We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel, but not fit for a vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel le Galice
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed for a week in this hotel. Mainly the location makes this hotel inappropriate for a vacation. The hotel is located behind a main Renault concession (which makes the hotel kinda difficult to spot from the road). The 15 minutes walk from the hotel to the city center is through a mainly industrial area. The view from the rooms was mainly over the industrial area.
The swimming pool in the hotel is small, only at 1,60m depth (so no good for families with children) and closes at 20:00 (only to enable a calm terrace for the restaurant in the hotel).
The room was actually very good. With airco and excellent beds. The buffet-breakfast was complete.
In the beginning of our stay, one of the lifts broke down. When we left (5 days later), the lift was still out of order.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaakDeVuyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Booked this hotel for a stopover. Arrived late and left before noon, so didn't have that much time to check out the hotel. But I'll add my view of the things I feel I can comment on.
We had a king/queen size room with extra bed. The room was big with lots of space, and the standard was very good. The bathroom was nice and spacious also.
The corridors was not the better parts of the hotel (as usual) but they weren't that bad either.
There was a pool at the hotel that we didn't have the chance to try.
I found the best part of the hotel to be the American breakfast. It had a very good selection on a buffet served in nice surroundings.
There was nice parking garage in the basement with secure access and direct access to lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We have just come back from a week at this hotel. We were on a Page & Moy holiday. There were four of us, all in our fifties. The hotel was immaculately clean, the buffet breakfast plentiful with more than enough choice. The staff were friendly. It was lovely to have a pool as on the days when we had no trips organised, we lounged around the pool. There is a pool bar/restaurant and the food is very good, although the menu didn't change whilst we were there. It was only a 10 minute walk into the Centre and there were plenty of restaurants to choose from there. I would recommend a holiday in Aix and a stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 402 is great. It has a massive SuperKing size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnieEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I thought the hotel was outside of the town, but it was actually in walking distance to the heart of town. It was on a busy street with no ambiance inside the room or outside. The picture of the pool looked charming, but it closed at 8 pm. It was a good price and met our needs. The staff was not very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bctravels54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Before departure, I checked out reviews of all the hotels I'd be using on my trip to France, and got the general impression that the weakest of these would be the Best Western Hotel Le Galice. Many said that the location was terrible and that the hotel was located next to a car dealership.

Well, we got there and found a smartly decorated modern hotel next to a car dealership on a busy thoroughfare leading into Aix-en-Provence. The place looks pretty mundane from outside, but the rooms are large and well-decorated. The hotel restaurant is lovely with very good food; and the bar was quite comfortable. The staff was very friendly and pleasant. Our waiter at dinner spoke impeccable English with an American accent...charming fellow. At dinner we had veal ragout with olives and ratatouille, a chevre leek tart to start, and a molten chocolate tart to finish. Price, service, and quality were fine. Breakfast is in the same room and is very good with standard buffet breakfast fare.

My room was quite comfortable with an over rooftop view of Mont Sainte-Victoire. I was in #407, a fine large room with a real king bed, usable desk, pair of chairs and table, good lighting, flat screen TV, mirrors, and mini bar. The interiors of the closet were fitted with appropriate shelving, safe, equipment for making a cup of tea, and even an ice bucket. The decor of burnt orange/orange red with good prints of Provence was in charming contrast to the cooler colors we experienced in the north of France. The bath was roomy with toilet and bidet separate from the bath. No soap in this hotel; liquid soap attached to the wall like in Germany. Towels fluffy, water pressure and hot water very good. Elevators prompt and efficient.

The trip to town by foot follows an ell-shaped path. You walk at a brisk pace for about 7 minutes or so, take a right and then about another 7 minutes to the large lion fountain at the foot of cours Mirabeau. Here a row of outdoor cafes and bistros await your pleasure. We dined at Cafe Romain at #13 cours Mirabeau and loved it. The main shopping streets are about ten minutes further, though the way is lined with small shops and patisseries, so the distance is painless. The alternative is the #6 bus which follows the same route.

Would I like to have stayed in town with a little more Aix-en-Provence atmosphere...sure, but I liked this hotel and its charming staff. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank redeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The staff were very helpful and it was great to have use of the pool on the hot days. The location is good if you don't mind a brisk walk... 10 minutes to the Cours Mirabeau and the old town. There is also a car rental office across the road which had good deals (rentacar.fr I think) All in all I would recommend le Galice as a base to explore Provence. Great to have free WiFi as well.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathmce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

This is a chain hotel without particular charme or local feeling. It is also a bit “out of action”, though within walking distance (circa 15 minutes) from the main square. This said, the hotel is OK, a very good 3 stars. Rooms are big and clean. Free wireless in the room working very well.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italy_norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arbois
Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arb...
#24 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#6 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
672 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Aix en Provence
Ibis Aix en Provence
#14 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Mozart Hotel
Le Mozart Hotel
#11 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Artea
Hotel Artea
#35 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
452 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel le Galice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel le Galice

Address: 5 route de Galice, 13090, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £55 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel le Galice 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4-story Hotel located near the historical center of city, 1 km to railway station & 25 km to Marseille Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel le Galice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Galice
Best Western Aix-En-Provence
Aix-En-Provence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing