We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest, reasonably priced and delicious!”
Review of Le Contrepoint.

Le Contrepoint.
Ranked #36 of 960 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Price range: £7 - £15
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Français, Bistrot with fresh and local product, homemade cooked from South of France. Come visite us!!!
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Went here with my wife on a recent trip to Aix. We're not a big fan of stuffy restaurants, and prefer things to be a bit more informal and the food rustic rather than cheffy, Hence we tried this place and it didn't disappoint!

First the setting - we sat outside on the street Aix style. Nice because it is quite tucked away so not alot of through walkers and the street is quiet.

Next the wine - local stuff, delicious and very reasonably priced.

Next the food - delicious!! We like to try new combinations. The duck on brioche with honey sauce was an absolute revelation! And the Camembert was good too! The food is quite rustic and honest. Good ingredients treated well Corsican style.

Go there!!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrewrV4587ID
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2016

If you are going here expecting to be fawned over by a wait staff decked out in tuxedos, you may be in for a surprise. The restaurant dresses itself almost like a dive bar (if a dive bar was in a centuries old building.)

I was server by the owner, wearing a black t-shirt that showed off his tattoo sleeved arm with a jaunty porkpie hat. Biker looks aside, his positive attitude filled the room.

There is a strong Corsican influence in on the menu, but I opted for pork chops with a thick sauce made of stew provencale vegetable, which came with a green salad and spiced, sliced potato side dish. There are no entrees (appetizers) but the quantity of the main dish more than filled me up. The food was delicious.

The price was shockingly low. None of the main dishes was more than 16 euros, and the wine was 3.50 euros for a glass (which is half of what I have paid in any the restaurant on this 3 week trip in the region.)

The dinner was capped off by a small digestif on the house (from Corsica, of course.)

I really enjoyed this place.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We had lunch here. The food and service were excellent. Everything is homemade. The server helped us with our choices. We will definitely return .

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank SteveMontrealCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We chose duck and Corsican salad which came with bacon and cheese on toast!. Both were very tasty and the price was reasonable. The guy who served us made us feel he was doing us a favour. We would return for the food but not for the service

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank TewesFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Over the course of a month long stay in Aix, I visited Le Contrepoint on several occasions, a couple of times by myself and other times with a large group that included children. Every visit was delightful. The menu is not large, but it offers a good array of options, including a reliably good hamburger and a delicious duck breast.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank ellen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Le Contrepoint. also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Contrepoint.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.