasses of Dzohokar, the surviving Boston bomber---guess it fits with the Two Brother theme but not exactly what I wanted to view on vacation. I understand that art is supposed to make you think and ponder but the waiter was already stressed, the food was not particularly good that night and the service slow---just not the best food we had in Aix and they are not inexpensive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Little Pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

While overall, we had a good experience, it was a little pricey. The outdoor dining area had a ton of ambience and the service was the best of trip so far. Especially in a country not known for attentiveness of its wait staff. Food was cooked and presented well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Len B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les 2 Freres also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Les 2 Freres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing