We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do a lot better in Provence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel le Galice
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Reviewed 12 March 2010

This is a generic chain hotel as seen in countless cities around the world. Large clean rooms, impersonal service and very standard amenities. I would not recommend this as an option if you want to stay in Aix-en-Provence to experience the culture of the city. The hotel is situated near a main road into town among rows of car dealers and panelbeaters. This makes it very easy to find if you are arriving by car and if you arrive in the late afternoon when the workers have all left it is very easy to get parking near the front door. The walk into town takes about 25 minutes at a brisk pace, the first 15 of which are along the main road past strip malls. The walk is extra long when returning after enjoying the atmosphere of the old town at night! I regret not searching a bit harder for somewhere closer to the center or in a more residential area.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2009

3 star hotel, oriented toward group stays. Food average at best. Staff helpful when asked for info. Location about a mile from old town. Stay here to reduce expenses, not for amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leisurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

The hotel is well located only about 15-20 mins leisurely walk into Aix centre, although it appears strangely situated at the side of a car dealership. Nonetheless, it provides an outdoor pool and standard hotel facilities, although the guest internet terminal did not work for the duration of our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only real negative was that the cooked food at the buffet breakfast was stone cold every day.

If you can cope with it not being the most attractive hotel to look at, it is well located and perfectly functional for a buisness or leisure stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Stayed for 3 nights in August - typical Best Western - thought the rate we paid was too high for what we got, especially as no breakfast included. Had a great king size bed, which all 4 of us (we have 2 small kids) could have fit into. We had an extra bed and there was plenty of room for that. Good big clean bathroom and aircon. Biggest issue was location - quite a long walk with small kids to get to the town centre and too far away from the train station with kids and luggage - would recommend staying somewhere more central. We booked the hotel because of the pool but we didn't use it, so only if you're really sure you'll use the pool and won't spend all your time sightseeing would I recommend it. Its on a v uninteresting road (next to car salerooms) and not central at all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

There was nothing to recommend this hotel, but no huge marks against it either. The hallways & rooms had a dingy feeling -- probably needed a new coat of much lighter colored paint. The rooms were a decent size with all the amenties, and included free wireless which is a plus. Staff attempted to be helpful but was not that knowledgable. It was further from town than I expected -- walking back and forth everyday would get tiresome. But the patisserie just down the street from the hotel has excellent baguettes!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpTraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Not the most up to date, typical best western standard, clean, comfortable, generous size rooms. Great breakfast included in price. A fair walk, 20-25 mins to the town center. Free hi-speed wifi in the reception area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keryn-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2008

Stayed here as part of a Travelsphere holiday, and found the hotel excellent. Seemed higher than the 3* rating to me, with large rooms, good facilities, nice pool, pleasant staff, decent bar, just 10 mins walk to the old town of Aix en Provence, etc. My room overlooked the railway, but I failed to notice any sound disturbance (double glazed windows I suppose).

All in all, pleased.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bikerunswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.3 mi away
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
Adagio Aix-en-Provence Centre
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
664 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Aix en Provence
Ibis Aix en Provence
#14 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,057 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Mozart Hotel
Le Mozart Hotel
#12 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
Escale Oceania Aix En Provence
#13 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Artea
Hotel Artea
#35 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
449 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arbois
Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arb...
#22 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel le Galice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel le Galice

Address: 5 Route de Galice, 13090, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £56 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel le Galice 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4-story Hotel located near the historical center of city, 1 km to railway station & 25 km to Marseille Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel le Galice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Le Galice
Best Western Aix-En-Provence
Aix-En-Provence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing