We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT.”
Review of Hotel Cardinal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cardinal
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We spent 4 nights and loved this place. Nicely decorated rooms in an excellent location, close the bus station and all the action. Little gem of a hotel....do not be put off by the 2 star rating. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moracc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at the Cardinal twice. It is old and charming. I'm sure they renovated at least once since 1992 (last visit) but the renovation was mostly in the bathrooms, I think, which no longer seem like dank dark caves with a bidet for a tub. Yes, it is a bit worn around the edges, but that adds to the charm. The people are very friendly, which makes up for a lot. The food is good. The location in the Quartier Mazarin, though, is beyond perfect. The Cardinal is a short walk to Cours Mirabeau where all the cafes and old fountains are. The Musee Granet is right around the corner - go there for your Cezanne fix. And don't forget to sit a while and admire the Fontaine des Quatres Dauphins down the street - a lovely baroque fountain from the 17th century.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mielmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Sorry to say so but I really don't see what all the other good reviews are all about. We had the room in the back which was really old, spongy, and had a terrible smell. On top it was very noisy. Best is the location close to the old city center. But there are other places as well. The breakfast is a joke for the price. Supposedly there are better rooms that were renovated over the last years. But why did we have to pay the same preice, though?

Room Tip: Top floors!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sektprinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A huge room with separate bathroom and kitchen /dinning, it felt like we were living here rather than staying for just one night. A good central location but recommend you walk to the hotel as city is in a maze of little streets, many with local vehicle access only.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Upon arriving there, we had to wait for about 15 minutes as there was no receptionist present. This was rather irritating. Once done, we were given our room, which was clean and spacious. Bathroom was spacious too, but would have been ideal if included a shower rather than a bath. Rooms were quiet. Breakfast was abundant and good. The location of the hotel is ideal. Its very central and within walking distance from everywhere in Aix en Provence. All in all it was a good hotel, worth staying another time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emanazzopardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We returned to The Cardinale for this trip to Aix and we were not disappointed in the service by the staff or the breakfasts served in the morning. Our room was quiet, but a little worn around the edges. This was not a problem for us as we enjoy the older, less update facilities. The location of this hotel is close to the Cours, but not noisy. Parking is not readily available on the street, but there is a public parking facility within a few minutes walking. There is wi fi available in this hotel.
We would recommend this hotel to any traveler to Aix.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pdl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The location was convenient to wherever we needed to go and the room was comfortable and charming. Room was not ready immediately, but they made it up quickly. Breakfast not included, but otherwise great value and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saul552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Caravelle
Hotel La Caravelle
#22 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Quatre Dauphins
Hotel des Quatre Dauphins
#42 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Augustins
Hotel des Augustins
#21 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Le Bleu Pourpre
Le Bleu Pourpre
#48 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
62 reviews
2.8 mi away
Auberge Bourrelly
Auberge Bourrelly
#55 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
77 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aix Hotel
Aix Hotel
#54 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cardinal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cardinal

Address: 24 rue Cardinale, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: £72 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cardinal 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Aix, city of water, city of art. Here in the Mazarin Quarter, just a few steps from the Cours Mirabeau, the Church of Saint John of Malta, the Four Dolphins Fountain and the Place de la Rotonde, Provence enchants its visitors with its noble vintage homes !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Cardinal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal Hotel Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing