We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de Gantes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Gantes
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in Hotel de Gantes for two nights. Our room looked directly over the Cours de Mirabeau and had one of the best hotel beds I have ever slept in. The art theme is very well implemented and our rooms was more than adequate in size. The layout was very good and we did not trip over each other. Our room was also very quite and heard nothing of the noise from the street/café one floor below - the double glazing is to be thanked fro that. The staff were welcoming and friendly. There is a lift/elevator from the street entrance to reception on the first floor. One particular thing that struck me was the lighting in the stairwell and public areas: sensational! This hotel is not particularly cheap, but we both agreed that it was well spent at this hotel. A bonus is the café directly below the hotel - Café deux garçons. One particular staff member was entertaining and helpful, despite our struggling French. Have breakfast there if you stay nearby! We highly recommend this hotel as on that should be on anyone's shortlist for a stay in Aix en Provence.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    22
    10
    7
    7
See reviews for
5
50
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I booked a two night stay at the Hotel de Gantes in September 2013 through my usual on-line website. As per the terms of the reservation 50% of the total charge was debited from my credit card that day. In early October I needed to cancel the reservation and did so on-line, receiving confirmation that the cancellation was at no cost. Surprised that the debited amount had not been refunded after ten days I contacted the on-line website who confirmed that the money was due to me and offered to follow-up on my behalf. I was then told that the hotel could find no record of my reservation and was asked to provide a copy of my credit card statement as proof. This having still failed to produce a refund, I then visited the hotel in person and was told that it was not possible to issue a refund without permission from the management and that it would take another two weeks. That will make over a month to credit the amount due since cancelling the reservation when the charge was made on the same day the booking was made. Not impressive.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 234Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

It is right in the middle of Main Street ,a perfect location .
The rooms are are great size, each one themed after a famous artist.
The rooms are far enough above the street not to bothered by the noise.
The staff are the best especially Mark. Very very helpful .
Quality of the room fittings are first rate.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Excellent service! People working there are invisible and the same time giving you special attention and helping to have a perfect stay.
The rooms are dedicated to a prominent people from Aix en Provence and are decorated in a different style corresponding to the name.
The hotel is situated in the heart of the Aix, just next to "Deaux Garçons", on the Main Street - Mirabeau.
Highly recommend the Hotel and the staff! They made us feel at home.

Room Tip: To choose their famous prominent people from Aix and to feel the atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossitza L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi,India
Level Contributor
173 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Excellent location on the Cours Mirabeau - the Ramblas of Aix - could not be better . Large suite with plenty of Provencal light . Large windows with gorgeous views . Nice furniture. Bathtub and sink inside room in a separate section - a peculiarly French thing that one sometimes encounters. Wifi very poor- Hotel admitted to problem. No breakfast room . Have to order continental breakfast in room - only tea/coffee, juice and bread . No star rating yet. Very little staff- 1 at night for everything , 2 in the morning. Though staff itself very helpful and friendly. No restaurant . The restaurant below seems to have a vague arrangement with the Hotel . Non suite room somewhat depressing though large enough.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeygatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

What a great hotel, beautifully renovated, v modern and all rooms individually themed. The owners should be v proud of this boutique hotel.
the location was fabulous, right in the heart of town.
Itis not a hotel suitable for children, but great for couples looking for a luxurious special weekend away!
The staff were courteous and helpful at all times.
We did not order breakfast, it is served to your room, but there are many local places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dungog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

I made it abundantly clear when I booked on booking.com that I had 2 small children. I even asked in the special requests that I have 2 small children and to let me know if there were any additional charges above the 366 euros I had already paid for 2 nights! On departure I was asked to pay an extra 106 euros for the extra beds. On that basis it was terrible value, but I blame booking.com as much as the hotel. I won't be using the site anymore unless it makes the additional charges clearer.

In addition the room was designed really badly for small children, the heating didn't work on the first night, neither the coffee machine. Breakfast is not included in this price and access to the hotel is really tricky. They literally parked their car right in front of the doorway such that you can't get your luggage out. However, the staff were friendly and helpful and did their very best to please and address any concerns. But value for money it is not.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#18 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#25 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Augustins
Hotel des Augustins
#30 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#35 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#5 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Artea
Hotel Artea
#26 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Gantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Gantes

Property: Hotel de Gantes
Address: 1 rue Fabrot, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Gantes 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel de Gantes, located on the famous Cours Mirabeau, above the Brasserie Les Deux Garcons in Aix en Provence. This charming hotel, with 11 bedrooms and suites of "character" will seduce you with its stylish decor which combines both modernity and history. The style of the rooms are inspired by the famous Aixois book "Livre d'Or" belonging to the Brasserie Les Deux Garcons (Paul Cezanne, Pablo Picasso and Emile Zola) paying homage to the emblematic figures of Aix, not to mention the King Roi Rene. The Hotel De Gantes is perfectly located in the center of Aix, a stones through away from the highlights of the town, such as The Museum Granet, the Grand Teatre de Provence, the Tourist Office, the Courthouse, and the many splendid water fountains and Provincial architecture which sets Aix apart. The top floor suite of the hotel offers our guests a terrace facing the sunshine. The perfect occasion to afmire the view of the prestigious Cours Mirabeau while eating breakfast which our staff will deliver to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Gantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing