We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint Christophe
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We enjoyed our one week stay here. Arriving late in the evening, we decided to dine in at the hotel resto, called Brasserie Leopold. Our waitresses' personality was as sunny as Provence itself and was a lovely introduction. We had two meals at the Leopold and thought they were both excellent. Some of the general hotel staff were warm, conversational and very helpful, usually those who came from Provence. Others were a bit aloof and we wondered if they came from the capital.

This hotel is so well located. it's only steps away from the famous Rotonde, Cours Mirabeau, the Cezanne cinema complex and the Tourist Office. There's a weekly market on Cours Mirabeau. At the Rotonde, there is a taxi rank, a little tourist train with a commentated tour, as well as the depot for Les Diablines, which are tiny, sweet six seater public transport vans which, for 50 euro cents, will take you on one of three routes in the inner city. It's a fun way to cruise through tiny narrow streets, which, as a tourist, you might miss. It's also a good way to meet some locals, especially senior citizens, many of whom were great fun. Just beyond the Rotonde, but less than 5 minutes from the hotel, there are a few streets crammed with restos, bars and takeaway joints. Ten minutes away, the Gare Routiere is a bus station, from which you can take a 6 euro trip to Marseille, or many other destinations. Not much further, is the railway station. The post office and shopping are just around the corner.

Our room was bright, airy and comfortable, decorated with prints by Cezanne and Matisse. It took a couple of days to work out the airconditioning. The decor was very contemporary. There was a stylish looking frosted glass partition between the room and the bathroom. It wasn't soundproof and certainly not for the shy or prudish, but we got used to the idea. The shower was very space age, wirh shower jets shooting out from the wall, plus an overhead and a hand held shower. Housekeeping was excellent. One day, there was a nasty, fishy smell in the room. We mentioned it to the front desk on going out for the day. On our return, they said that they had investigated thoroughly, even looking under the bed, but couldn't find any cause. However, if we were unhappy, they would give us a new room. On returning to the room, the smell was gone, but it was comforting to know that they wouldn't have argued on a room change. The superior room which we had, offers a bit more comfort and space, but it still wasn't huge. Bedding was hard, but comfortable and we slept well. Asking for a quiet room, we were given a bright, cheery room at the back. Of course, we had to sacrifice a view, but the better sleep was worth it. The blockout curtains were so efficient, that one morning, we woke at 10am, thinking it was still dark outside. The hotel offers free wifi, which is a real bonus.

We would happily stay here again.

We would be delighted to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    187
    97
    32
    19
See reviews for
52
173
32
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We were assigned this hotel by husband's work place. 7- 10 couples or individuals stayed in this very traditional Provencal hotel. Some rooms were small, however. In the process of refurbishment, some smaller rooms have fantastic showers, with 3 directional wands. Our room was a larger one, with the old tub and hand held shower, no curtain. We did have a wonderful terrace [3rd floor] where some of us took our picnic lunches. The staff was very pleasant, helpful, accommodating encouraging. They supported my attempts at French.
The hotel is just at the Rotonde, between Ave de Belges and Cours Mirabeau. The Tourist Information is nearby. We decided to do the Cezanne walk. There are medallions in the street to guide you. One of the sites was our hotel, the St. Christophe. At one point, this building was the Art Society where Cezanne exhibited many paintings. The hotel doesn't exploit this aspect, but, it could.
The breakfast buffet seemed expensive, until you factor in the Starbucks cost of 2-3 lattes or cappuccino's. You can spend less. But, don't miss the dinner at the hotel's restaurant, Brasserie Leopold. Probably overlooked by tourists, but seems to be well known by the Aixois. English menus available. There is a special room in the area by the entrance to the garage for ironing.
We look forward to returning to the Hotel St. Christophe next April

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadefilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
258 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Loved the location of this hotel- bordering the tourist information centre, the historic town and the main boulevard.

Check in was quick and efficient and the guest liaison was pleasant, provided a map and information about the area.

The hotel is three star and the amenities, look and feel matched accordingly.

Rooms are on the small side with not much room to maneuver and bathroom could be likened to a cupboard. However, location made up for all of it and as all I wanted was a clean room which was conveniently located I am pleased I stayed here.

Bonus is the fast free Internet!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

An easy walk from the station (not the TGV) and a few steps from the Cours Mirabeau.

I wish I had upgraded to a larger room. The standard room is very small although I got one with a nice view.

Power was a problem for many American, Canadian and Australian tourists - including myself. Our appliances did not work with the powerpoints in the room but the powerpoint in the bathroom was ok for some reason. I have never experienced this problem in any other French hotel before.

The bistro is a safe option in Aix particularly on Sunday and Monday nights when most other eateries are closed. Satisfactory but not outstanding fare with prices to match.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connoisseurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Summary
Fortunately we only spent one night in this hotel as it was rather dreary but represented good value
Well-located for the old part of town and shopping district.
Room, at the back of the hotel, was quiet, very small and clean with a modern bathroom. A comfortable bed resulted in a good nights sleep . Dark and dippy offbeat décor.

Plusses
Friendly staff
Clean and quiet
Comfortable bed
Shower arrangement
In room safe

Negatives
View from our room of the back alley
Awkward, tight garage
Strange unpleasant smells en route from garage to ground floor
Depressing restaurant on ground floor
Dark and depressing décor throughout the hotel
No tea/coffee making facility
TV with only one English channel – the dreaded boring and repetitive CNN.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CondorSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

We arrived late in the evening in Aix without any hotel. We got a superior room, since there were no other rooms available. For the price we paid we had higher expectations. The room was big enough with a terrace. It was clean, but the bathroom was a bit outdated.

It is located near the main square of Aix, walking distance from the historic city center.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Álvaro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Aix-en-Provence is one of our favorite cities in France other than Paris. It's easy to ride the TGV down and hop the shuttle bus into the center of the city. You really don't need a car, but where to stay? Hotel Saint Christophe was the perfect answer for us last week. It's just one long block from the shuttle bus station, and just around the corner from the bottom end of the Cours Mirabeau. The hotel staff was friendly, we had a very nice room with a terrace, and there was 10% off dinner the first night. Breakfast at 12€ per person may seem a bit pricey, but it was a full spread of croissants, cheeses, yoghurts, fruit, sliced ham, and fresh eggs you could boil yourself to your liking. Their coffee machine dishes out real French coffee, but they did have a pot of "American" stuff going if you need something a bit more wussy. We'll definitely stay here again the next time we want to do a short walking trip to Aix.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony/terrace are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jvtravelerParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#25 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
Grand Hotel Negre Coste
#18 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Augustins
Hotel des Augustins
#30 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Artea
Hotel Artea
#26 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cezanne
Hotel Cezanne
#5 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#11 of 68 in Aix-en-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Christophe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Christophe

Property: Hotel Saint Christophe
Address: 2 avenue Victor Hugo, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Christophe 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saint-Christophe hotel is ideally situated, opposite the Rotonde Fountain, at the entrance to the historic centre pedestrian precinct, less than 50 metres from the Tourist Office, and very near the Cours Mirabeau, museums, typical markets and the Grand Theatre de Provence. The hotel is also 5 minutes on foot from the regional train station and the bus that takes you directly to the TGV station, and 30 minutes' drive from Marseille and the Marseille-Provence airport in Marignane. In the Saint-Christophe hotel, the setting is Art Deco, with a combination of Provence and contemporary styles. It has 67 comfortable rooms, some of which have a balcony or a patio. You will also enjoy our restaurant, the Brasserie Leopold, our conference rooms and the lounge area where you can relax in comfortable armchairs with a drink. If you are here for business, you will be just 15 minutes' drive from the business parks of Les Milles and the Technopole de l'Arbois, and you will appreciate the business centre in the hotel lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saint Christophe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Christophe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing