We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint lodgings three short blocks from Cours Mirabeau” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cardinal

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Cardinal
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quaint lodgings three short blocks from Cours Mirabeau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The reviews are accurate for the most part. We spent three weeks in France and Italy and booked everything based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. Everything met our expectations and we would stay at all of the hotels again on any future trip. Our budget allowed for mostly 3 star accommodations and although this is rated 2 stars, it feels like 3. As mentioned, the location is probably the best part of the Hotel Cardinal experience but there weren't any negatives. Probably our most pleasant surprise for all of the hotels was our ability to book rooms at the very center of every city at extremely good prices without really sacrificing good accommodations. That is a pretty good description of the Hotel Cardinal. If you're driving, the Carnot parking structure is a short walk away with good prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    93
    34
    14
    7
See reviews for
32
116
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We spent 4 nights and loved this place. Nicely decorated rooms in an excellent location, close the bus station and all the action. Little gem of a hotel....do not be put off by the 2 star rating. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moracc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
180 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at the Cardinal twice. It is old and charming. I'm sure they renovated at least once since 1992 (last visit) but the renovation was mostly in the bathrooms, I think, which no longer seem like dank dark caves with a bidet for a tub. Yes, it is a bit worn around the edges, but that adds to the charm. The people are very friendly, which makes up for a lot. The food is good. The location in the Quartier Mazarin, though, is beyond perfect. The Cardinal is a short walk to Cours Mirabeau where all the cafes and old fountains are. The Musee Granet is right around the corner - go there for your Cezanne fix. And don't forget to sit a while and admire the Fontaine des Quatres Dauphins down the street - a lovely baroque fountain from the 17th century.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mielmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Sorry to say so but I really don't see what all the other good reviews are all about. We had the room in the back which was really old, spongy, and had a terrible smell. On top it was very noisy. Best is the location close to the old city center. But there are other places as well. The breakfast is a joke for the price. Supposedly there are better rooms that were renovated over the last years. But why did we have to pay the same preice, though?

Room Tip: Top floors!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sektprinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

A huge room with separate bathroom and kitchen /dinning, it felt like we were living here rather than staying for just one night. A good central location but recommend you walk to the hotel as city is in a maze of little streets, many with local vehicle access only.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Upon arriving there, we had to wait for about 15 minutes as there was no receptionist present. This was rather irritating. Once done, we were given our room, which was clean and spacious. Bathroom was spacious too, but would have been ideal if included a shower rather than a bath. Rooms were quiet. Breakfast was abundant and good. The location of the hotel is ideal. Its very central and within walking distance from everywhere in Aix en Provence. All in all it was a good hotel, worth staying another time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emanazzopardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
350 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We returned to The Cardinale for this trip to Aix and we were not disappointed in the service by the staff or the breakfasts served in the morning. Our room was quiet, but a little worn around the edges. This was not a problem for us as we enjoy the older, less update facilities. The location of this hotel is close to the Cours, but not noisy. Parking is not readily available on the street, but there is a public parking facility within a few minutes walking. There is wi fi available in this hotel.
We would recommend this hotel to any traveler to Aix.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pdl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Augustins
Hotel des Augustins
#29 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#14 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#21 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#27 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#10 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#5 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cardinal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cardinal

Property: Hotel Cardinal
Address: 24 rue Cardinale, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Aix, city of water, city of art. Here in the Mazarin Quarter, just a few steps from the Cours Mirabeau, the Church of Saint John of Malta, the Four Dolphins Fountain and the Place de la Rotonde, Provence enchants its visitors with its noble vintage homes !!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cardinal Hotel Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing